We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Alternative to beachfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Galu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galu Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK Alternative to beachfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six nights over the Christmas period. For a Kenyan coast holiday you can either stay in one of the many resorts directly on the beach, or take the cheaper option of accommodation not on the beach but nearby with easy access. A number of the resorts allow non residents to use the beach, so the cheaper option can work well.

Galu Inn caters for those wanting an affordable holiday on the coast who don't mind the lack of direct beach access. I was disappointed though, after the many good reviews I had read that made us decide to choose this place. There was a problem with the hot water which was not fixed for the duration of our stay, and we had only one day with a decent hot shower. Also the shower head splashed water all over the small bathroom, and nothing was done about it despite our complaint. The sink did not drain properly.

Also there could be more effort made to provide some extra facilities that would make the place feel less dorm-like: an outside bar with some music, some gym equipment, a basic business centre. Even if just a PC and printer. The manager Tom did say they were working towards a rooftop bar in 2013 though. However they do have a lovely pool and a mini spa offering beauty treatments; I had a lovely massage.

The positives were the staff were very helpful and friendly, and provided ready assistance with taxi arrangements. The menu was not extensive but the food was good.They also packed us a hearty breakfast for our early morning safari departure. However I felt the staff should have been more knowledgeable about local attractions and amenities, e.g when we asked for a forex bureau nearby, they were not aware there was one, it was our taxi driver that told us about one just up the road in the nearby shopping centre.

On our travels we have usually found that with a small cosy facility such as this, the owner's presence is felt at some point to give it a more personal touch. This was lacking at Galu Inn, and so it felt a bit like a dormitory where one just came back to sleep and catch breakfast before heading out for the day. More could be done to make it a place where one wants to spend time and chill out on holiday, on the days where you aren't heading for the beach, on safari or local attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101! It's closest to reception and you need to be careful of your privacy when openin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitySampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear City Sampler,

Thank you for staying at Galu Inn and also for your feedback.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by lack of adequate hot water
during your recent stay, the challenge has since been rectified.

I have also noted points raised regarding additional facilities and product knowledge
of our staff.

Finally we look forward to welcoming you back to Galu Inn and thank you for affording us an opportunity to restore your faith in our services and product.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Fantastic
Quality of this hotel build is second to none. Clean modern super food very friendly staff inexpensive.The 5 min walk to beach was highlight of day. Fabulous quiet unspoilt beach -usually saw only one or two other people on our daily two hour beach visit.

Beds large spotless and comfy, Pool beautiful,Very quiet secluded hotel with access to visit organic farm attached.
Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: 101 nearest pool restuarant entrance but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for staying at Galu Inn and also for your valued feedback.

I am delighted that our services and product matched your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to Galu Inn.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I just travelled through Ethiopia and Nyali beach before ending up here. This is a really nice spot. It is not on the water so you have to walk across the street or go somewhere else for ocean but all the restraints are on the beach and you will most likely hang out in one all day anyway. I say this because you will save 60-75% per night staying at gallu so the rest of your budget can be used at the better resteraunts. Anyway.. Easily the nicest stay I have had for the price. I will take a pic from where I am sitting now in breakfast room.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
6th December 2012,

Dear James S

We thank you for staying at Galu Inn and for your review dated 02nd December 2012

We thank you for staying at Galu Inn and also for your compliments

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

i stayed at Galu on September with girlfreind and it is an amazing,clean,well organized hotel the staff are great and they offer good service.rooms are sparkling clean fitted with ceiling fan and air condition,a safe and a big tv with many channels.we even had a chance to have our beef burger prepared the manager.that was awesome.the pool is very clean too

i highly recommend galu inn,keep up the spirit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Robinson,

We thank you for staying at Galu Inn and for your review dated 13th October 2012

Staff and Management have been informed of your compliments, and we thanking you
for your commendation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a fantastic time at this hotel & i would highly recommend it. Everywhere is spotless & the rooms have everything you need including a ceiling fan & air conditioning. The bathrooms have a shower & bath which is quite a rareity when abroad. There are TV's & safes in every room too. The staff were so friendly & nothing was too much trouble. The pool was kept clean & was a great way to relax & cool down. For those that like a bit of pampering, the hotel also has a beauty treatment room & we highly recommend the back massage! Diani is very spread out so you cant really walk from bar to bar but the matatu's pick up from outside the hotel & this is an experience in itself! The beach is beautiful & spreads out for miles! Getting back to the hotel, if in Diani again,we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Kirsty

Thank you for staying at Galu Inn and for taking time to write a review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you found the services friendly.

Staff and Management will be informed of your compliments.

We look forward to your next visit at Galu Inn

Best Wishes

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed at Galu Inn at the beginning of June 2012. I would describe it as a small, affordable, clean and charming. Hotel. If you cannot afford to stay at one of the more expensive beach-front hotels on the Diani and Galu beaches, then Galu Inn which is on the second row and only 4 or 5 minutes walk from the beach (via a public access path) is a great alternative. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The premises is quiet and secure. The food was not bad and the service was friendly. The only misgiving I have is that the rooms do not have private balconies. I was in Diani on business but I would recommend Galu Inn to families, couples and business travelers. I would definitely stay at Galu Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Bryan,

Thank you for your review dated 20th September 2012

We thank you for your compliments, and also for concerns that
you raised regarding lack of balconies, we have made the upper
lounge a residents only lounge where you can sit and enjoy views
of the pool and lawns.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Galu Inn.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bujumbura, Bujumbura, Burundi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I often come to Diani Beach and always stay at Galu Inn, it is affordable, clean. The room are very nice and modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff is very nice, like a small family. If you look for a quiet and friendly place (not big resort type), this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIMAITom, Manager at Galu Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Virginie

Thank you for your review dated 19th September 2012.

Thank you for your compliments and for choosing Galu Inn
as your premier resort at the South Coast, Diani Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
5.8 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Lotfa Resort
Lotfa Resort
#24 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galu Inn

Property: Galu Inn
Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach | P.O. Box 5098, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galu Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic & charming lodge located in the heart of Diani 's vibrant eatery and shopping scene, a two minute stroll across the road from the pristine white sand Galu Beach. Our value-oriented accommodation integrates contemporary design and modern facilities, with traditional Kenyan hospitality, providing a delightful getaway for both business and leisure travellers alike. Karibu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Galu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing