We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing little cottage.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little cottage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights in this fabulous little cottage. Setting is so peaceful and relaxing especially the outdoor area! Location is good, short walk to beach, restaurant and shops.
Edith made our stay extra special, she is friendly, helpful and has a lovely sense of humour.Bruno cooked delicious meals and spoilt us. Would love to revisit one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Merridy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Sahani cottage. We found it warm and cozy. The 'hidden' and serene environment is relaxing, a big plus and well worth the holiday. Edith was very kind and warm. We found her meals delicious and surely enjoyed everyone of them. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Kitu Kidogo is very private and uncrowded with two cottages and 5 minutes walk to the beach its irre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the larger cottage with friends and we loved it. We especially loved the outdoor dining Area and spent a lot of time relaxing out there. The location is good everything within walking distance. Little bushbabies visited at night and there was a tiny buck in the garden and the usual Sykes monkeys. Edith was great, friendly and helpful with a sense of humor. We hired a cook called Bruno and he was great, really spoilt us ladies so we did not need to cook when not eating out. A small pool would be nice, but I believe there are plans for one in the future which would make it perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyBanbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed in the one bedroom cottage in late May. I was so happy to get to this cottage after my safaris up north. What a great end to a great vacation. My cottage was clean, absolutely adorable, and was above and beyond what I expected. I loved laying on my porch, relaxing, and the beach is a very short walk away, as is a grocery store and small shopping area. 40 thieves and the Cave are also en route to the beach. Edit was the BEST and I had such a lovely time talking with her and getting to know her. So kind and gracious! I got a rash from some medications/sun exposure and she showed me the aloe plants to rub on my rash. I absolutely loved this place. The Maasai watchman helped me feel safe at night as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeseP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Fantastic little place. I love the outdoor seating area. Good, comfortable mattresses, great double shower - I will put that idea into a house that I build!
Close to beach, shops, beach bar, restaurant. Best value for money!

Room Tip: Both rooms great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at Kitu Kidogo for approximately nine days and it was wonderful, the location is just perfect as its closer to the shopping centre in Diani which was convenient for us as there is another supermarket there and we weren't required to go all the way to nakumatt.

A very quiet and serene place and the best part was it was close to the beach and not forgetting the cave restaurant it took about a minute or two to get to both :). The only thing I had a problem with was out of the nine days we were there,3 of them we spent without electricity although they did return but maybe they should think about a generator for when that happens, overall though we had the best experience and left with such good memories and a special thank you to the care taker Edith she took such good care of us during our stay and definitely we will be back next time. Thanks guys :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priti04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PayalShah, Manager at Kitu Kidogo Cottages, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Hi Priti,

Thank you for your lovely review. I would like to apologise for the power cuts. The reason we had the cuts was due to our local power lighting company adding a transformer for the Titanium mine in a nearby town. It is a rare occurence.

We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We enjoyed Kitu Kidogo for all the reasons that other visitors have given. The cottage was special and we felt special being there. As others have said Edith was warm , welcoming and humorous. We left relaxed and revived. many thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#9 of 63 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitu Kidogo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitu Kidogo Cottages

Property: Kitu Kidogo Cottages
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitu Kidogo is an exclusive holiday retreat tucked away in a coastal indigenous forest that has been around for centuries. It comprises of two beautiful cottages made out of coral, sandstone and wood showing off the various textures of the ancient Swahili coastline. Each cottage is dressed with intricately hand carved Lamu furniture, Rajhastani and South African soft furnishings and Afghani and Ethiopian wool Rugs. The walls reflect our travels around the globe. Each wall piece has been carefully selected to fit in with the theme of the cottage giving the spaces an exotic but at the same time a harmonious look. The palm lamp shades highlight the beauty of each piece with its soft glow. What the cottage evokes is memories of the old Africa influenced by the spice trade route! Kitu Kidogo is ideal for families, groups and couples. If you are looking for comfort, style, privacy and personalized service then this is the perfect holiday home for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kitu Kidogo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing