We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach restaurant ”
Review of Nomad Restaurant

Nomad Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect beach restaurant ”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A group (8) of us turned up at Nomad beach bar last weekend for Sunday lunch. Without going into long boring details, this is the PERFECT place to go as a group if you are looking for an elegant relaxed restaurant that offers a bit of everything for everyone.
Pizza, pasta, sushi, curry, snacks, ice cream, beach, sand, sea, acrobats, camels.....GOOD TIMES

Helpful?
Thank Smokedbonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    116
    36
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great ice cream- what else does one want?”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am a Diani Resident and I go to Nomads regularly. The food is always excellent, the service friendly. The location is one of the best in Diani and although the ice cream is a little expensive (as is Leonardo's) its definitely worth it! The managers are always around to make sure service isproperly supervised. Sushi there is one of my favorites as are the large and yummie pizzas! Seriously, one hasn't been to Diani without visiting Nomads!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AninavWachtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An all-round excellent dining experience on the beach.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place is everything that Forty Thieves isn't. (Bearing in mind that Nomad's is more a restaurant and watering hole than a nightspot.) The decor is great, the establishment perched right on the sea. Lots of choices of seating styles, from up at the bar to conventional tables to relaxing low chairs and tables by the water's edge. The menu was terrific, with an excellent selection of of fresh seafood which, for me at least, is one of the main reasons to venture to the Kenyan coast. Innovative choices too -- outstanding smoked sailfish, fresh sashimi and sushi, lobster and prawns in a selection of styles including spicy sauces. Not outrageously expensive either, particularly if you were converting it to Euros, which I imagine a large number of the guests were. Our waiter was informative, confident and charismatic -- when I told him how excellent my smoked fish was, he replied "I told you it would be" -- and indeed he had when I had asked him if he would personally recommend it. A really lovely place, the detailing is excellent, a wonderful place to relax for a drink with friends or a full-blown dining experience. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top location, excellent food!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I am a regular in Nomads, and i was never let down by food or service in the past four years! The location is great, right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Diani. You can choose to seat outside (to avoid on windy days) or inside, scenic view will remain the same.

Their menu is extensive, with a good choice of seafood platters, pasta dishes and a good choice of pizza's (different sizes - go for the large!). On Sunday they also organize a Curry Buffet! Evening buffet is also delicious. Cocktails are also available. A vast selection of Ice cream completes your meal.

Service and manager are always at disposal, even when place is crowded (weekends, especially Sunday at lunch!) Car park is safe and ample.

Will definitely continuing eating here at least once a week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Top location, Terrible Service!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am very sorry to have to write this review and am not one who is typically critical. I usually prefer to remain quiet and ignore a place if I feel 'wronged', but in the case of Nomads I feel it is important to say my piece!

The location of this restaurant is superb, and it occupies a large part of Diani's fantastic beach. That is all the place has going for it. My friends and I, party of 15, went to eat there on a Saturday night having been there in the past and had pleasant experiences. I stress the number of people as Mombasa is not bustling with business at this time of the year, as it is a low season and the recent travel advisories on Kenya do not help with the number of visitors...therefore for a restaurant which had 5 other tables occupied with max 4 guests each on a Saturday night, a party of 15 should have been mouthwatering! I am also stressing that it was a Saturday night.

We ordered our food at around 9.30pm after the group had gone through the detailed and extensive menu, and enjoyed a drink or two. The starters came well after 10pm, and shockingly the mains started trickling in one by one (literally!) close to 11pm. For many the food had already gone cold. This is not the worst part - one of the guests, a strict vegetarian, found meat in her food and asked the waiter to speak to the chef to confirm her worst fears! The waiter returned after 5 minutes to inform all that the kitchen had been closed and all the chefs had gone home. Additionally he explained that anyone who may have wanted to order desserts had been time barred as the kitchen was closed!! You may be reading this and wondering whether this actually happened...which I can sadly confirm that it did, word for word!!

We were all left rather bewildered as the guest in question, who had the meat option in the strictly vegetarian dish, was particularly annoyed as the restaurant managers are her personal friends. The rest of us were shocked at the kitchen closed revelation as I for one was timing a dessert which Nomads is famous for, nit to mention that we were paying guests and given what Mombasa is going through one would think that the kitchen being closed by 11pm is totally unreasonable, inexplicable and unacceptable. If the kitchen was going to be closed for whatever reason, one would think that informing the guests and/or writing a notice to that effect would be the bare minimum to expect.

I will never return to Nomads following this experience. It is totally unacceptable for such an establishment to treat visitors in this manner, and sadly a classic lesson in the startling difference between owner managed operations and employee run establishments. Terrible terrible experience!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NIA1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nomad Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing