We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The restaurant is the best on that part of the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nomad Restaurant

Nomad Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The restaurant is the best on that part of the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The food is perfect- seafood or meat, we went there every day and are always happy to came back. The cottages there are perfect as well!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaraD_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    112
    35
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish and rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a meal at Nomads with a family group of 13 people. Was very excited to go and the food was decent.

HOWEVER THE SERVICE WAS PATHETIC. The standards were not what one would expect at a 'high' end place in Mombasa.

We encountered the following problems during the meal:

1 - when we arrived the table wasn't set
2 - during the meal we ordered wine but we had to serve ourselves to top up our glasses
3 - we asked for spare plates for main meal and the waitress simply placed them all at one end and we had to serve ourselves
4 - we had to ask 3 or 4 times for napkins, glasses for water, cutlery, etc

Then when we complained and asked to speak to the manager, Claudia, we were lied to by an assistant called Ali who said she'd gone home.

She eventually approached us with a defensive attitude offering discount and expected us to shut up and take it. When we tried to politely explain the issues to her she became aggressive and rude which one would not accept anywhere. The mantra is that the customer is always right and even if you think they are wrong you shouldn't raise your voice and speak back. When we left she told my sister in law (WHO IS A TRAVEL AGENT) that we don't understand the hospitality and tourism industry and shouldn't have complained.

Overall the food was good but service was appalling and even worse is that they couldn't own up to it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best octopus carpaccio ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great food and impeccable service. Nomad serves the best octopus carpaccio and baby calamari ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatarzynaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This restaurant is set in a beautiful location, right on the beach. They have a great selection on their menu, but the times that I have eaten here the food was very average even though you pay significantly more for your food than at most of the other restaurants in Diani. The service is also very slow.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esme v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat and relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Slightly more expensive than most of the restaurants in Diani but worth it in a way. View is amazing, food is good (except the pizzas) and the staff is friendly. Music is good, it gives you the holiday mood, lounge like.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mvs225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nomad Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nomad Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing