We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon bliss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon bliss!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Swahili Beach for our honeymoon in the second week of october. We were not disappointed. We had emailed previously to say we were coming and looking forward to our stay and on arrival we were upgraded to a lovely superior room overlooking the ocean. We were also presented with a beautiful bunch of roses, prosecco and a congratulations cake (the other honeymoon couple we were with also received the same lovely gifts). We saw the standard rooms on the ground floor as well and they were equally as nice but it was lovely to have the view. On arrival we were greeted with a Dawa and cool towel and things just got better from there. The facilities are beautiful and plenty of places to settle down with a book. The beach is amazing, we took a beach walk organised by the hotel (check the blackboards by the pool hut for activities) and Rodgers took us on a walk down the beach. It is safer to walk with a guide from the hotel although we felt quite safe right in front of the hotel as the hotel guards were visible. We weren't hassled by the beach boys too much and when we were we just said no thank you and didnt engage in conversation. The pools are beautiful and quite often you could have one to yourself. We were on half board accomadation and the food on offer did not disappoint. Breakfast and dinner were beautiful with a wide selection on offer each night. We didnt try any of the other restaurants as we felt we didnt need to. We also took advantage of the spa (a wedding present from friends we received on arrival) and we both had a full body massage. The massage was one of the best we have ever had and the surroundings exquisite. There are also two personal trainers Dixon and Stella - they certainly know their stuff. The drinks at the bars are a fair price for a hotel of this standard. We did go to the supermarket which is a minute walk from the hotel and bought some coffee and beers for our room (there is a fridge in the room). Though we were advised not to leave the hotel after 6 and we didn't. I have to say the staff here are brilliant, they are friendly and helpful and willing to chat. I think if you make the first move with a cheery jambo it really breaks the ice and everyone from the gardeners to the reception staff were lovely but i think it is important to make the effort and say hello. I have seen on some reviews commenting on the slow service. Yes it wasnt immediate but we weren't in a hurry and for us this wasnt a problem. The front of house manager Amani is a cheery presence and could be seen most days checking on guests and asking how they were and any problems etc... we really liked this personal touch. We also met Nicholas (GM) and enjoyed our last evening with him (thanks for the many wee drams). All in all amazing for us and just what we needed. Wow wow wow xxx we will be back

Room Tip: room 127 for the view and a beautiful room. though from what we saw the standard rooms are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    170
    66
    31
    18
See reviews for
165
218
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Swahili beach in the last weekend of September and other than the little assumption made by the reception staff about our marital status and ended up addressing my partner using my surname, everything else was great. We loved the hotel, the service and the food was incredible. The infinity pool is the best place to catch the sunset from and the bar staff were exceptionally incredible.
Note: it took me quite some time to figure out the safe :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was my 3rd stay at Swahili Beach Resort and I cannot emphasize enough how much the resort has improved over the last months.

Most importantly, the dangerously slippery shower stalls have now been corrected and are no longer dangerous.

During my first visit in November 2012, the service in all the restaurants had been appalling and the bathrooms downright dangerous. Last March, the service in the main restaurant had improved drastically, but at The Baharini Beach restaurant it was still excruciatingly slow. This time round, it could not have been better: very friendly and efficient. Food at Swahili Beach has always been excellent and that has not changed. If there is one small criticism, it's the hostess at the main restaurant who consistently showed me to a terrible table at dinner although the restaurant (and hotel) was far from full.

The resort's beach is not the best, but since the hotel wan't full, I easily found a shady lounger where I happily spent my days. The service was also very good and friendly at the beach. And of course, much has already been written about the fabulous cascading pools - great for those wishing to be around the pool rather down at the beach.

All in all, the entire staff was extremely friendly and they went out of their way to make sure that I had a great holiday. I will surely be back!

A special thank you to Mr Nick and Mr Amani who took the time to listen to my griping...

Room Tip: I stayed in a fantastic suite (no 2) near the beach and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Every time i think of taking a vacation... Swahili beach comes first to my mind... the swahili theme is well pronounced from the structures... the staff , food, spa ..the chain of swimming pools that flows towards the ocean like water falls... great landscaping and very well thought of. The rooms very spacious, the sliding doors from the bathroom to the spacious bedroom. The bathtub on the bathroom floor like a "human cattle dip" spent most of my time there relaxing and unwinding...The Balcony is just breath taking with the view of the ocean...Awesome bar near the beach...!
i loved every bit of my stay..and could go back any time...!

Room Tip: Executive rooms upstairs towards to beach...Great and relaxing view..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the moment we were picked up till the day we left the service was amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants some peace and quiet.
The staff were professional and the food was great, looking forward to coming back next year to spend my birthday there.
Kudos!

Room Tip: You will never go wrong with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwikali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent rooms and facilities BUT poor service and baby unfriendly. They need to work on their service. It would be a shame if they lost clients because of something they could sort out! Other wise, a nice place to stay if without kids

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kav333b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful decor and the rooms are cosy.
The hotel has no beach front as its full of sea weed and coral. However it looks like the owner made up for it with its infinite pool. If your looking for a beachfront where you can walk on the sandy beach and take a dip in the ocean this is not a hotel for you.Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming.
Unfortunately I got food poisoning from the buffet i ate at their majlis restaurant

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Zohreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
200 reviews
3.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing