We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but still has some work to do...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I took my partner to Swahili Beach Resort for a luxury weekend out of Mombasa where we would be pampered and well looked after, the price wasn't cheap but I wanted to get away and go the 'extra mile' whilst earning some good brownie points!
The entrance to the hotel is quite simply stunning, it is a beautiful building with high ceilings and a cool and quiet air. The view out to the ocean added to a sense that I had made a great choice. The receptionist was helpful and the checking in system was speedy and simple. The peace was shattered by some loud, screaming children who were hammering around the pool, splashing and barging their way around, an immediate no-no for two people with teaching backgrounds - 'where were their parents'??
Our room was delightful, right next to the pool and with the added touch of both monkeys and guinea fowl running around it added to the atmosphere. We ate all our meals at the main restaurant and by the pool, sadly this is where the hotel seems to let itself down; the staff are lazy and disinterested with very few willing to take orders, serve food and drinks and do anything to tidy away after you have finished. The few that are helpful are swamped by orders and guests.
The food itself was fine, nothing spectacular and a bit of a lack of variety considering how much space is given over to the catering area; no poached eggs for breakfast??? Also a little disconcerting was that when I ordered something from the menu it did not state whether or not it contained nuts, I have an allergy, and the waiter didn't seem to know either way, certainly something you wouldn't expect from a place advertising itself as exclusive.
Overall, our stay was lovely but if we are to go back to Swahili Beach, they need to get their staff interested and energised and they really need to look at what they have on the menu!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Swahili Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Swahili Beach for our honeymoon in the second week of october. We were not disappointed. We had emailed previously to say we were coming and looking forward to our stay and on arrival we were upgraded to a lovely superior room overlooking the ocean. We were also presented with a beautiful bunch of roses, prosecco and a congratulations cake (the other honeymoon couple we were with also received the same lovely gifts). We saw the standard rooms on the ground floor as well and they were equally as nice but it was lovely to have the view. On arrival we were greeted with a Dawa and cool towel and things just got better from there. The facilities are beautiful and plenty of places to settle down with a book. The beach is amazing, we took a beach walk organised by the hotel (check the blackboards by the pool hut for activities) and Rodgers took us on a walk down the beach. It is safer to walk with a guide from the hotel although we felt quite safe right in front of the hotel as the hotel guards were visible. We weren't hassled by the beach boys too much and when we were we just said no thank you and didnt engage in conversation. The pools are beautiful and quite often you could have one to yourself. We were on half board accomadation and the food on offer did not disappoint. Breakfast and dinner were beautiful with a wide selection on offer each night. We didnt try any of the other restaurants as we felt we didnt need to. We also took advantage of the spa (a wedding present from friends we received on arrival) and we both had a full body massage. The massage was one of the best we have ever had and the surroundings exquisite. There are also two personal trainers Dixon and Stella - they certainly know their stuff. The drinks at the bars are a fair price for a hotel of this standard. We did go to the supermarket which is a minute walk from the hotel and bought some coffee and beers for our room (there is a fridge in the room). Though we were advised not to leave the hotel after 6 and we didn't. I have to say the staff here are brilliant, they are friendly and helpful and willing to chat. I think if you make the first move with a cheery jambo it really breaks the ice and everyone from the gardeners to the reception staff were lovely but i think it is important to make the effort and say hello. I have seen on some reviews commenting on the slow service. Yes it wasnt immediate but we weren't in a hurry and for us this wasnt a problem. The front of house manager Amani is a cheery presence and could be seen most days checking on guests and asking how they were and any problems etc... we really liked this personal touch. We also met Nicholas (GM) and enjoyed our last evening with him (thanks for the many wee drams). All in all amazing for us and just what we needed. Wow wow wow xxx we will be back

Room Tip: room 127 for the view and a beautiful room. though from what we saw the standard rooms are the same...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Swahili beach in the last weekend of September and other than the little assumption made by the reception staff about our marital status and ended up addressing my partner using my surname, everything else was great. We loved the hotel, the service and the food was incredible. The infinity pool is the best place to catch the sunset from and the bar staff were exceptionally incredible.
Note: it took me quite some time to figure out the safe :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was my 3rd stay at Swahili Beach Resort and I cannot emphasize enough how much the resort has improved over the last months.

Most importantly, the dangerously slippery shower stalls have now been corrected and are no longer dangerous.

During my first visit in November 2012, the service in all the restaurants had been appalling and the bathrooms downright dangerous. Last March, the service in the main restaurant had improved drastically, but at The Baharini Beach restaurant it was still excruciatingly slow. This time round, it could not have been better: very friendly and efficient. Food at Swahili Beach has always been excellent and that has not changed. If there is one small criticism, it's the hostess at the main restaurant who consistently showed me to a terrible table at dinner although the restaurant (and hotel) was far from full.

The resort's beach is not the best, but since the hotel wan't full, I easily found a shady lounger where I happily spent my days. The service was also very good and friendly at the beach. And of course, much has already been written about the fabulous cascading pools - great for those wishing to be around the pool rather down at the beach.

All in all, the entire staff was extremely friendly and they went out of their way to make sure that I had a great holiday. I will surely be back!

A special thank you to Mr Nick and Mr Amani who took the time to listen to my griping...

Room Tip: I stayed in a fantastic suite (no 2) near the beach and loved it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Every time i think of taking a vacation... Swahili beach comes first to my mind... the swahili theme is well pronounced from the structures... the staff , food, spa ..the chain of swimming pools that flows towards the ocean like water falls... great landscaping and very well thought of. The rooms very spacious, the sliding doors from the bathroom to the spacious bedroom. The bathtub on the bathroom floor like a "human cattle dip" spent most of my time there relaxing and unwinding...The Balcony is just breath taking with the view of the ocean...Awesome bar near the beach...!
i loved every bit of my stay..and could go back any time...!

Room Tip: Executive rooms upstairs towards to beach...Great and relaxing view..!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the moment we were picked up till the day we left the service was amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants some peace and quiet.
The staff were professional and the food was great, looking forward to coming back next year to spend my birthday there.
Kudos!

Room Tip: You will never go wrong with sea view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwikali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent rooms and facilities BUT poor service and baby unfriendly. They need to work on their service. It would be a shame if they lost clients because of something they could sort out! Other wise, a nice place to stay if without kids

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kav333b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,534 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range: £131 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing