We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swahili Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
nairobi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Impressive, impeccable, amazing set up. One just thinks of paradise on earth. This is by the the best beach hotel i have seen in Kenya..

Did not get a chance to sample the cuisine as i was a visitor, but the appearance and idea of so many small pools for privacy is great.
Just ordered tea with snacks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    165
    64
    29
    18
See reviews for
159
206
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 weeks in December, when we arrived the room they gave us was lovely but had no view, after telling the hotel we were a little disappointed they changed us straight away to a room with a view, and what a view we had, the rooms are all very spacious and luxurious with everything you would need and more, our room boy Jefa was excellent got the job in hand done with no messing and cleaned our room spotlessly everyday of our stay. The staff worked extremely hard over the Christmas period as the hotel was full, we had a few problems with the wifi when we arrived but true to form the hotel got it right in the end. However we would have liked it a little quieter and being a 5 star did not expect it to be so noisey or busy so next year will come back after Christmas when the hotel is not as full. We also did not anticipate the 3 day holiday of independence whilst we were there when again the hotel was full lots of children shouting and screaming spoilt it a bit. We will defiantly stay again with all that in mind this is still one of the best hotels in Diani, central for everything, big supermarket, coffee shop, bank,and a few restaurants at hand you would not go wrong staying here.Forgot to mention the food is good also, lots of choice something for everyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maciemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Swahili Beach 3 times in 2013 - once on a business trip, once for a company event, and once with my family. I enjoyed it very much each time. The hotel is fabulous, the staff extremely professional, friendly and helpful, and the food excellent. The only small downside is the beach, which has a lot of seaweed, but the pool largely compensates for it. I also tried the SPA, which has a beautiful view and offers an excellent service. This is THE best beach resort I stayed in in Kenya, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a refined and luxurious - but affordable beach hotel. I'm not a fan of large hotels and resorts, but despite its size Swahili Beach retains a cozy, friendly and refined atmosphere. This is a place you don't want to leave ! Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineOuagadougou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a lovely new hotel in a fantastic setting. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is tasty.
As a new hotel there is the odd teething problem (bad TV reception!) but who cares when the fun is outside and the hotel does whatever it can to fix anything arising. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent a few nights here a few months back and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is gorgeous - one of the most beautiful I have ever seen anywhere in the world. The swimming pools leading down to the beach and the pool bar (with seats in the pool) are fantastic. The service was wonderful - both hotel staff and at the many restaurants and bars. Our favorite restaurant was Baharani which is situated just above the beach. The menu is great, the food is very reasonably priced, and the design of the bar and restaurant's lounge area are beautiful. The buffet breakfast and dinner were also fabulous - amazing variety, quality and service. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a beachfront suite. The suite was spacious and elegant without being overdone, and the enormous bathtub would have made it difficult to leave the room were the hotel grounds and the beach not so beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

It took me long to decide whether to try this hotel because I read many bad critics about service. In the end I was really happy I booked it. The architecture is one of the best I have ever seen in Kenia.The cascade pool is lovely. Also the gardens are very well done and the trees have name tags, which was quite interesting to see. The rooms were amazing - very big, new and beautifully furnished. When we arrived we were welcomed very warmly and the staff brought us a whole cake and bottle of campaign for our honeymoon.Service was really good there so I can only assume that because this hotel is quite new, it took them a while to get things organized but now they seem pretty much on track. The food is also really nice - from all five hotels we have booked for this holiday they had by far the best deserts. We booked full board and for lunch they have a big menu to chose, which also includes fillet steak and great fish. It is served at the beach with really nice atmosphere. At the beach bar you can listen so chill out music in the evenings and can have a shisha/waterpipe. If you get bored they offer some water volleyball, beach walks and there is also table tennis. Beachboys are there but not too many, so you really never feel disturbed. The sunbeds are super cosy and there are enough of them for everyone. The only thing we did not like too much was the fact that the pool was still being cleaned at 9.00 am even though it was supposed to be open as of 7.00 am. Also, they did not have all the drinks on the menu at the swim-up pool bar, but the staff was willing to get them from the restaurant for us. If you want really cold beer, ask for a wine cooler with ice :-)

Room Tip: They are all really great and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Superb hotel with cascade pools and very large comfortable rooms.
The bathroom is large and has bath and eain shower.
There is a restaurant on the beach and in the main building and they both serve quality food from African, European and Indian cuisines.
The only thing that needs improvement is the quality of the internet connection in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.6 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Property: Swahili Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing