We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest

Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Diani Beach
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

A great place to spend a pleasant few hours. The manager is extremely well informed about the origins and ancestory of the forest. Very interesting visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK but avoid the local guide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The forest walk was interesting and worthwhile. The local guide however was someone to avoid. His humor bordered on lewd and he tended to direct it too much at the females in the group - uncool at best.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
273 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Kaya Kinondo is an incredible place. It is an experience that should not be missed if you are in Diani. You have the opportunity to visit the sacred forest of the Digo tribe with a guide coming from the tribe which will explain to you all the hystory and the traditions of the forest. It is a great ecotourism project that deserves support and encouragment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife, grandson and I did a trip arranged with the rep at Southern Palms and it was a really enjoyable experience firstly visiting the village and meeting a lot of people including the medicine mand and then a tour of the scared forest which was both interesting and beautiful.
It is good to see the Digo tribe keeping in touch with their very intersting heritage.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A better way to spend a morning in Diani”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

A better way to spend a morning! We booked a tour to the sacred forest and the eco-tourism project through our hotel and were picked up by a car in the morning. The driver/guide was excellent, an educated young man, very knowledgeable. We were taken first through the villages off the main highway, then to the village school. Unfortunately, we did the tour on a Saturday, so the children were off, but we toured the school grounds, visited one of the class rooms and were given more information on what the eco-tourism project is all about. Following the tour of the school, we paid a visit to the medicin man and were allowed to interview him with our guide as interpreter. He let us smell all the secret remedies in his array of bottles and vials - a unique expereience! The morning ended with a tour of the sacred forest - a must for butterfly lovers and tree huggers! All in all, it was an unforgettable experience, and we were given insight to sides of life in Kenya we would never have seen otherwise. Recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing