We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DAZZLING”
Review of Diani Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diani Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“DAZZLING”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Make sure you make it to this fab hostel. Everything about it is great. The place is amazing, just like a resort for the price of a hostel and just a quick walk to Diani Beach. The atmosphere is great because the staff are fantastic and there is a great range of people there from all over the world. It is perfect for a a fun night out, the bar is fantastic, open 24/7 and also for relaxing days by the pool or beach. Also the food is great, a big range and really reasonable prices. Make sure that you try a nutella chapati. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie9464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    25
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
27
85
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A wonderful place to stay! Facilities are great, hostel is a 2 min walk from the beach, staff are incredibly accommodating and lovely. Favorite place in Mombasa! No complaints at all. Delicious food from the kitchen which is cheap and available all day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is one of the best backpackers I have ever been to. There are always interesting people to talk to, there is a nice chillled-in-the-day, party-in-the-night atmosphere, and Diani itself is beautiful. Only downside: food is average and takes a long time to be cooked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sam,
thanks for your review. We are happy to hear you loved you stay. Sorry about the wait for the food. We have a small kitchen, but we do our best to accommodate large crowds of people. That being said, we are always open to suggestions. So if you would like to send me a private message, or next time you stay with us, come speak to one of the managers we will do whatever it takes to make your stay excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rented a single room outside. Good space, good bed and a few meters away from other facilities. The prices at the backpackers are affordable, and good compared to many other places nearby. The food is good, the atmosphere good, and great staff; especially Louis, who (among others) did his best to create a welcoming and including atmosphere. All in all, a great experience and I have no doubts about recommending it. Only downside is that you wait for a long time for toilets and shower, but hey...after all its a backpackers, and cheap activities, welcome, great people and prices more than make up for that

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_from_the_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Nomad,
thanks for you review! We are glad to hear you loved your stay.
We understand that there is a shortage of showers and toilets, so are building a new shower block, which should be completed within the next few months. We have just celebrated our 2nd year anniversary, and while we have completed many projects already, there are still some that have not yet been completed. The outside private you stayed in will be completely refurbished by your next visit, and hopefully the shower block will be done too!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at the hostel for 3 days and Loved it. I came alone because I just moved to Kenya, and figured it'd be a fun way to meet people. They didn't have a private room, but the bed I got was comfortable, and you can use a locker by the bar for a small deposit you get back.

There was a wide range of ages at the hostel, and everyone was social. Some nights I partied hard, one night I put in ear plugs and crashed...around 12/1 most people are done pregaming at the hostel and go out to party, so you can go to sleep.

Trips and recommendations are solid, food is excellent/cooked fresh/varied, and really cheap. Despite heading into the rainy season, I'll def be back.

I switched to an resort nearby for my last night to be on the water/with A/C and I couldn't regret it more...

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HookahMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mike,
thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Sorry that we did not have a private available for you. We are in the process of completely refurbishing our two private rooms with a shared bathroom. They will be done by the time you come back!
We know that the rain makes the coast a little less fun, but that's why we try and think up activities to keep people active, interested, and happy.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

SCB is the place to stay if you're looking to party. Well-stocked bar, good food, and pool on site. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away. The downside is that while the place is nice, it could improve on cleanliness and maintenance. Also, some of the staff were rude and unhelpful. Overall, it's a good budget option for young people traveling to Diani Beach.

Room Tip: Nice that they have different dorm options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear RL,
I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay with us was just average. We strive to make every single guests' stay excellent. We are using this period of the year (rain) to repair lots of things around the compound. We also clean the house twice daily.
We do have a party atmosphere at night, that is true. However, we always try and shut down the bar, and have people move on to the other bars in town promptly at midnight.
I am also sorry to hear that you found some of our staff to be rude and unfriendly. Could you please message me to let me know who you had issues with so we may address them? We are all very friendly and open. Our guests comfort and safety is our #1 priority.
I hope that if you return to Diani you will stay with us again, and you can always approach anyone of the staff or management team, and we will do anything necessary to help you have an excellent stay.
I thank you for your feedback, and sincerely hope that next time your holiday will be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at SCB 5 over the last 18 months, why? Because
1 Louise Kevin n all the staff are the most hospitable people ever
2 the food is very good n they have a special dish very night
3 very well run very clean including the pool
4 well stocked bar cold drinks n Louise will shout shooters for everyone there
5 I could go on n on but read the other reviews

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimKSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stilts Backpackers
Stilts Backpackers
#1 of 65 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Backpackers

Property: Diani Backpackers
Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya (Formerly South Coast Backpackers)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Diani Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Diani Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing