We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heavenly holiday!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Kalista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kalista
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“heavenly holiday!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Kalista was truly one of the best holidays i've had in a long time!! The place is beautifully designed and decorated from the spacious fully kitted bedrooms to the v comfy couches and large tv screen. The kitchen was the perfect size and they even a sofa area outside each villa - perfect for an evening shisha break! Nice pool overlooking the beach - right by the bar
The staff were superb! The service was second to none, everything done with a smile. We were a group of 30 but somehow they managed us all so well right from the 2 year old babies to the 50 yr olds. Our requests were all given the upmost attention and the chefs did a great job with the food. we all put on a bit too much weight!!
I would recommend the place to everyone - especially people wanting to go away in large groups.

Thanks to all the staff at Kalista was such a great holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mee2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent 5 nights during the Easter break and it is everything you expect and more. Upon arriving, I was shocked as to how beautiful the place looked. It was in pristine condition and I have to say one of the best villas I have stayed at. The view of the ocean was amazing especially when watching the sun rise. The villas were very well kitted out with comfortable sofas and chairs with a TV giving us a chance to watch the footy. As I went up each flight of stairs, the villa seemed to impress me more. The first set of rooms were very big with a balcony facing the pool and ocean. The suite at the on the second floor took my breath away. The bathroom had a hot tub/jacuzzi ideal for relaxing after a nice long hard day of snoozing and relaxing on the sea beds.
The staff were very courteous and would supply us with anything we asked. We were in a group of 30 and I have always seen on previous holiday that staff struggle with such a large group, not here. All our requests were delivered, the food was of the highest quality and the drinks in comparison to any other hotel were cheap.
All in all one of the best holidays I have had and I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Spent a week just after Christmas at the superbly built and remote villas in Diani with the family. Initial reaction on arrival was simply, WOW! as have not seen a property such as this on the Kenyan beach. Views were fantastic and each villa seemed remote with the way they were setup.
We had travelled with our family and had taken 3 villas, expecting a level of hospitality equal to pristine modern villas. The expectation quickly turned to disappointment over the week spent at the villas. The promised staff of 1 cook, 1 butler and 1 cleaner per villa, became 2 cooks, 1 butler and 1 cleaner across 3 villas. Even with the lack of staff provided, the butler was most attentive and worked extremely hard, catering to the needs of 11 adults and 6 children. There was a distinct lack of the Nepresso machine per villa again as highlighted on the website. The bar onsite was horrendously expensive and it was cheaper to go to the local supermarket and purchase the drinks from there. Understandably it was not easy to satisfy 17 family members with the lack of staff and even baring this, the holiday would still have been enjoyable had it not been for the owners (who were stayed on site for the duration of our stay) wanting to charge us for one glass being broken (by us) and one dish going missing (remember we were being waited hand on foot, and the food was cooked by their cook and cutlery cleaned by their cleaner) having spent a significant amount of money on the weeks stay across the 3 villas. I would not have expected to pay for breaking a glass if I had stayed in a hotel paying similar amount of money and would not have the need to steal one dish. So overall the place is simply amazing but it seems the owners have gone into hospitality business for the first time and do not understand how to do it. Maybe a few hotel management courses maybe useful if not for the owners then at least for their manager.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villakalista, Owner at Villa Kalista, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Parsmay,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Villa Kalista during the Christmas week.

Thank you for your kind words for the beauty of the villas and the property.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences that you were caused during your stay with us. However, we would like to take the opportunity to clarify a few points with you:

1. We believe that there has been some miscommunication between your group leader who booked with us on behalf of the rest of your group.
When your group leader made the booking we had discussed beforehand that as you are all one family and will be eating all meals together, it was agreed that we would be providing you with 2 Chefs, 2 Butlers and 2 Room stewards for your villas to provide the ideal client-staff ratio to avoid excess staff.

2. With regards to the Nespresso machine, again your group leader wanted to bring her own Nespresso capsules, which goes against our policy, and opted not to have Villa Kalista Nespresso and therefore it was decided that we would not provide your group with our machines. You were, however, provided with complimentary teas and coffees throughout the day during your stay at the villas.

3. Regarding our bar on the property, our prices are at par with other hotels and restaurants around the area. Once again please do understand that we cannot charge you supermarket prices at Villa Kalista.
You were, however, given the option to buy your own food and beverages from the nearest grocery stores as you were on B&B basis. The comment of bar prices actually comes as quite a surprise to us as all guests who come to stay with us feel comfortable with our bar prices.

4. Regarding the breakages of crockery; your group leader was fully aware that on checking into the villas, they were given an inventory form stating that if any item has gone missing or any breakages occur in the villas, it would be the responsibility of the client and would therefore have to be paid for. This was duly signed.
Our management followed company policy and carried out an inventory check before your check out and found missing items.
Many private Villas or apartments around the world have the same policy.

5. Villa Kalista was keen to make your stay hospitable and comfortable for your group and as a warm gesture we had also given a complementary one-night stay to the first group that had arrived a day earlier, for one of the villas, as it would have cost $1,200. This was discussed again with your group leader. As owner management we make a point to personally stay at Villa Kalista so as to cater to all our guest needs.
To sum up our points, we once again would like to apologise for any shortcomings that you may have felt on our part. We would however request you to communicate with your group leader regarding the stay as she had agreed to most of the staff arrangements, and she had signed the inventories on behalf of your entire group. We feel that maybe this could shed a bit more light on some of the issues that you have raised.

We feel that being a one of a kind establishment, our service has to match the aesthetic superiority of Villa Kalista. It is for this that we have employed a very capable and professional manager and other staff with magnitudes of experience under their belt. We feel comfortable with their ability to communicate with our guests and to ensure that their stay is comfortable.

Thank you once again for taking the time to spend your Christmas with us and we hope we can welcome you back to Villa Kalista in the very near future.

Best wishes

Faiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Situated south of Mombasa, you arrive at this pristine villas where every detail is thought of and provided for.
Beautiful Villas with excellent furniture ( better than a five star hotel) with beautiful ocean views from every room take your breath away. The kitchen is fully equipped and the staff takes care of your every need. Very courteous and very helpful.
If there is word to describe the place, it is peaceful.
The beds are magnificent with clean soft sheets. Had the best sleep there. Could hear the waves as I drifted off to sleep.
The villas are cleaned every day and so are the grounds.
It is a little bit of a drive to get there but definitely worth it.
The infinity pool is gorgeous.
Perhaps the best property on the South Coast.

Room Tip: Every villa has beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Spent Christmas at Villa Kailsta,just superb,serene,excellent food , service, comfort beyond any other,highly recommended only one regret time was extremely short . No hustles white sands clean beaches very quite .

Room Tip: All just too good to handle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Pristine white structures and immaculate gardens, seemed an oasis too good to be true after a stretch of bumpy road that eroded my patience.However all was worth the wait, as the villas have an a understated beauty with quality furnishings tailored to comfort in every minute detail.
Every room is air-conditioned with breath taking ocean views.The living room has a flat screen tv connected to satellite to keep children busy when they get tired, the bedrooms impressed probably more than the rest as these are better than most 5 star hotels that have stayed in with great baths, from the hot tub in the master bedroom one has unrestricted views of the beach and ocean, a really (in my opinion) fantastic idea one which have not seen duplicated in many occasions.
Outside one has total peace of mind as the property is well guarded with security personnel at the main gate and on the beach, the perimeter is walled in its entirety, except along the beach where a chain link fence ensures un-obstructed beach/sea views.
This ensured my peace of mind as far as my three children were concerned.
The infinity pool and the surrounding outside areas are furthermore a tribute the the good taste of the owner.
However all the above would have counted for nothing had it not been for the personal touch from Faiza who helped instructing her staff to help with even the most minor details, to the choice of menus from the chef and the the waiter supplying us with drinks by the pool.
Definitely a place to revisit.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with the master bedroom offering an added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Villa Kalista will take your breath away!! It's a little bit of a drive, but soo worth it! The villas are magnificent. 3 stories, 3 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, a kitchen, living room and spacious patio and a nice rooftop! The villas are kept clean and the yard is kept nice and trim. It's nicely decorated in every room and the view is just spectacular! Faiza and the staff are welcoming and hospitable and will get you what you need at the drop of a hat. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway, a personal escape or a family outing. Great place for soul-searching and contemplating. It is very peaceful here. The only thing I'd complain about is that there just wasn't enough time spent there! Will return ASAP!

Room Tip: The fitness center IS the Indian Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
4.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonrisa
Hotel Sonrisa
#4 of 63 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lantana Galu Beach
Lantana Galu Beach
#2 of 5 in Galu Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.4 mi away
Diani Blue
Diani Blue
#3 of 63 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kalista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kalista

Property: Villa Kalista
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 41171-80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the crowds of large resorts, Villa Kalista is an exclusive collection of 6 private Presidential Luxury Villas for the most discerning travellers who seek total privacy. Located in Diani Beach at Galu Kinondo, 40 kms South of Mombasa, Villa Kalista is nestled between the quiet shores of the Indian Ocean and the mythical Kaya Kinondo tropical forest. Each luxury villa embraces a contemporary style with African flavour and luxurious living. The villas are built to five star luxury standards and each villa offers a panoramic view of the inviting Indian Ocean, to provide the ultimate in private escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Villa Kalista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing