We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meals and Entertainment at Sundowner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundowner

Sundowner
Ranked #26 of 34 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meals and Entertainment at Sundowner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited this great local restaurant and had the BBQ dinner. It was very good. We watched a super cultural dance/drumming performance to end our evening at this great place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephKageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“great local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great value food. Walking distance from our accommodation on Diani Beach. Loved the atmosphere and we enjoyed a weekend bbq night with African dancers for entertainment - just great

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A bit of Kenya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Not much to say but it is cheap and good for people on a low budget, does not seem to have a closing time either as we found out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiltymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Well it's not fine dinning but if your after some cheap food and drink it here. In the evening they don't close until your done :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Peaceful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Me and my wife spent the end of our Honeymoon in the south part of Diani Beach.
We looked for some nice restaurants around our village and we found Sundowner right in front of us!.we spent all our evenings there, the food is great, John the cook is a really good chef! they cook typical kenyan food but also continental dishes and italian food. They have really fresh products, in fact they sometimes don't have everything which is on the menu beacuse if it's not 100% fresh they don't sell it, very honest!
prices are more than reasonable, i'd say very cheap compared to our european standards and , given that in those touristic areas, many restaurants have european prices, this place is really cheap.
I loved the filet steak and the pepper steak and they are so friendly that they cooked a special dish for, which is the coconut fish..i still dream on its taste!
i'd suggest to everybody this place, from couples to families beacuse the quality of the food and the relaxed atmosphere are a perfect combination for a succesfull evening!
Greetings to Thomas, John, Amin and all the family there

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundowner also viewed

 
Diani Beach, Ukunda
Diani Beach, Ukunda
 

Been to Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing