We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterlovers Beach Resort(Diani Beach)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
173
112
40
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
112
40
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontindian oceandhow barbeach boysanimation teamother hotelsour honeymoonenjoyed my staynight entertainmentfantastic locationtwo weekslow seasonbeautiful resorttable tennisa wonderful holidaylovely beachprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club/Resort (JIOBR) for 3 nights before Christmas. The hotel is about 1hr 45mins drive from Mombasa Intl airport.

On arrival we received a warm welcome and were quickly shown to our room (Room 241). We had booked a club ocean facing room, which turned out to be just the perfect location as we were about 5 Meters away from the beach and with perfect views of the ocean from our room. Great!

Reception - The room induction was not great with the very obvious being shown to you (eg this is your sink, soap and TV), rather than key things such as phone numbers for housekeeping, reception, where to find restaurant(s) for breakfast, lunch or dinner and their opening/closing times, use of the aircon etc. As we arrived at about 11:00am (minus breakfast), we asked the Receptionist if we could have a snack delivered to our room and she said she would arrange for this. After about an hour of waiting we went to Reception to enquire only to be informed by the Receptionist that she had forgotten to respond as when she returned to Reception there was lots of other things to do!

Room - comfortable double bed, with turn down service. The room came equipped with a mosquito net which was necessary as the evenings are balmy. The only complaint about the room is the bathroom which is in need of a complete upgrade - the shower head is silted and hardly allowed any water for a shower. We resorted to filling the tub instead. The bath enamel is cracked and stained, and the taps were heavily lime scaled. The overall bathroom workmanship and finishing could and should have been better for the price JIOBR charge for their rooms.

Meals - We found the lunch buffet in general a bit bland and uneventful. However, an effort was made at Breakfast and Dinner time. The puddings/breads were however left open/exposed therefore risk of flies getting to them before guests can complete their main meal. (Management please note!)

Staff - Staff at the restaurants were very helpful and friendly and on each occasion we were quickly shown to a table on arrival. They were attentive, however, sometimes to the point of being overwhelming. The waiters are well-meaning, however, management could benefit from allocating specific waiter to a table(s) so that guests don't have to keep repeating their order and confirming you are ‘ok'. The hotel was 50-60% full at the time we visited so it may well explain the unusual availability of so many staff at meal times.

Pool/beach - Service and security by the pool/beach was good apart from the pool attendant who was somewhat 'dour'.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the JIOBR. The beauty of its location makes up for several of its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing club room, for great view, privacy and quick access to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HertsMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

First of all, the photo shown above is not of the Jacaranda Beach resort/Club, this if of the Mombassa hotel, a completely different complex.

My fiance and I stayed here in November for two weeks. On the first night, they had double booked us, so sent us to the 5* hotel next door and in a vila. Hardly worth complaining about. Staff were very apologetic, and couldn't do more to help us. Once we were checked in properly the following day the hoilday really began. Good service, fantantsic burgers (from the reef grill) free tea at 4pm, and pancakes served daily. Be sure to check out the Dhow bar to the very far left of the complex, The bar is in the shape of a boat and serves happy hour drinks all day every day (all drinks at half price) but this is not advertised. BEWARE beyond this bar the hotel boundary ends, and there is a craft shop run by locals. Have a look, but they will pester you if you go over there. If you want to buy anything, also offer 75% less than their original offer. As for beach boys, there were a few that used the beach, but the beach is constantly patrolled by guards, and they are not allowed to venture to up to the hotel complex, only along the shore line. If you ignore them, they will ignore you.
There is an entertainment team, and we both were able to befriend many of them. As for venturing outside, at night time it is safe, we walked in the late afternoon and purchased a few items from locals.. This was so much cheaper than any major tourists shops. As for security, do not worry, the hotel is located next to a naval base, has 24 hour security, manned gates on entry and beach guards the goverement has even provided soldiers to roam around the complex after dark. Completey safe. We even ventured to the local night spots. Ali Barbars and the 40 theieves is a owned and run by a british national. A friendly beach bar with disco and pool tables. Many many tourists can be found here.

The highlight of the entire hoilday was JT SAFARIS. If you type in Kenya Safarais into Google, JT is a top list search, and deservidly so. He cannot be found through tour operators but via his website (www.julius-safaris.com). He is a local, and his service is second to none. We booked JT because of the rave reviews on here. The guy has over 1000 reviews and more continue to add. As a tour operator he went completely out of his way to ensure our trip was a memorable one. On arrival in kenya, we realised we had forgottent the battery to our camera. JT safaris, spent the entire day looking around Mombassa, searching for this battery whilst we lazed by the pool. They tracked down the battery and sent a driver. For all their trouble, all they charged was for the battery only and not the time for staff time. Absoluetly fantasic, battery worked and we have some amazing photos from the trip. JT really made our trip!!! As for the sarafi, we went on a 4 day 3 night safarai, and had the pleasure of Cobra our guide with over 23 years of experience. He was very lovabale, knowledgable and completely trustworthy. With the price of $810 pp, we stayed at two of Kenya's finist lodges, Kilaguni and Amboseli, both my the hotel chain Serena. We had no idea, but these were really expensive and all for the same price. Definetly recommend staying there.

If you feel like taking a few day trips, also see JT safaris for this too. The hotel and other guides offered us tours, but be sure to check with JT to see what he had to offer.

After our Safari, we had a week, left and decided to to take two trips with JT. One a local UKUNDA village tour, visiting a local school, borehole and wood carvings. This cost 2000 ksh total. The next day we took the Funzi Island trip with JT and this was one of the highlights if the trip also. After a 45 minute drive to a local viallage you are taken on a 10minute boat ride to Funzi Island to meet locals, visit a school, view local living arrangemnets and local crafts, after that, there is the chance to swim off the sand bar for 30mins, and hopefully see some dolphins. After the swim you are greeted with a cold fizzy drink, and an hours boat trip through the mangroves up the river to sea crocodiles. The tour ends with a restuarant meal, a meal we will never forget. Upon entering the resort, you are presented with a cold drink, and towel, the chance to have a shower and then a relax in the bar. You are called to dinner where you are served a four course meal of fresh crab, loster, red snapper and desert. Absolutely fantatsic.

To sum up this hotel, if you are considering it, by all means do. There are no security issues, and the hotel is very nice, clean and friendly. Speak to Mohammed, he will teach you to climb trees and maybe make you a hat. Be sure to meet Jackson, he makes the most amazing cocktails, and watch out for the entertainment in the eveneing, Andy's (one of the enterinainers) miming to popular music is classic. If you want a safari for your trip, book JT, if you have booked with others, CANCEL and use JT., you won't regret it.

Hope this helps.

This hoilday was reviewed by a young English couple, no children in November 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. You get a private balcony. Choose room 338, it's fantastic, and is only a standard room. A deluse villa is on the ground close to the beach. Easy acces to the beach yes, but we felt that the privacy through the windows may be compromised. CHOOSE ROOM 338.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

if you are looking for a hotel not just for tourist you are right. Many kenian citizen are visiting the resort. beautiful sand beach. no loud animation team around. very helpful and friendly staff.
close to shima hills and chale island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I and My wife had a fantastic stay at this resort after my disgusting stay at 'Diani House' - Another accommodation on the Diani beach.

This hotel had beautiful rooms with amazing privacy on the beach.

The staff is very courteous.

In all I loved my stay there and wish to go back.

Room Tip: take the one closer to the shore...i loved it !
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PruthiVaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I had a nice stay here. Rooms are clean with very good view on the Indian Ocean. The pools were lovely and so was the beach. i have short boat ride to the reef. no mosquitos and fantastic sea breeze

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shalithajayasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews