We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My traveling companion and I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2013.

The good:
- Pretty reasonably priced once you get down to it, considering breakfast and dinner are included
- The beach is stunning and the pool is nice
- The rooms are nice. We got one of the last oceanfront rooms so the location wasn't ideal - all the way at one end of the resort, almost behind the bar - but it was lovely inside and steps from the beach

The meh:
- The food was just ok. One of the dinner buffets made us both a litte rumbly in the tummy, including making my companion actually sick to his stomach. He eats meat and I'm vegetarian, though, so it could have been some of the meat that did it

The bad:
- The service varied from mediocre to terrible. It took forever to get anything done in any of the restaurants - flagging multiple people over, asking more than once, etc
- We asked for the van to take us to the airport at 2pm. He didn't show up until 2:45pm. In the interim, the manager made fun of us for wanting to get to the airport early. Completely infuriating and unprofessional - reason alone never to stay here again. She added insult to injury by insisting he was '5 minutes away' for most of the time we were waiting
- No fitness center

Overall, it wasn't terrible but it definitely wasn't great. I haven't stayed anywhere else along Diani Beach so I can't really compare it, unfortunately. I wouldn't go back, though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margot_y_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsimba392, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Ms. Margot
We thank you for taking time to write a review on your holiday experience with us and knowing that you arrived home safe. We however humble ourselves for the hiccup that you experience during your departure and promise to straighten up on areas that didn’t go as per your expectations. We welcome you back in near possible future and look forward to host many in your referral.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

l stayed here for a week but the staff is organized with quick service,the rooms very nice and in general the plan for the whole beach hotel is quite excellent and clean floors,nice fast sea food, and front sea breeze which make somebody feel relaxed .l really e joyed my short stay there.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter,lerge corner suits and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had read the reviews before hand and was a bit apprehensive about going there but decided to take my chances! I was pleasantly surprised.. The hotel rooms are stand alones, very spacious, clean and we had a room almost on the beach!!! Definitely not the normal crampy hotel rooms with a lovely view of the ocean from your bed! !Service was excellent! We only had breakfast which was good and ate elsewhere for the other meals. I highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: Room 430 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aswila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacarandaDiani, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Aswila
Thank you for your very positive posting on your holiday experience with us, we promise to maintain the good standards and look forward to hosting you in the near future. We wish you a great year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly as it is perfect for me. The rooms are spacious and clean, and have fabulous views. Very few are more than a few metres from the beach. There is one main pool and a number of plunge pools throughout the gardens. There is a small coral shelf in front of the hotel, but it is not hard to walk around it to get into the sea. When the tide is in it is of no consequence anyway, and when the tide is out, it traps a pool of water that many people like to sit and tan in.
On this occasion someone complained to me that all the beds were reserved. I explained that you tell the pool boy (Gabriel) where you want to sit and he will put bed and shade there for you and see that it is made up each morning for you. There is plenty of space.

The staff are attentive, without being cloying, and are very nice natured whether you tip or not. Sometimes they are busier than others, and on a couple of evenings this time the service was a bit slow. However this is Kenya and are you really in a rush? If so tell them at the outset - they will oblige.

The food this year was slightly better than last year, although virtually everyone i bumped into, regardless of hotel were not entirely happy with the evening meal although breakfast is fab. I think for what it is it is excellent. Also, if there is really nothing you fancy on the menu, you can ask for something else and as long as they know how to make it they will.

My main love about this hotel is the peace and quiet. No loud music all day and no forced entertainment or being pestered to play water polo, volleyball, football etc etc They do offer water aerobics at 11.00 and for that half an hour they play music but it is not very loud. This time there were no aerobics as nobody wanted them.

Evening entertainment is not spectacular, but is ok to chill out and have a drink. It only lasts usually from 9 until 10, 11 at the latest then all is peaceful again.

If you are the sort of person who likes plenty of entertainment, loud music, pristine surroundings and British Hilton standards then this hotel is not for you. If you want peace, relaxation and a chance to unwind in a stunning location with a chilled atmosphere and genuine Kenyan feel then this is for you. Kick off your shoes, have a G&T or a Tusker while watching the sun go down. Pure magic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hevcbsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed here for 2.5weeks at the end of March 2012 into April.
Was my first experience of a exotic get away and the stay at the Jacaranda was fabulous.
Great rooms and buildings, excellent staff (especially mohammed by palm tree coconut collector) sea breeze which was needed as the humidity was through the roof. Thankfully with such a strong sea breeze it kept the mozzies away... didnt get bitten once the whole time I was away!
The reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 was not the hotels fault as such, but its location from the main airport.... a VERY long journey topped off with a ferry crossing in the scorching heat. A great experience but the ferry got a little dull having to cross it for excursions elsewhere etc.
On the whole, amazing place. Wouldn definitly go back if the opportunity came about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevehicks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacarandaDiani, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Steve,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your holiday with us, I have talked to Mohammed and said big thanks and we are looking forward to welcoming back to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort possibly this year. Pass the great word to all there.
Be Blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Very nice place for relaxing. Very nice and friendly staff. Excellent massage with eucalyptus oil. Great seafood restaurant for lunch. Great ocean view sunset and sunrise!. I really enjoyed my very short vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marinaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacarandaDiani, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Marina
Thanks for the feedback on your holiday with us. we shall do our best to
maintain the same and wish to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

LOVED our little bungalow on the water !! Beach was beautiful,, just wish they could somehow control the beach boys better. We love to walk the beach everyday but found we only ventured out 2 times. Loved our gardener he brought me flowers, pool guy great too.
All staff was very friendly too. Food was standard buffet style, after almost 30 days of it, we got a little tired of it. Not too bad but pretty much the same everyday.
Very quiet, which was nice for us, but if we went back would need it to be a little liivlier. If you wanted to look at the Voyageur Resort we stayed there only 1 night but it was overflowing with people. They must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,039 reviews
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £73 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms, double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing