We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most relaxing places!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“one of the most relaxing places!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed in one of the thatched cottages right on the beach and would highly recomend.
the staff are friendly and the area safe, but watch out for the monkeys! they will nick anything! and the rip tide on the beach, there are warning signs but I didnt see them till after I had an interesting and dam scarey swimming situation,,, lol,
But location and service are second to none, I just sat under a coconut tree in the sun and was pampered,,,, excellent, got to fly around kenya, see killimojaro and go on safari from here too, loved the water jet ski safari through the mangroves and nature reserves near Zanzibar, x

Room Tip: must have a beach house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychappie244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    97
    37
    11
    12
See reviews for
55
121
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

the hotel is located in diani and its the last hotel...the location is fantastic, the beach is very nice...the furniture in the room is a bit old needs changing...the room i was booked in, had a TV which wasn't working, the ceiling fan was faulty and the connectivity for the WIFI was poor, but thanks to Amina Noroge, she changed my room immediately after voicing my concerns.

breakfast was lousy so was the food, the facility has only one swimming pool,,,customer service was excellent....linda, amina and david tambara...u made my stay very pleasant..

the rooms have safety boxes, though very small,and they charge 175ksh, per day for the secret code, the WiFi is also at a cost 500ksh per hr.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Each time you visit this property it takes you by surprise, the villas open right on to the beach with no boundary or fence, you could actually roll out of bed right on to the beach. There is no beach boys to harrass you. The beach is like your own private beach. The property is clean, and nice, a lot of new properties are building villas on the beach, IOBC has had this for over 20 years. The staff have been with the company for long and each time I visit they remember me. The chef makes an effort with the meals, there is a cheese platter after YOUR A'la carte Dinner. The seafood platter is fresh try it!!!

There is live entertainment every evening, and the staff do everything possible to make your stay comfortable they even stay on in the evenings till you go to bed. We were 20 of us in a group.

The airconditioning needs some adjustment as well as the curtains and furnishings need some updating, not so bad, the bed linen is clean and crisp.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauyako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The property is absolutely stunning and the beach just took my breath away. The sea is very active on this corner of the coast. The cottages which are sea facing are beautiful. The pool is nice and inviting.

I was let down by the food they served us. Though the services are quite prompt.

But then again, the beauty of this place tops everything else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonal_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gomshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel about 18 years ago (we went with Somak then and this time - an excellent company) and loved the location then although at the time it was due for refurbishment, this has now been done and very well by the Jacaranda group. We asked to have a beachfront room and were accomodated although I don't think we had paid for this - the beach is really beautiful, we had been to other areas of Diani but none was as good as this. We got some locals to arrange to take us down the coast in a traditional dhow to another hotel we had stayed at (now closed pending updating) and had a 6 kilometre walk back along the beach which was excellent but did cause a few blisters with the sand. The food at the hotel was very good and there was some entertainment as well which was fine. We will return.

Room Tip: Beachfront near the water sports are best - water sports were'nt used when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJM030551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Jacaranda is a wonderful place to relax. The beach is great to walk on, even in the hot sun. The sand does not burn your feet!

The staff is so friendly and helpful. Of course if you are there for 2 weeks or more , the food will start to become boring, but they do a good job of trying to change it so you can always find something good to eat. If you try some different things, you can find what is good for you. The Bahari Cove restaurant is my favorite. The food and service is fantastic. I loved sitting at the Dhow bar and having a drink. Eating on the beach is is also a special treat for lunch.

I do not agree with their rule for not bringing food or drink from the outside without a surcharge. This is the only thing we did not agree with. Snacks and some drinks are not going to make the hotel go out of business, but makes being at a hotel for 2 or 3 weeks more comfortable. I would highly suggest they change this policy in the interest of customer satisfaction.

The beach boys can be a pain for awhile, but they will leave alone after they know you are not interested.

Yes, you have to use the ferry for going on safaris or for a tour of Mombasa; but it is an experience to also enjoy.

Kenya is a great experience and we are planning our next trip there. Jacaranda will be the base for our next trip. Thanks again to Dennis and the rest of the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hornman1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My traveling companion and I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2013.

The good:
- Pretty reasonably priced once you get down to it, considering breakfast and dinner are included
- The beach is stunning and the pool is nice
- The rooms are nice. We got one of the last oceanfront rooms so the location wasn't ideal - all the way at one end of the resort, almost behind the bar - but it was lovely inside and steps from the beach

The meh:
- The food was just ok. One of the dinner buffets made us both a litte rumbly in the tummy, including making my companion actually sick to his stomach. He eats meat and I'm vegetarian, though, so it could have been some of the meat that did it

The bad:
- The service varied from mediocre to terrible. It took forever to get anything done in any of the restaurants - flagging multiple people over, asking more than once, etc
- We asked for the van to take us to the airport at 2pm. He didn't show up until 2:45pm. In the interim, the manager made fun of us for wanting to get to the airport early. Completely infuriating and unprofessional - reason alone never to stay here again. She added insult to injury by insisting he was '5 minutes away' for most of the time we were waiting
- No fitness center

Overall, it wasn't terrible but it definitely wasn't great. I haven't stayed anywhere else along Diani Beach so I can't really compare it, unfortunately. I wouldn't go back, though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margot_y_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsimba392, Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Ms. Margot
We thank you for taking time to write a review on your holiday experience with us and knowing that you arrived home safe. We however humble ourselves for the hiccup that you experience during your departure and promise to straighten up on areas that didn’t go as per your expectations. We welcome you back in near possible future and look forward to host many in your referral.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
977 reviews
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Property: Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms, double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing