We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2007

Many other reviews on this site describe this hotel as very good. They are wrong. It is excellent…… However a few things may not be what some people expect or even want. They are hugely outweighed (in my view) by the friendly service, beautiful setting, and all round warmth of both the climate and the staff. First – the good things:-

1.We arrived to beautiful rooms which were well maintained throughout our stay. Although the staff don’t always remember to restock the mini bar (far more reasonable than average prices) they are friendly and thorough. Moreover when we asked to move to rooms closer to the Ocean, the hotel guest relations manager was only too happy to oblige, and we moved the next morning. The Ocean front rooms are very good. All rooms are the same size but these are separated from the beach only by a narrow path. We had our breakfast most mornings brought to us (for a tray charge of £1.20!) and ate it outside overlooking the sands.
2.The management are really interested in your comfort and happiness and the Duty Managers (John, Catherine, Anthony) bring standards to their job which would embarrass the house management in some of the finest hotels in the world that I have stayed in. The ability of a hotel manager to somehow materialise out of the air when there is a problem is a genuine rarity. These guys are so good at it that it is little surprise that many (not quite all) of the staff have picked up the same approach and they are friendly and appear genuinely concerned that you are enjoying yourself and have what you need. This place runs like a well oiled machine. It has government connections – which must help!
3.The activities kept our children (11 & 13) very happily occupied. We don’t usually go to hotels that have “Kids Clubs” and our children can amuse themselves without organised activities. However the two guys – Andy & Martin made our children’s holiday. Again, they appeared genuinely interested in making sure that they had a good time.
4.Trousers! Beware – the main restaurant operates a strict dress code! Men must wear long trousers in the evening! I had not brought a pair with me – only three-quarter length trousers. The hotel management’s solution? They sent the hotel tailor and housekeeper around the next morning to measure me up and made me a pair – at no charge!
5.Diving School. Omar the guy in charge is friendly and helpful. His boss, however, seems to put him and his colleagues under a lot of pressure. The hotel management handled the resulting issues with their usual skill.
6.Sadly on the last day my daughter was ill. Out of nowhere appeared John (Duty Manager that day) appeared and made Sarah comfortable whilst his colleague rang for the doctor and rearranged our transfer to the airport and packed my wife some sandwiches for the trip! The local doctor was very helpful. Again the skill and willingness of the hotel management to help ensured that this episode was as bearable as possible for us all.
7.There are no longer TV’s in the rooms and the rooms do not have safes (the safety deposit boxes at the cashier desk are open 24 hours).
8.Entertainment and Music around the pool. There is loud music around the pool from 11am-1pm every day (to accompany the aerobics class!). This horrified me when we first arrived. I had no prior knowledge of it and when the “entertainment” continued over lunch at such a volume that we couldn’t hold a conversation, I was really fed up. I quickly found that if you move down the beach you can get out of earshot of the music (mostly) fairly easily. This is the solution. However if you don’t like poolside music (the loud kind) and lounging by the pool all day is a key part of your holiday – you will have a big problem here. The evening entertainment too starts straight after dinner and is followed by music that goes on until 11. Tame stuff (no doubt) compared to some resorts – but if you are looking forward to quiet candlelit evenings under the stars, forget it. Bear in mind that these beaches are really not safe to hang around on after sunset so you are stuck with poolside in the evenings. The “escape” is the Bahari Cove seafood bar at the other end of the hotel. Well out of earshot of the razzamatazz and a great setting serving wonderful food. Superb Lobster Thermidor and tomato soup served inside an enormous freshly baked bread roll - delicious!
9.Some aspects of the décor are a bit tired – but – and I hope I’m wrong here – I’m worried for the future of this place. The owners Jacaranda, have recently changed the name from Indian Ocean Beach Club (everybody locally knows it as the IOBC) to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort. This may mean nothing. However “Resort” hotels for me, conjure up images of unsubtle, noisy, mass market joints which are a far cry from the beautifully run, friendly IOBC. Let’s hope that the Jacaranda guys don’t forget the old maxim “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Mycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2006

I stayed at the IOB from November 27 to December 14 2006

The hotel's reputation preceded it and in my experience, lived up to expectations in all respects.

The hotel I would class as a 4* by western standards. The whole complex has a lovely relaxed and rustic charm about it whilst at the same time providing good facilities and excellent service.

The [my] room was spacious with small terrace, good bathroom and excellent shower although the lighting did leave a little to be desired. Mini-bar replensihed daily and the room was cleaned also on a daily basis, bed and mosquito net addressed each day in the late afternoon. The airconditioning worked extremely well.

The pool area was clean and provided plenty of space, fronting onto the beach a few yards away. Also plunge pools here and there. There were daily pool activities provided by the animation team and a good poolside bar. Also, 'at lounger' service if required. The surrounding gardens were extensive and well maintained

The restaurants provided excellent service and the food, whether buffet or a la carte was very good indeed with plenty of choice, even providing items not on the menu if requested.

Whilst there were a number of steps to the various levels there was also ramp access for anyone with walking difficulties, not always found in other hotels.

This is a quiet hotel and evening entertainment was limited to a pianist in the bar and maybe an instrumental duo in Spices restaurant. From time to time there were also local tribal dancers/entertainers performing outside by the pool. This is not a hotel for bouncy nightlife which makes it very pleasant and relaxing.

The staff on the whole were very friendly, helpful and gave good, efficient service.

Slight drawback: getting to the IOB is gruelling via Mombasa and the ferry on roads that are apalling.

However, I would rate this hotel very highly and would not hesitate to return.

P.
Shropshire, England.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Two7Right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

The reviews say it all - this hotel is fantastic. The location, the staff, the service and the food are all wonderful.

So as not to repeat the same info as other posters over again I will try to shed light on some areas that may help you plan your trip. I booked an Ocean View room and I was expecting a room right on the beach, however not all rooms of this type are on the beach. We had a good room overlooking a 30 yard lawn to the beach - some however were a good bit further back. The rooms right on the beach were nearer the Bahari cove restaurant (room numbers 500+ I think). If you wanted one of these rooms I would contact the hotel in advance to request - web site [--]

If you are going on safari you can keep all your belongings in your room if you booked the safari locally - i.e not part of the package holiday.

If your budget can stretch to a private safari and a jeep instead of a safari bus it really is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rockathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LAIJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wilesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

Stayed: September 2006
11  Thank wamuyuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SCarline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,364 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
619 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £57 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms, double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing