We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon/england world cup!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“honeymoon/england world cup!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

we chose this hotel from the kuoni brochure for our honeymoon, from the pictures it looked amazing! it looked like a deserted island, white sandy beach, crystal clear sea, i thought id died and gone to heaven when we arrived. we were greeted with a welcome drink. we were shown to our chui cottage (honeymoon cottages were booked up so we took second choice). cottage was lovely, im a cleaning freak and always check the bathroom first. as i walked in 1st impression, i think i expected it to be more luxurious for the price. we ate in the buffet restaurant most evenings, except when we went to chui grill (complimentary honeymoon gift) which was exceptional! or we had room service. im a beach lover but, dissapointedly after a few days of being followed into the sea by locals(when all we wanted to do was swim, lie in the water and take it all in, as it is picturesque,its what i dreamt of after planning a wedding)we chose to stay by the pool to avoid the constant hassel. we did 2 day safari to tsavo east and loved it, alot cheaper to book over there. we had a fabulous honeymoon, weather was good, we had no complaints that we felt needed voicing. we stayed 2 weeks and it was very special to us! was it value for money? No. but being in the hotel and remembering the the sights of the locals on ourjourney to the hotel kind of puts things in to perspective, your being treated like royalty compared to the conditions the locals live in, but do you see any of them complaining!!!!!

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — left the door open for fresh air and monkey came in and stole our fruit!! 1st and last time we did that!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    196
    71
    33
    32
See reviews for
239
247
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

We nearly didn't chose this hotel because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. So glad we took the chance. It was blissful! Everything we could have dreamed of and more! It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and everybody forgot it so we took a last minute chance on Leopard Beach. They organised the most stunning vow renewal ceremony in a matter of hours (Salome and Steven are just amazing). They made is just magical. I had the most beautiful bouquet with pink tropical flowers mixed with cream roses. They came to my room to do my hair, make up and nails. When I looked in the mirror, I looked better than I had done for our actual wedding. Evans Muhali took our photos and they are wonderful. I hate photos of me usually and I am showing these to everyone who will let me. Masai Warriors greeted us in their brilliant red robes and sang us to the cliff overlooking the ocean where the ceremony took place. Everything was so perfect. It was just so romantic and so special. Just for us!

We had champagne and even a cake, then a romantic meal with our own personalised printed menu with more champagne. They even planned a lovely breakfast for us the next day overlooking the ocean with you guessed it, more champagne. They even gave us a gift with our name carved with the date - the only present we have for our Pearl Wedding Anniversary which we shall treasure.

We had wonderful spa treatments in the Thai based buildings - peaceful, romantic and very reasonably priced. Then we languished by the spa pool enjoying the gentle warmth and lovely breeze - perfect. Food great, always making the effort to change venues. Nothing was too much for the staff. One even made us a gift from flowers and leaves.The grounds are spectacular. Our day on safari was worth the early start. Did not want to leave.Wish we had booked a cottage but they were all booked and I am not surprised. Kept pinching ourselves to believe it was so perfect and we were blissfully happy!!

Choose this hotel and ignore the whingers. Yes, the beds are a bit hard and the bathrooms are a little tired but these are nitpicky things. The whole experience is worth it. Go and enjoy.

Perfect for romantic break, wedding or even vow renewal. We are definitely going back and we never do that - too many other places out there so the magic has worked on us.

  • Liked — The gardens, the views, the staff!
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WendyPott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

What a start to a fantastic safari holiday. 3 nights at the Leopard Beach Hotel & Spa. We were in Chui Cottage number 3 and it was spectacular. Visitors in our (private) garden which overlooked the Indian Ocean included Vervet monkeys, Colobus monkeys, lizards of all shapes and sizes and spectacular birds. Fabulous service at this large but well designed hotel (it was full, and except for the pool area you wouldn't realise it!) Wonderful gardens. Great staff (special mention to two student Hillary and Zippy) and it was an absolute pleasure.

  • Liked — Everything was perfect!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceri&Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

We spent three nights here after a 2-week Kuoni safari through Kenya and were looking for sunshine and indulgence. The sun hardly shone but the indulgence made up for it!

The hotel is situated in well maintained gardens on the beach south of Mombasa and the rooms are bungalows or pretty 2-storey blocks. We had a standard room which was clean, spacious, had a good sized bathroom and patio doors to your own outdoor seating area overlooking gardens and water features. We had a problem opening the patio door one day, rang reception and it was fixed within hours. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Only minus - the beds were VERY hard.

The food was the best on the whole holiday - fresh, hot when supposed to be, plentiful and served in a lovely setting overlooking the sea. Much of the meat was cooked to order - a complete change from the safari experience where the buffet offerings were often tired and lukewarm. We were on half board so only used one of the bars/bistros in the gounds on our last day - a great pizza overlooking the ocean.

There were two pools, a large one near the beach and a smaller one in the spa area where children were not allowed. This pool had a great fresh juice bar. Another lovely feature were the little thatched arbours where you could sprawl out on a sofa and read even in the rain.

The spa setting and treatments were gorgeous and we had a wide range of treatments between us - full body treatment/exfoliation/massage, pedicures, manicure and a facial. My body treatment left me with my head pleasantly in the clouds - it was so relaxing I could barely speak for about an hour afterwards. The pedicure was done under a palm tree - bliss.

No reflection on the hotel management whatsoever, but you cannot walk on the beach in Mombasa without being pestered by locals trying to sell souvenkirs or boat trips. They are very well mannered so extremely hard to shake off. However, the hotel does provide its own small private beach.

Recommended.

  • Liked — The spa facilities and the food
  • Disliked — Ultra hard beds
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

We were a bit worried about our holiday at Leopard Beach after we'd read the reviews on Trip Advisor but when we arrived, it was fantastic! The hotel and grounds are stunning and very well maintained. We booked a Chui suite and it was lovely with fresh flowers each day. The food was great, even for a very fussy vegetarian! Make sure that you experience one of their Beach BBQ's where the entire restaurant is transported onto the beach for the evening (Craig and Louise you missed out on that! If you go back for an Anniversary trip, make sure they're planning one during your stay!). Be sure to use the Spa as the treatments are fab. We'd definitely say that you shouldn't be put off from visiting Leopard Beach just because of the reviews on this site, as we saw no evidence of any of the bad points listed! It's an amazing place with the nicest staff and we can't wait to visit again!

Karyn and Martyn

  • Liked — The style and presentation of the buildings and grounds and the attitude of staff
  • Disliked — Having to go home!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

Cannot believe some of the reviews for Leopard Beach, we got married there in July and couldnt of asked for a better wedding, every detail right down to the colour scheme for the walkway, cake, flowers etc, we were treated so well! hotel is beautiful, staff are fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. We had a chui cottage which was spacious and very clean,had a lovely sea view and a pretty garden. We used the spa on several occasions and it was very relaxing and well managed. Been to many hotels around the world and this has to be one of my favourites, cannot wait to go back!! Thanks to everyone who made our wedding and honeymoon so special...

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dippyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

I have just returned from the Leopard Beach Hotel where we spent 7 nights and it was just fantastic. We stayed in the Chui Cottages - which was the honeymoon suite and it was amazing. The Cottage looked out over the Indian Ocean and we had a garden all to ourselves. The Cottage was cleaned daily, fresh flowers and fruit supplied, we had a shower room which had two showers, a large bath and a very comfy bed. We went half board with the hotel and they made such an effort each evening for dinner - one evening we had dinner in the main restaurant, the next we had dinner in gardens of the hotel and we had dinner on the beach another evening so you did not get bored of the surroundings. I had read the comments on Trip Advisor before we left for Kenya and I was very worried about staying in the Leopard Beach but we were so delighted that we were not put off by these comments as it was everything I had hoped for. Overall our experience at the Leopard Beach Hotel was fantastic and I would have no problem recommending the Hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing