We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Plac is excellent to have a honey moon holiday quiet beach front to the ocean the staff's are welcomingand is the beach front rooms an excellent when you even relax from your from with the view from the window there breakfast superb generally a worth while in the south coast. Diani beach

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Otsyula,

Such a lovely review, we are humbled. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

Your Kind mention of our beach front accommodation is much appreciated; Comfort and luxury define our various facilities options designed to suit the different needs of our guests.

With these varied options, Leopard Beach Resort & Spa strives to provide ideal accommodation to families, couples and single travelers alike all in a beautiful setting of lush tropical gardens.

Our breakfast team shall be delighted to read of your comments on the breakfast buffet!

Thanking you once again for your great recommendation and looking forward to the pleasure of your return

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

I never review hotels but after our pathetic experience here in April 2013 i decided to put down something for other travelers.

This is not exactly a cheap hotel and for that we expected nothing of a perfect holiday.
On arrival we were informed that we had been booked into a sea facing room but after getting into the room we realised all we could see was a wall and a garden from the balcony. On asking why the receptionist lied, we were quickly informed that he meant the block was sea facing but the rooms don't have a view of the sea.

Con language I would call it.

No room has a sea view here, only cottages do.

Please note that gym is chargeable by the hour so be ready to pay extra!

Breakfast is average for that kind of hotel. Little cereal variety so don't expect to find muesli and all. The Yogurt provided is the cheapest available in the kenyan market. I would expect real fruit yogurt for such an establishment.

If after a long day all you want is to immerse yourself into a bathtub and chill out , kindly note that this is a luxury you will not find in the rooms here.

Restaurant staff are great though but nothing worth writing about on the rest.


The lounge is however perfect for relaxing at anytime and the beaches are clean just like the rest of south coast.

Overall, I would not recommend this to anyone and would rather board at neighboring establishments at anytime even at a higher price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XMLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Mr Mwangi,

We are have noted your review with concern particularly since we had earlier communicated with your travel agents on receipt of your complaints. Hence we would like to now share our earlier reply ..We obviously didn’t measure up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize from the outset for what we didn’t get right.

Leopard Beach Resort and Spa has been awarded as Kenya's leading Resort 3 years in a row for its consistent delivery of excellent services and facilities to our valued guests. This is reflected also in the 2011/2 TripAdvisor Traveler Awards plus their Certificates of Excellence not only for our Resort but also the Uzuri Spa. While we take pride in this we equally value guests who tell us what we are not doing right and we endeavor to take immediate corrective action.

We are contracted with 38 most reputable local and overseas tour operators who are guided by EU laws and as such we take exception of you accusing us of con language. The word sea facing has never been a problem to them or their clients as we will not cut down our beautiful gardens; trees and plants to qualify for the word sea view- after all, how many hours would you spend in a beach hotel sitting in your rooms instead of enjoying the beach , pool as well as our restaurant and bars with great views over the Indian ocean

We have noted your comments on our breakfast with a daily changing variety of choices including the cereals . I would like to clarify that we serve 6 varieties of cereals and different ones everyday offering both local and very expensive imported ones. We do have Muesli in our variety as well. The comments on the quality of our yogurt is well noted though we have not received any concerns on the same from our other guests who enjoy our fresh fruit carving station to mix this with excellent quality plain yogurt.

As for your comments for having to pay for the Gym the most charges are per day and not per hour and include the services of highly qualified trainers and excellent equipment – all at a considerable high operational cost.

All of our bathrooms were fully renovated in 2011 with best quality eco friendly rain showers. Before removing the bath tubs which are considered as outdated for beach resorts we did a very detailed guest survey also involving our partners with the clear majority opting for a nice rain shower instead of a bathtub.


We highly appreciate the compliments on our team as we pride ourselves having some of the best trained, motivated and friendly staff. The Kalani WIFI lounge as a perfect place for relaxing was created in 2012 with the totally renovated Horizon Restaurant , the Chui Grill and the addition of Wines & whiskers offering a range of over 100 wines.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

i took full board. thought it will be enough., but well, when u need to pay for a glass of water - its too much. u got free coffee once perday and u should pay for a single pancake. it just gets on nerves. food was overage too. beach was ok. pool too. big place and not a lot of guests. no night program. nothing. it was very boring. with such price they can do it better. in the end., we couldnt pay by visa or mastercard. smth didnt work there and they cant help with it. and we got our flight soon. it was very unprofessional.
so its like this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Xenia F,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is evident and regrettable that we did not meet your expectations.

We always appreciate feedback from our guests but allow us to clarify on some areas highlighted:
Our Full board meal plan (part of our extensive meal plan offerings) allows our guests to dine with us in our extensive breakfast buffet , Buffet or Table d’ hote lunch menus and our differently themed dinner buffets all providing a wide range of meal options .

We recently introduced a new meal plan the FB + that allows our guest the freedom to dine during lunch and dinner form our different outlets, this with an assortment of drinks at their disposal during their meal plans.

Our different meal plans were designed out of the different dining needs of our guests thereby allowing them to engage and indulge fully in our Food and Beverage meal options

We have with us a dedicated team that ensures our guests are treated to a lively entertainment programme for our guests during the day and night. Our night time entertainment offers a different edge and twist to the night time activities at the resort; creating an entertaining atmosphere even for social interaction!

We sincerely apologize of the inconvenience caused by the system error upon check out. This is unfortunately something that was beyond our control at the time due to an internal malfunction with our service providers. We however at the time provided a timely solution, something that was not highlighted.

We trust with the above we shall have delivered clarity on some of the issues mentioned and that you shall accord us another chance to host you to our true hospitality

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Once again having paid our annual visit to Leopard Beach in Mombasa, I cannot recommend it enough if you are looking to be close to nature. It is one of the few hotels that makes you feel part of nature. The hotel is amongst wonderful gardens along rustic paths to the rooms or cottages which overlook the gorgeous ocean waves. The hotel has been renovated, but still kept the rustic ambience, and attention to detail. Everywhere you turn your gaze rests on some point of interest.The sound of water from the fountains scattered everywhere compliments the flora and fauna. The birds can be seen making their nests ,lots of interesting features.
To top it all, the staff have to be praised , because their are the ones that add the final magic touch. Their warmth and friendliness once again proves to you ,the Kenyan hospitality. If you visit hope you will enjoy it as we always do.

Room Tip: Cottages are the best and are sea facing. Garden rooms if you prefer , but superior are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Kiran W,

Yes, we are in full agreement!

We must say that nature has favored us and given us the best of both worlds, this not forgetting our dedicated gardening team that has been able to nurture and maintain our beautiful gardens and landscapes.

We must appreciate that you took note of the little features that bring out the uniqueness of our property and thank you for sharing it!

Our distinctive Chui class service is something we always pride in and we read with great joy that the magic it sparks will leave you with pleasant memories.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Leopard beach has to be one of the best costal hotels in Kenya, the location is fantastic set on rocks over looking white sand beach that when the tide is down goes on forever. The hotels rooms and cottages have been set into the beautiful sea worn coves of the coastline to give fabulous views of the ocean and the gardens are so beautifully done you walk to your room through a tropical paradise.

Through out our stay we found the service to be excellent and the food delicious with plenty of options from the ocean and simpler dishes for the weaker stomachs.

While we were there we saw that there seems to be some new developments in the hotel grounds and if they are anything like the other cottages on the property then they will be very comfortable and beautiful.

Leopard beach was really a special place to stay, be sure to consider it when planning you next holiday.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the Cottages, amazing view, space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chundlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Chundlay,

Thank you for sharing such an excellent review on such a forum.

Looks like your title perfectly describes Leopard Beach Resort and Spa, many thanks for that.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and what we have to offer without forgetting our service and hospitality.

Our upcoming villas will indeed add a fine dose to our varied accommodation options, each set within private space, with individual swimming pools, spacious yet cosy, each with a unique and individual theme, they are truly worth ;looking forward to.

Your high recommendation is greatly appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It was our first time in Africa (usually travelling to Far East Asia or Caribbeans, which offer more for the same price and category), but after the first day or two and getting used to the local environment, we had a pleasant stay to which we look back only with positive feelings.

We stayed in the superior room. No major complaints, a/c was working well and mattresses were really good. Room cleaning was up to standards, after a small 'thank you' to our housekeeper, we even got fresh flower decorations on our beds :) What could be better is WiFi connection, which was very poor, pretty much impossible to do even basic emails (in the room, the public one was better).

Staff was very friendly and always greeting and with a smile, with some exceptions especially at the reception area. Those in the restaurants and bars were always very nice, over a few days they remembered us and personalised their serving, which created a very relaxed and homely atmosphere.

Food was amazing for a half board option, at least for our taste. We are not big eaters in terms of quantity, preferring fine cooking and seafood, and we were more than satisfied. The cold salad buffet was always outstanding, and was usually both our starter and main dish. The main course buffet looked substantial but a little bit more average. The wine was always very good, and properly chilled. The only down side of dinners were very mediocre terrace bands with poor performance of outdated western music which reminded me of my childhood. But you can choose a seat where the music is not so loud. The recommendation would be to play more local songs, as I am sure the bands know them better, plus it's Africa after all! You have such lovely beats, why playing bad music?! When it comes to breakfast, again we are not big English breakfast eaters. A wide selection of fresh juices and a large choice of exotic fruit completely did it for us! Plus is also freshly baked bread and scones.

Public areas were ok, well maintained and clean. All the toilets were always clean and provided with paper, big thumbs up for that! The main swimming pool area was average for this level of hotel. Deckchairs were sufficient and the pool was clean. It would be nice to have a bit of music there for more lively and positive atmosphere. It was really great when the water aerobics was on for this reason. (And those who want quite surroundings, they can pack their bags to the no children areas, where it was boring and way too quiet for our taste.) The main down side was that you could only get one beach towel. And for those clumsy with hips / knees problems, the swimming pool has only steep metal stairs and no gradual entry to the pool. The beach area has 2 sections with deckchairs, and beach boys were kept away from there, thumbs up for this!

We also tried the Uzuri Spa. The massage treatments were ok but nothing special, at least not for that price. Generally speaking, all the prices were very high, for my opinion too high for the level. If I pay more for a coffee than back home, then I expect to get it in 5 minutes and not to wait sometimes even more than half an hour! But I guess on holidays and with a smile on everyone's face, you forgive even that :)

When going to Kenya, I would recommend this hotel as a good choice, especially for families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiao_bai_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Xiao_bay_ky,

Thank you for your comments and comprehensive feedback.

We acknowledge your kind mentions on our facilities and service that you felt were up to standard, from the food, our Chui Class service, our water sports programme among others.

We pride ourselves to an extensive wine selection with over 100 different types of Southern Hemispheres wines, all this and more in our new and exclusive Wine Bar; Wine and Whiskers.

We have taken note on your comments on the quality of music played at and shall address it with the relevant parties , On your mention on our swimming pool entry points, please allow me to correct you that our Swimming pool located at the Uzuri Spa has a gradual entry point. This pool is located in a serene environment and incorporating an integrated Jacuzzi. No children are permitted in this area.

We however appreciate your views and thoughts and your recommendation!

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

- Greatly renovated reception area with many original paintings on the walls and decorative wood carvings - New Kalani Coffee Lounge very welcoming and more spacious with great views but WIFI speed connectivity should be improved- The addition of Wines & Whiskers very welcome with an excellent choice of wines unlike other hotels visited on Diani Beach with- virtually no wines leave alone good cigars on offer- The new air-conditioned extension to the Chui Grill welcome news but like the wine bar needs adjusted lights to create more atmosphere and ambience and also a fresh input to its still good but by now dated menu choice- Amazing transformation of the Horizon restaurant, spacious, airy and tastefully done with great high ceilings and lights swinging in the breeze. Welcome addition of the live cooking range and the very well designed and functional buffet displays. But please, still maintain 2-3 per week served table d’hôte meal services for lunch and dinner and look into offering a greater choice for breakfast – Live music very nice but please at a lower volume.-Seafood BBQ on Coco Mchana a very good idea and excellent value for money with Lobster & Prawns galore- Great idea to open up the Mawingu Sky Lounge as sundowner happy hour bar with great views over the Indian Ocean.However, what impressed most again was the welcoming and pleasing staff and a young mostly female management team who all seem to be not only well trained but are also obviously enjoying their work in this well established resort .Attention to details throughout reflect on a professional leadership and guidance which is also obvious in the many different, very stylish traditional uniforms and the many small decorative details which show care and interest not often found these days to such perfection. This also reflected in our room which is decorated in friendly ‘’beachy’’ colours complementing the Cane furniture. Our friends who stayed in a standard room pointed out the need to replace the ‘’old’’ lamps in these rooms and surely the Chui Team will do something about this as well as they add new spots each year.As always a walk thru the tropical gardens to the Uzuri Spa is a sheer delight and so is the very professionally run Spa by Janine and her team – suggestions are to replace some of the treatment beds and to get larger towels. The newly refurbished Leopard Beach Hotel is one to definitely not miss for value and superb quality in the beautiful Diani Coast.

Room Tip: The cottages are located overlooking a breathtaking views of some of best beaches in the world or yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBRandSpa, Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Lynn P,

Thank you for taking time to put down such a comprehensive review.

We are truly overwhelmed by your mentions of our new renovation and refurbishments,
Your acknowledgments are a key indication that our efforts and commitments to meet the needs and expectations of our guests are indeed appreciated.

It is truly remarkable to read of your views and comments on areas that are very small though very critical in making Leopard Beach Resort and Spa what it is to date.Your keen attention to detail and observations highlighting different areas of interest is of great value to us. Your feedback equally important on areas that we need to improve on which we shall take into consideration and address accordingly.

Our Spa team led by Janine will be equally delighted to hear of your great sentiments, a definite moral boost to all concerned.

We all can’t wait for your return visit, always a pleasure to host you.

Kind Regards,
Chui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,371 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £108 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing