We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Green's Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reading, England
1 review
“The Green's Holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My family and i stayed at the leopard beach hotel this summer for two weeks and we were all very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and made sure all our needs were catered for. I recommend going on the dolphin trip while you are there as we had a great day out. We saw many dolphins that swam right up to the boat and whilst my brother went scuba diving the rest of us went snorkelling. At lunch time we got dropped off on an island where a marine biologist and her family live and have done for 13 years, we sampled some lovely foods traditional in kenya and had a great day. I would recommend people of any age to visit leopard beach not only for a great holiday but for a truely unforgettable experience.

  • Liked — the grounds were well kept, place was very clean
  • Disliked — the standard rooms need a bit of a face lift
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneybeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    200
    71
    35
    33
See reviews for
243
250
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We had a cottage which i think is a must at this hotel. The sea view superior rooms are pretty average in my opinion, but the cottages are really nice. The hotel staff were great, super friendly and helpful. The beach is nice although the beach boys can be a little invasive but not too bad. The hotel put on a beach BBQ one night which was excellent...great food and lovely setting, best meal we had in 10 days in Kenya! One thing i really would not bother with is the much hyped trip to Wasini Island. We were promised great food and some of the best snorkelling in the world.....ha!! Its actually 6 hours travelling (on very rough roads and then a ropey old dhow) for some very average snorkelling and a basic lunch (although the crab was nice)...all for a bargain price of $120 per person! Maybe thats your thing but we wish we had stayed by the pool.

  • Liked — the cottage room, the spa, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — the trip to wasini "fantasy" island
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We stayed at the Leopard Beach Hotel after several days on Safari and were extremely impressed. It was much nicer than we expected. It was like a tropical paradise resort. Other than the mediocre rooms (upgrades are available) everything was very nice. The staff extremely helpful and friendly and the food decent. We basically hung out at the pool for 2 days straight. Spent some time on the beach, but the "beach boys" could be a nuisance at times even though they never bothered you once on the hotel property. We went to Dinner at ali barbours cave, which was beautiful. If you do decided to leave the resort make sure to arrange it through the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay--not sure if I'll ever be in that part of the world again, but I'd love to stay there again if I was looking for a beautiful place to soak in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chococliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Our favourite hotel. We have travelled to Leopard Beach 3 times over the past few years and our experiences have ALWAYS been fantastic. No hint of any problems in the area or in Tsavo where we ventured with the game park tours in mid January 2008.

The staff and facilities make this an exceptional hotel for more mature travellers who enjoy peaceful / tranquil breaks.

  • Liked — quiet and spacious
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

Had my 50th at the hotel and both staff and management were amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. The attention to detail and food were first class. Nothing was too much trouble from the housekeeping staff to management. A truly memorable stay and I will be back and thats a promise!

  • Liked — spacious
  • Disliked — some bathrooms need refurbishment
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Africanjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Absolute luxury, step off the world and enjoy a truly relaxing holiday. Completely ignore the negative reviews on this site. We received 5 star treatment from the moment we arrived and the staff in all areas, spa, pool, beach, restaurants & bars could not have been more friendly, helpful or concerned about our comfort and enjoyment. We had a superior room in the gardens which was spotlessly clean, the bed was huge and very comfortable but we decided to really spoil ourselves and upgrade to a cottage with a sea view which was even more luxurious. The food in the main restaurant is a little limited although the beach BBQ and the garden BBQ were both very good. We were on half board basis and opted to eat lunch in the main restaurant and had dinner most nights in the Chui Grill which is fabulous - very large portions though so we could usually only manage a main course. The Spa area and treatments are completely relaxing and I even had a monkey watching me have my toes painted! Yes, you are approached by beach boys if you venture into the sea but we had no problems with them at all - we were happy to chat to them but made it clear we were not buying anything. We were so well looked after that we only made the effort to leave the hotel once to go to the Ali Baba restaurant which is set in a cave - the food is excellent and there is a courtesy bus from the hotel, just ask at Reception. The Forty Theives bar which is linked to the restaurant is in a perfect setting on the beach and well worth a visit (although you do have to follow a waitress down a back road to get to it) and the courtesy bus will collect you from their to take you back to the hotel. One word of warning, to reach Diani Beach you have a ferry crossing and the queue for the ferry can be extremely long - we waited an hour in the heat after a long overnight flight - make sure you get some water before you leave the aircraft! I am envious if you are planning your trip as you have such a treat in store - I cannot praise the Leopard Beach, its staff and facilities more!! Have fun!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lots of steps
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

Leopard Beach is a fantastic hotel set in a stunning location with lush gardens - lots of wildlife in the form of monkeys (velvet and colobus), lizards, etc. Take no notice of the negative comments about this resort - the beds are fine, the food is fantastic and the staff are so personable. It is a fairly small resort and the whole experience is so intimate. We stayed in a standard room which is basic but more than adequate - do you really go to a place like this and stay in your room all the time? In fact the standard rooms are in some way better as they have shaded balconies and the superioir rooms only have exposed patios. 4* in Kenya is not the same thing as 4* in the UK/USA so don't go on the assumption that it is. Drinks are cheaper than the UK and wine is about the same - we spent less than £10 per night on a decent red so what us the problem? Some of the reviews I read before I went put me slightly off this resort but I'm glad I did not change my mind as it is fab fab fab! But make sure you for 2 weeks and do a minimum of 2 night safari or you'll really regret it. Tsavo is fairly close and we saw the 'big 5'!

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank reggieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
4.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
156 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leopard Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Beach Hotel Diani
Leopard Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing