We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastatic place!”
Review of Hotel Diani House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Diani House
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We held our annual family reunion in Diani House in Aug 2011. The house is elegant, comfortable, and superbly located. The staff and the owners were discreet and extremely helpful - in particular the cooks Nico and James are first rate. All 13 of us (3 generations) had a marvelous time, and would love to return!
Makeda (Canada)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Those cottages are cosy , away from the main area, peaceful and really well decorated. We loved the big sofas where you can rest and read watching the sea (and the rain!) - the staff is really good : the guart very sweet and we loved the food the cook brought us. Perfect place for a romantic gateway, to rent out with friends or with family !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Diani House is a real spot in paradise - facing the crystal clear water of the Indian Ocean and immersed in a magic garden with monkeys, squirrels and birds, I spent 5 nights there on my way back from Masai Mara. Hellen and Richard are fantastic hosts, discreet and always present when needed. The cottages are clean and spacious, I stayed in the sea horse cottage and was delighted to discover an amazing sea view not only from the outside veranda but even from my bed! the service and the food are excellent with fresh seafood and great variety. Diani House is far enough from the crowded big resorts and yet very close to supermarket and shops. The atmosphere is absolutely MAGIC - don't miss the opportunity to spend few days in paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Imagine stepping out of your front door, walking down the garden to the warm, turquoise blue waters of the Indian Ocean!
That's exactly what we had when we stayed at Diani House.
It's a guest house, not a hotel and we were very lucky to be the only guests staying there - because of the political unrest earlier in the year - and thus we had the undivided attention of all the staff and were able to take full advantage of all the superb facilities Diani House has to offer.
We stayed in the Family Cottage (Gecko) which is a picturesque building alongside the main house.
Diani House is as close as you can get to being a 'residential zoo' - the garden being filled with monkeys, dik-dik, exotic birds, trees and plants. Many of them quite rare, for example Colubus monkeys who spend the day romping over the roofs and amongst the tall trees.
With 250 feet of private beach stretching out to the reef in the distance my 2 daughters and I felt very happy to be in that beautiful place. Every morning at breakfast we could decide what we wanted to eat that evening - nothing was too much trouble from exotic fish to simple pasta it was all delicious and served with panache.
Out of interest I asked how Baobab fruit tasted - the same afternoon Ali had got some for us to try (having cycled to the market to get it especially for us!) and that is typical of the five-star service we enjoyed.
For my kids the best feature was Doo-Doo, the manager's dog, who they fell in love with and we spent hours on the beach or in the sea swimming, snorkling or body boarding. When you add to that our lucky swim with Dolphins at Wasini Island it was as close as we could get to paradise.
The atmosphere is completely relaxed and it's a truly beautiful place to be. After a busy safari holiday it was superb to simply chill-out and be pampered for 6 nights in the luxury of Diani House and we all felt priveliged to be there and very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemoriesReunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

Spent 3 nights at Diani House near Ukunda last week enroute to the Masai Mara Reserve. We used the time at Diani to relax from the long flight from Seattle and to acclimate our group of 7. Lulu and the entire staff at Diani House made us feel very welcome, very relaxed and safe on this first trip to Kenya. The meals were fabulous, the beach was beautiful, accomodations spacious and very clean.

We had a wonderful time watching the Colobus Monkey's, snorkeling on the beach and relaxing with wonderful massage and reflexology at reasonable prices. What a great way to relax before heading out on safari.

I would highly recommend Diani House to any traveler. Will add photos to this post at a later date.
The Sullivan's

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank In pursuit of travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jimetfafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank SandyN7890HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ngr1, General Manager at Hotel Diani House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diani House

Address: Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range: £11 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diani House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional settlers holiday house set in indigenous coastal gardens with breathtaking beach views, Diani house offers pure relaxed luxury. The epitome of 'shaggy chic'with wonderful food, great service and every need catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Diani House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing