We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diani Bay Resort(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Resort(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveller rating
667
491
156
55
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
491
156
55
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagewater volleyballnyama chomaanimation teamf b managergreat holidayday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach barroom attendantindian food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Myself and my wife and members of our family stayed there in August 2011. In fact we got married there.
I would like to say, thank you, to the Southern Palms staff for making our a really special day.
I have nothing but good things to say about the Southern Palms.
Room was fantastic and very clean. Staff were very friendly. Food was ok, but i have to say i don`t think i have ever stayed in a Hotel were the food is fantastic.Service was a little slow at times, but a bit of planning ahead and throwing in the odd tip soon put that right

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were here in April for 10nights (3 on safari) and it was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. The hotel was great, the staff incredibly helpful and so lovely!

On arrival we were met at reception with coconuts to drink from and cold wet flannels to cool down. We had a large room for two and I used the spare bed to dump my clothes on! The bed was comfortable and big. Air con worked perfectly and the balcony had a lovely view of the hotel's incredible pools! The pools are cleaned regularly, there are classes and activities throughout the day, a childrens section, a swim up bar or 2...something for everyone! There are also many monkeys that accompany you while lounging by the pool but they're harmless and very cute!

The beach is also great, we always managed to get a bed. A lot of seaweed on some days but the water is beautiful otherwise.

I loved the food in the hotel (I normally hate hotel food) but I couldn't wait for breakfast and dinner! All three restaurants served delicious meals- especially red meats.

Apologies for the long review but it was such an amazing trip, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashion2Finance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked at the hotel through Thompson holidays but only then did we see the reviews on here about the hotel and we were a little worried after seeing complaints about smelly towels, pool water condition and food. We shouldn't have worried. This is the third time that we have been to Kenya once in a 3*plus hotel and once in a 5* but Southern palms beats both of them. The pools were great and always cleaned each morning. There was an excellent range of food from the four restaurants and the staff in the main couldn't do enough for us, from the managers down to the porters. If you have never been to Kenya before then don't waste your time anywhere else, a lot of the people there were returning customers and we can see why. If you find your self in a top floor room keep you patio doors locked because the monkeys really are cheeky monkeys and will come in to nick your sweets (left by the room boys) and eat your sugar, coffee powdered milk etc :-)
The beach and street sellers can get a bit wearing but you will get these at every hotel you go to and dont forget that these people are very poor so enjoy the experience of a little haggling. By the way if you are going on safari [ the main reason for going to Kenya ] try Farid at F. King tours and Safaris he will custom build your trip for you.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room near the Boritti bar
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AccringtonTictok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

After doing most of Europe, we decided to venture a bit further and picked this resort in Kenya. This has been one of the best experiences we have had, considering the scares that were in the news. This place is far far away from Somalia and fully protected by high wall and 24/7 manned security - not that it was needed as we found this area very safe. Bedrooms, facility - the cleanest we have experienced. Food reasonable too - choice of vegetarian all days + so many restaurant to choose from. We booked trip to Mombasa with Somak - good. Also went on safari with Somak - Tsavo East - once in a lifetime Africa experience - not to be missed. Staff at hotel, Somak all great. We can say we experienced the best hospitality one could find in people and place. Some folks complained about the Beach boys hassling - true but just ignore them - they are harmless (was informed that the law is that if they touch foreigners - the cops will come down heavy on them). Bought a few touristy items from them - much cheaper and supports the poor. Cannot wait to go again - for a longer trip. Jambo!

Room Tip: All rooms o.k - sea front few and not worth the extra
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGandKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My sister and I needed a break from the hectic city life and decided to return to Southern Palms again this year.
On our previous visit, we had a great time but the food was not too good…….but this year was so so different!!!! The Italian restaurant is lovely and the food is very well presented. The main restaurant had lots of options and the food was sensational and labelled in different languages - cool idea!!! In particular the grill restaurant was amazing! Breakfast was varied with lots of options and plenty to choose from as there was always something on the menu that was edible. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to try the Lebanese restaurant this year.

A very special thanks to Mr. Mahmoud the F&B Manager who was always “hands on” assisting his staff and even cooking and serving guests himself . A big thank you to Esther as well as all the staff who really make this a special place as they are so happy, friendly and will do anything they can to please the guests.
All in all well worth a visit and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leischan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews