We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diani Bay Resort(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Resort(Diani Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveller rating
673
493
156
55
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
493
156
55
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillmain restaurantbeach boyshalf boardall inclusive packagewater volleyballnyama chomaanimation teamf b managergreat holidayday safarievening entertainmentmasai dancerschoice of restaurantsbeach barroom attendantindian food
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I've put May 2013, as it won't let me say the year we went!

We honeymooned here in 1995 and from the pictures it hasn't changed at all, but then it didn't really need to. A late check-in and overnight stay after the flight to Nairobi and an early call to meet our safari bus the next morning, didn't give us a chance to see much of the hotel at first.

Returning from some of Kenya's stunning countryside and National Parks (Ambroseli, Tsavo, the Masai Mara) we were so pleased to have picked this hotel as it allowed us to just relax in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel and enjoy just lazing around after our hectic and fabulous safari. The pools were superb, the food seemingly endless, varied and high quality, and the service couldn't have been better.

We returned to the same room we'd left on our first night and awoke to the sun each morning rising from the becalmed ocean. Perfect!

We met life-long friends (also on honeymoon and the same safari) and can't think of a better way for us all to celebrate our 20th (maybe have to be our 25th?) anniversary than to go back to Diani Beach.

The one downside which spoiled something that the staff all tried so hard to make enjoyable for us, was when you strayed from the poolside to the beach or outside the hotel grounds, where you had to tolerate locals trying to tempt you with and endless "You buy?", but I guess this is something you expect in such areas of the World.

Maybe 2015, but if not then hopefully 2020!

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room with a balcony. Avoid the 'touts' on the beach
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaRob124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear AndreaRob 124,

Greetings to you both. It was wonderful to learn that you still have such
fond memories of your honeymoon at Southern Palms,and your safari in our
wonderful country.

We were all delighted to know that everyone here made such a good impression
and that everything about the hotel pleased you ­ the quality and variety of
the food, the service, the grounds and the pools.

It lifts our spirits to know that you made lifelong friends during your
vacation with us, and we promise you a very special greeting when you return
to celebrate your 20th (or maybe 25th) wedding anniversary here at Southern
Palms.

Thank you and warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We just returned after 10 days holidays in Kenya. We spent our time at this perfect hotel with excellent service and staff. We had ground floor facing pool room which was really the perfect one. We enjoyed our time with the animation team of the hotel. All the people were extremely friendly making you feel special guest. We were fully relaxed. Thank you all for the great time we spent and hope to return Southern palm very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dora A

Hello Dora. Thank you so much for your very kind review.

Everyone here was thrilled to know that you rated Southern Palms, that
service and staff as excellent.

It was good that your vacation left you feeling totally relaxed (that's what
holidays are for) and you were made to feel special ­ because all our guests
ARE special to us and we thank you for noticing that.

We look forward very much to meeting up with you again.

Asante sana

Thank you and kind regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from Southern Palms, our 3rd visit. Things are nobetter for the Kenyans they are` terribly poor and it would be a great help if tourists would emply the local to organise their trips. Or take a boat down the Congo river a great bird watching trip. Take time to get to know a local person they are kind and friendly, just desperate. The hotel was good. Our problem was the ferry, we had to wait 5 and a half hours to get on it. Completely unacceptble after a long flight. The ministry of tourism needs to sort this out quickly. Tourists will not put up with this. It has not happened to us before but a new company has apparently taken over and is rather keen on a bribe.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK as the entertainment does not go on after 11pm so you are not kept awakr
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello Cliff43

Thank you so much for your review and knowledgeable observations about life
in our wonderful country. Indeed, it would be so beneficial to everyone if
more tourists took time to learn more about the way of life here.

We were so happy to learn that you found Southern Palms was still as good as
ever on this, your third visit. Long may you continue to grace us with your
presence.

We sympathise with your problem on the Likoni ferry and your terribly long
wait to make the crossing. As you are aware, these kind of events are
completely beyond our control but we will make representations on your
behalf.

Once again, asante sana for your comments and we look forward to
welcoming you back, hopefully next year.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This was the best holiday ive ever had the food and staff were excellent there were 2 exceptional members of staff said hassan rasso waiter In the entertainment area and Steven shisha from the beach bar. A must try is the Italian restaurant excellent chef the manager elias, waiter's Gideon, musya, rijan, cicily, joyce, salim, they all made you feel special and nothing was to much trouble this was an amazing holiday come back feeling very refreshed thankyou to everyone at southern palms xxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Christine L,

Greetings Christine!!, glad to hear that this was the best holiday ever for you and that you went back home refreshed .
We are happy that you loved the food especially in the Italian restaurant and your days were made memorable by our staff Rasso and Steve among others, your kind words have been passed to them and they are happy that you remembered them, Elias the restaurant manager is also happy to hear from you.
Thank you for choosing Southern Palms for your holiday, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future. Karibu Tena.

Best regards,

Betty.

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

awesome place. did safari with somak holidays and then to southern palms. staff are fantastic, from the gardeners, guards, waiters and right through to the top, brilliant. had one week here and was totally relaxed. great swimming pools, swim up bar and all food outlets. fantastic beach. no trouble with monkeys, milipedes everywhere, some hedgehogs, crabs,etc, a great place. hope to go back again.

Room Tip: we had 143, ground floor with sea view. better view on uppers floors but we located 2 sun beds outside our patio for the week, so easy access in and out while sunbathing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzyWiltshire_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Dizzy,

Greetings to you Dizzy, we are glad to hear from you and more so to know that you had a wonderful and relaxed time with us, the food is always a delight and our biggest achievement, but so is having our ever friendly and brilliant staff and clean beautiful surroundings for every guest to feel warm and accommodated.
We are happy that you loved the little Rafikis, who love to visit and leave many of our guests amazed especially the cheeky monkeys.

We do look forward to your next visit with us in the near future, Karibu Tena.

Warm regards,

Betty.

Guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews