We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two week holiday at southern palms. Food was excellent and so was the service. We also did our 2nd safari, this is our 2nd time in Kenya. We used JT safaris as we did last time. This time we went to the masai mara, the governor's camp. We had a fantastic time, food, staff and camp were amazing. Our driver Robert was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience unforgettable. Back to our hotel for the rest of our holiday we just relaxed in the lovely pool and gardens. We were amused and entertained by the naughty monkeys. The friendliness of all staff and management is what makes this hotel a joy to stay. A special mention for Frank, who was the barman at the beach bar. He always had a smile on his face and a friendly manner. We used to call it Franks bar. Or though wr had no complaints with any of the staff. They are a credit to the hotel. Thanks to everyone who made this a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Room 322 had a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tilly1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post this wonderful review of the Southern Palms Beach Resort.

We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic and relaxing holiday with us,we appreciate your comments on the excellent food and service,and that our wonderfull and friendly staff (especcially Frank -the bar man) made it a holiday to remember.

Thank you for your stay in Southern Palms Beach resort,we will be more than happy to welcome you back iin the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Nice food pool is amazing... had a good holiday. ..activities were fun.. rooms not so nice.. a little bit lack in service but agreed environment is amazing. Water activities were very good and keeps you going the entire day.. The chef makes you what you want and that is good

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shreya03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort for your recent holiday and your wonderful feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic break and that our chefs are there to your request partaining dishes that you like.Weare also glad to note that the animation team kept you on toes with their activities during the day,hoping that you were thouroughly entertained.

Thank you again for your stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort,looking forward to having you back for your next Break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at this lovely hotel. After our awful last long haul experience (see our review on Coconut Court Barbados) we were a bit apprehensive on what to expect. We need not have worried. On arrival at the hotel we were blown away at how beautiful it was and were greeted so warmly by the staff that we immediately felt at home. Our room was just fantastic, so clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony and our super maid Nancy kept it that way for us everyday. The pool area is simply gorgeous, clean, spacious with 2 huge pools. The food at the hotel is wonderful, incredible selection and it's always warm and fresh, you won't go hungry. We were all inclusive and found the drink selection at the bar to be very good. The staff at this hotel are some of the friendliest people we have ever met and they will do everything they can to help you. It is impossible to name them all and I'm sorry to those whose names I failed to get but Mohamed Jumba in the restaurant, Lugwe at the pizza place, Isaac around the pool and the wonderful Lillian who greeted us so warmly every evening at the main restaurant are just some of the stars. We went on a 3 day safari with Wildlife Kenya Safaris which we booked from the UK. This is a fantastic company and we had the most amazing 3 days (I will do a full review on them later). Now you may be wondering why I have only given 4 out of 5 for the holiday? Well I am afraid there are a few negatives. The first and biggest by far are the beach boys. They actually make the beach (in our opinion) a no go area. Firstly they are not boys they are full grown men who just wont leave you alone, they are friendly to begin with but some just wont leave you alone no matter how many times you say no, they even wait for you while you are in the sea then start on you again when you try to walk to your sunbed. The sunbeds are a no go area for them and there is security to keep them away so if you want to lay on the beach it's fine but good luck if you want a peaceful dip in the sea. If you do plan to go in the sea take some beach shoes as there are lots of sea urchins, that is just advice not a negative as this is Africa and it's wild and that's why you go. The second negative is the fact that even though we paid for all inclusive we had to pay for drinks in the fridge in our room. I really do not understand this policy as the drinks in the fridge are the same as you get as part of the all inclusive package behind the bar and this feels a bit like lets milk the guests as they will need cold drinks in the room and this is totally out of step with the rest of the hotels do anything to please the guest policy. Just does not make sense. We also found the fact that your all inclusive entitlements ended at 23:30 a bit naughty. Does your night end that early when your on holiday? Ours does not so we ended up with a bit of a bill to pay at the end which you don't expect with all inclusive. The evening entertainment is not that great. Bingo Guys ? Be very aware that this is a very poor country and we are seen as very rich and lets just say that some people just see holiday makers as cash cows and no matter how much you give it will never be enough. I don't blame them but just be aware. I actually don't enjoy putting down these negatives as this has been a great holiday but I am a great believer in giving an honest review. Would we go back ? Definitely. Would we recommend this hotel ? Definitely. I don't know what can be done about the beach boys but if the hotel sorted the other issues I have pointed out it would be almost perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CiderandBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Southern Palms Beach Resort.

We appreciate your feedback on the great experience you had in our resort,the warm homely welcom from the reception upon your arrival,the clean and comfortable room to our mouth watering dishes are but a few things that made your holiday great.

we are also delighted to know that durring your stay with us you had a fabulous time and our friendly staff played a great part in ensuring that with their great smiles and eficiency in service delivery.

thank you once again for your stay in Southern Palms Beach resort,we are looking foword to welcome you back for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We last visited this hotel a couple of years ago for our honeymoon, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay then so know what to expect this time and we wasn't disappointed. Our greeting on arrival was warm and welcoming with the issue of lovely refreshing cold face towels and a refreshing coconut drink, check in is quick and fuss free which is what's required after a long journey.
Our room was wonderfully clean and the arrival of fresh fruit during the afternoon of our first day was a welcome treat. 2 bottle of water was left every morning, bedding was changed every other day and fresh towels were left daily if you requested it. Our bed was turned down every evening and the mosquito net let down too. The only minor comments we have about our room is if you are using any kind of spray on lotions make sure you stand on a towel as the floors become dangerously slippery, the charge for the use of the safe in the room was costly especially when safari lodges supplied them free of charge, we also felt a little insulted on our last night when we found the fridge in our room was locked and we was not able to use it to keep our water cold, we also couldn't understand why there was a charge for the drinks from the fridge in the rooms if you had already paid all inclusive?!?
We only used the main restaurant at breakfast times, as I have already stated this is our second visit to the hotel and we found the evening meals a little poor then so we didn't use it this time. Breakfast meal catered for everyone from fruit to salad to bacon and egg and meatballs! We enjoyed lunch at the Boriti snack bar which had a good variety to choose from on the menu. Our evening meals were at either the Manyatta grill or the La Via Romana (Italian). The grill was a 4 course meal starting with salad, soup, grilled meats accompanied by seasonal veg and rice followed by a sweet. The staff at the grill were all very friendly and helpful, but Dinnah Kilonzo shone out above the rest going that extra mile to make our evening meal an enjoyable experience. The La Via Romana could also be a 4 course meal if you wanted it with salad, soup, main course and a sweet, but there was also a choice of pizzas and pasta dishes too, all served up very decorative. The staff here were also very helpful with Defrence begin the number one waitress. There is also a fish restaurant this is not part of the all inclusive, we enjoyed a beautiful 4 course fish a shell fish meal with lobster being our choice for the main dish all for around £23 per head.
Out of the 4 bars about the complex, the pool bar and the main bar was our favourits, Edward Wasikie was the barman at the main bar, his smile and friendly happy nature was a delight, he made the best cocktails all served up with his infectious smile. The nibbled on the main bar in the evening was a nice touch too. The waiters/ waitresses taking drinks orders during the day by the pool and in the evening while the entertainment was on were brilliant too.
The animation team, although many new trainees since our last visit are still the best and great fun. We joined in on most morning aqua aerobics and all but a few games of water volley ball, Sam, Charlie, Bobo, Peter, Valentine and Champange (some members of the animation team) were fantastic.
The pool itself was cleaned daily, but beware the water does turn white items of clothing a yellowish green colour.
The evening entertainment was very poor and a little dated, most acts we had watched 2 years ago! with the exception off the Masi warriors dancers, they are fantastic to watch and we are left amazed at how high they jump and the band which came on Saturday 8th March, they sang a good variety of songs from 8pm straight through to 11pm.
The pool side attendants were very helpful, Jimmy being the best.
The beach is gorgeous, but like other comments the sellers on the beach were a pain in the butt making a simple walk along the beach a bit problematic. I strongly suggest beach shoes for a start the sand gets so hot you can barely walk on it, but also when the tide is out the sea bed becomes a minefield of sea urchins, my husband managed to get 2 in his foot but after speaking to Hussein Omar he found a pool attendant (Stephen we think that was his name) who removed the spines quickly and painfree, he then administered first aid treatment.
As already mentioned Hussein Omar was extremely helpful, always smiling, dancing and encouraging us to have wonderful time stating if we had any problems we was to speak with him as we was on holiday therefore we were to enjoy a stress free break. The last few days Hussein wasn't about, when we enquired after him we was told his contract had been terminated, if this information is correct then we feel the hotel has lost a valued member of staff, Hussein had a good, friendly, approachable nature about him which we feel is essential for a customer facing role providing a stress free holiday to its paying guests.
Our overall view of the hotel is fabulous, we highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Kenya. The transfer from airport to hotel is roughly 90 minutes depending on the small ferry crossing (Mombasa is a island) but once at the hotel you then enter paradise.

Room Tip: Most of the room overlooked the beautifully manicured gardens with a view of the sea between the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from a week at this fantastic resort. firstly i must compliment the staff, who did everything to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. As a single traveller i was a little concerned of feeling a little lonely on a weeks stay. I need not have worried. I must pay compliments to Patrick my room attendant, zubeda from the animation team, Jimmy at the Pool, Jarrad at security and Athuman in Food and Beverage. However all staff were fantastic friendly and helpful at all times. The Hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained, the food totally superb, from breakfast through to Dinner. I must recommend the Grill in the evening with the hedgehogs wandering about at your feet, its a total experience. The Pools are well maintained and a pleasure to spent time at. The beach is beautiful, and worth taking the time to walk along. As most people will comment the Beach boys are a pain , and whilst I understand they need to try and earn a living, the hotel could perhaps to do a little more to prevent guests feeling harassed when trying to get to the water! Albeit, they wont put me off returning. I took a 2 day safari to Tsavo east and Saltlick with WT safaris, this was booked via a UK agent Anne sanderson at Kenyantravel.co.uk who was a great help in providing information and recommendations Si our driver was fantastic, and did his absolute best in finding all animals. Truely a great experience.

Room Tip: 369 high floor, corner with bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just back from our first holiday in Kenya.My son and his wife had visited this hotel before. As this was our first trip we were a little unsure. We need not had any worries.From the moment we arrived it was luxuary. The rooms, food, pool were all excellent. ALL staff were amazing polite profeinal and allways with a smile. Charlie, Sam and Peter made joining in the poole activities a pleasure. Diani a waitres in the grill and snack bar allways went the extra mile to provide a great eating experience. Eddie barman in the main bar allways had a wide sunney smile. We looked for Hussein Omar the last three days of our holiday. The staff told us his contract had been turminated. As a family we do hope not,as he was a greeter he is a great advert for this hotel. He was allways very polite and enthusiatric the perfect person for front of house. We will recomend this hotel and the safari package. Hope to return and we know our son and wife certanly will.

Room Tip: We had groundfloor rooms, close to the evening entertainment area. This was no problem as music ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just came back after spending a week holiday at this super hotel! We were a family of 5 and we liked everything in this hotel! There was no single negative comment to say about this hotel! The food in all the restaurants was excellent from the breakfast to dinner! Very well presented and a lot of choice for everyone!
The beach is nice but watch out the beach boys who might piss you off! But if you don't mind you can chat to some of them who are friendly! On our second day, we took a taxi from the hotel to the shopping centre where we booked our 2 days safari to Salt lick with Jt safaris and the driver was wonderful! On our last day he took us to Tanga in Tanzania and we had a fantastic tour! Now the staffs! Everyone was fantastic, friendly and very helpful always smiling! Here are a few, Ali, Steven, Esther, Mr. President, Hamisi, Uncle Sam and special thanks to Hussein who was a bundle of joy, always smiling, singing and dancing! We miss you so much and we will definately come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vi0letta111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,048 reviews
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing