We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
KenyaSafari
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort”
Reviewed 7 September 2008

This was our first visit to Mombasa and we were bit comprehensive about having to cross river via a ferry to reach the resorts in Diani. But when we got to Southern Palm Hotel, we were lost for words. What a fabulous hotel with huge swimming pool, Gym, squash and tennis courts. The beach is fabulous with white sand, the pool and garden surrounding the hotel are just fantastic. As for the staff, they are all so friendly and especially the kitchen chefs. Once they found that we were vegetarian, they went out of their way to prepare different dishes and supplied hot spicy Nan bread on our table with drinks every night. The morning breakfast selection is also superb. The hotel, its staff & its surroundings make for a very enjoyable & relaxing break, & you'll leave there totally chilled & relaxed.

Outside the resort it's quite safe to walk all the way up to the banks and Ukunda market. We booked a safari with Julius of Jt Safaris who has his office a few miles away opposite Neptune hotel, We read his website before we left the UK & noted down his mobile number, & when we got to the hotel I gave him a ring & he came to meet us across the road in restaurant bar. He brought a Laptop to show us all different resorts and gave us guidance on our trip. He was so certain of our selection that he only charged 50% with remaining 50% to be paid if were fully satisfied. Julius is a small man who is extremely kind and very honest. We booked (5) Days to go to Tsavo East, Amboseli and Masai Mara for 2 nights. We stayed one night at Ash Nil Camp in Tsavo East (5 star), one night at Sentrim Camp in Amboseli (4 Star) facing Mt Kilimanjaro and 2 nights at Kichwa Tembo camp in Masai Mara (4 Star) with exceptionally beautiful view of mara games. Accommodation in all three locations was great with extra attention was paid to our vegetarian diets. Booking with Julius enabled us to have an experience of a lifetime, but it was a great feeling to be able to leave Kenya having made a new friend in Julius who is genuinely a compassionate, honest and unique man.

  • Liked — Hotel Staff and Vegeterian Food selection
  • Disliked — Room Decor
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JTSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    461
    145
    50
    35
See reviews for
385
571
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I felt as thought I must write an up to date review on this hotel as most of the other reviews were from people who stayed there last year. We have just come back from staying at Southern Palms yet again & would definitely recommend staying there. We booked on line with Thomson & flew First Choice, both experiences good with no problems. The rep was there to meet us at the airport, & he did actually come on our bus to the hotel with us. There are so many hotels in Mombasa that he can obviously only go to one hotel. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with smiles & a friendly service. We arrived earlier on in the morning before rooms were officially ready, but the hotel staff went out of their way to make sure we didnt have to wait long at all and we managed to get in to our rooms before 10am. All the staff are very helpful & friendly & go out of their way to make sure your holiday is a good one. The pool is magnificent as is kept very clean all the time. The food in the main dining room in the evening is ok , (particularly if you're fond of curry,!)but if not, you can always book to go to the manyatta grill which is lovely, or the Italian. There is also a Lebanese restaurant but that is extra. Unfortunately, due mainly to the post election problems last year, Kenya seems to have suffered with lack of tourism which is such a shame. When we stayed here, the guest count was quite low compared to previous years. There is no need to be wary, it's quite safe in Kenya now & no problems in Mombasa at all, so DO go & stay in this wonderful country, you wont be disappointed. While we were there we booked a safari with Julius of Jt Safaris who has his office a few miles away opposite Neptune hotel, & it was absolutely brilliant. I read his website before we left the UK & noted down his mobile number, & when we got to the hotel I gave him a ring & he sent one of his taxis (free)to pick us up & take him to his office & we booked to go to Tsavo for 3days. It was excellent; had a mini bus all to ourselves,& at a very reasonable price; cheaper than the big companies with a minibus full of other people! Well worth doing a safari with & we highly recommend him. Please do go & support this country & its people, they are so friendly & are trying hard to make a decent living & go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their country. The hotel, its staff & its surroundings make for a very enjoyable & relaxing break, & you'll leave there totally chilled & relaxed. Do visit.

  • Liked — good pool, immaculately clean hotel, lovely beach, excellent service, friendly staff
  • Disliked — evening meals could be a bit more varied
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hookedonkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

my boyfriend and i stayed at southern palms this time last year, and when booking we did read some dodgy reviews so were worried that our the holiday we had saved so hard for would be a disaster.

this was simply not the case, if you are planning to go on holiday here take the less positive reviews with a huge pinch of salt.. i think people forget they are visiting Africa... yes the journey from the airport is a bit of an eye opener, but shouldnt you expect that from a 3rd world country! we had a good transfer, the heat and the traffic was annoying, but theres nothing anyone can do about it!!

in terms of safari, we booked ours with our rep. i wouldnt recommend booking any excursions with anyone other than the company you are travelling with, yes, you may save a bit, but if you are concerned about anything dodgy then you should book through the safety of a rep. we went to the masai, and stayed at the david livingstone lodge...i cannot reccomend this enough! it was absolutely amazing!! we spoke to people that went to tsavo, and they said it was brilliant, but they wished they had paid the little extra for the masai. so if u can..i definitely recommend doing so!

the food at the hotel is quite rich, alot of potatoes and stew/ soup like things, which after eating day in day out can have an effect on the belly! but we thoroughly enjoyed it, the breakfasts were varied and always lots of choice. the staff were friendly and helpful too!
we had a beach night meal, entertainment was quite quirky...especailly the DJ, but again a memorable night..must try the camel rides!

the room was fine, nice bed and always made up again for us, the towels were damp but we put this down to the humidity of the room. the balcony had fantastic views over the pool.

pool area was fantastic. we spent most of our days just relaxing on the loungers.. the pool staff are always cleaning, and getting people towels.

i had a truely memorable holiday..for all the right reasons! i would love to go back again soon, so ill have to start saving!

  • Liked — amazing setting and fantastic pool area
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank graceyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

What can I say, we were so looking forward to an exotic holiday, worked & saved hard but sorry to say this is far from what we experienced

- The drive to the hotel was an certainly different, not a good impression by Thompson's as no one was there to meet us, we were just directed to this Kenyan bus/ jeep/ old white van, which we had to wait in the soaring heat for over half hr before we set off.

- First impressions of the hotel were good, reception area friendly, nice & clean. That as it turned out was the best part of the hotel.

-The BAD POINT......PLEASE WATCH OUT - Potential Black Mail Scam
We had a major problem with a company outside of the hotel - Kenya Adventures (also known as many other names so be careful) we decided, after been told by our rep, it was safe to walk to the local shopping centre. We were approached by locals trying to sell us a safari. After been more or less forced into going to their office via bus we looked at what they had to offer and agreed we would be interested. We left a deposit and signed our names.
The next day we decided to cancel, we'd had time to think about it, decided against it so I called the office from the reception phone and advised them I wished to cancel (note this was recorded by the reception). well within our 48 hr contractual grounds. We actually went on safari with one of the beach boys who we got to know really well - Ferdinand. Nice bloke.
The problems started when we came back from safari which was absolutely fantastic.
This company knew we had been with someone else on safari, when and where we went. We were visited by the tourist police that evening who told us this company were threating to lock my partner up if we did not pay the full fee of the safari we originally booked but had yet cancelled!!!!
Our Rep brought the owner into our hotel where heated discussions took place which ended with the Thompson’s rep doing nothing to help, support or resolve the problem he actually left us alone with the owner of whereby we were threatened and forced to pay 400 dollars or face been arrested at the end of the holiday - as confirmed this could actually happen by our REP frightened we paid the requested amount.
We were later told that this should not have happened with our Rep present nor in the hotel and was possibly part of a scam.
So take heed and make sure - If you are looking for a bargain Safari and venture outside (which is far cheaper then Thompson) do NOT leave your LAST NAME OR ROOM NUMBER. The hotel will only have your surname hence if you have any problems they will not know who/ where to contact. If you leave a deposit leave a small one, just in case you change your mind.

- Room was ok, the fly/ mossy screen was ripped, we had to ask for a mossy net, which they brought but had big holes in. The door to the balcony was not very secure as we encountered the local monkeys trying to enter into our room on numerous occasions.
I know there was a serious fire before we went and we were a bit weary before hand but we did read good and bad reviews. What’s worrying is to see such bad electrics even after such a bad fire. We had three connections wired into one socket - these been, telly, hair dryer and kettle. Some friends that we met woke up to a melting plug socket!!!! Surely the first fire should have giving the owners a kick up the [--] to increase safety!
Towel/ bedding were most and smelly and the bed as grand as it was had broken glass in the fore poster section. Very, very noisy, banging of doors, we were woken up around 7.00am each morning, by the cleaners.

- The pool was lovely, very big well looked after, which seemed to be the only maintained part of the complex. It was so disappointing to have such poor facilities with such an amazing pool and beach. The only reason this hotel is anyway near anything like a four star rating is purely down to the pool & grounds.
- Food, where can I begin, breakfast was ok, the staff were lovely and it was nice to sit near the birds however, minimal or no re fridgeration on both breakfast and evening meal. We went half board and I'm so glad we did. The food was very poor. It seemed the chefs were not really that bothered about what they gave you or how it was presented. My partner is a chef and after 2 - 3 nights we decided to eat out on an evening due to the lack of hygiene and lack of taste/ freshness. During the day I stuck to Pizza, not good for your waist line but the only thing we felt safe to eat after having a few days of dodgy belly.

- DO GO TO Diana Reef Spa which is only 5 mins down the road You can book into the hotel for a meal, we had Japanese meal cooked in front of us, it was soooo good. The hotel is amazing and when we originally booked Southern Problems we could have paid an extra 100.00 to go to Diana Reef Spa, if you can afford it - GO, this is where you will find 4 star plus accommodation, a world away from Southern Problems!!!!

  • Liked — The Pool, beach and weather
  • Disliked — Food, Rep, poor facilities - general standard of a 2 star
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancer202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

The Southern Palms Beach Resort was not the hotel that we had originally booked, but as tourism in Kenya at the moment is still very slow several hotels have closed for a while (one of them being our original choice) and we were transferred to the Southern Palms.
On arrival in the hotel we were greeted in the fantastic reception area with ice cold drinks and ice cold flannels to cool down with. From that moment we were told that this would become our second home and that we were now on holiday and should do nothing for ourselves. Check-in was very quick and painless and then we were show to our rooms.
The rooms were clean and cool with very effective air conditioning and they looked out over the enormous swimming pool. All rooms have huge sliding doors at the front that can be left open as long as you remember to secure your mosquit0 screens across them (these also lock) Each room has a queen size hand carved African four poster bed and a hand carved day bed/sofa. Our bathroom had a shower and a bath. There are no mosquito nets in the rooms and when we asked for them we were told that if we keep the fly screen closed we would not need them, they were right! There is also a TV/DVD player in the room and DVD's are available free of charge from the business centre.
We hired the safe in our room which was very reasonable (about £10 for the week)

From the swimming pool you can see the deep blue Indian Ocean and the waves crashing on the coral reef. The grounds are fantastic and full of palm trees, hibiscus and frangipani, they are very well kempt. You can often see colourful butterflies, dragon flies and lizards in the grounds and we even saw a troop of Sykes monkeys in the grounds.

The restaurant is in an open sided, thatch roofed extension to the main building with a pond full of reeds with nesting weaver birds in them on one side and the swimming pool on the other. The food is good and there is a wide choice of foods available. We also ate in the roof top Italian restaurant and the Boroti snack bar, in addition to this there is also a Lebanese restaurant (that we did not try) and a Grill restaurant. There are three bars, the main one in reception, one beside the pool and one swim-up bar in the pool. You have to sign for every drink that you have, but we found that instead of making you do it every time the barman tends to bring you a handful of them to sign every now and then, which we found much better. There is a selection of cocktails available on the all-inclusive package as well as Tusker and a selection of Safari brand spirits, minerals and soda’s such as Coke, Sprite and Fanta.
There is 24hr security around the resort and the guards do a grand job going out of their way to make us welcome, even helping my son to feed the bush babies at night.

The beach is fantastic but the moment you put your foot on it your are called to and approached by the beach boys, other people in this forum say If you are firm with them and tell them No they will go away! We are obviously not firm enough as we couldn’t get rid of them even after we had bought things from them. Please beware they do try and over charge you for everything. However they are not on the beach first thing in the morning and they have gone by half five so you are able to walk along the beach them without being pestered.

THINGS TO DO
We did a two day one night safari to Tsavo East with Glorious Safaris whose service was exceptional. We also went on the Pilli Pipa Snorkelling Trip (booked with Rhino Safaris) which was awesome and the food that was provided was outstanding. In addition we booked an afternoon trip to the Colobus Monkey trust and had a guided eco-tour. And on the beach just outside the hotel we also went for a camel ride. All these things are well worth doing.

SUMMARY
All in all the service is outstanding, everybody tries hard to learn you names and say “Jambo” every time they pass you, it truly was a lovely place to stay and we will definitely be returning as soon as we can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nikzeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Engalnd
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2008

We stayed here in Oct 2007 and had our wedding there also.
They made us feel extremly welcome from start to finish.
We had the best time!!!!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - It was all Fab!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank craig_rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

The Southern Palms Beach Resort is exactly as it says on the tin! A beautiful beach resort - seriously the beach is breath takingly gorgeous - and the pool and garden surrounding the hotel are just fantastic.

The pool is fab, it was always like a bath, so warm but beware - don't go in the jacuzzi at the far end of the pool (under the orange canopy), the chlorine turned mine and my friends white bikinis a urine yellow colour! Not nice!

The staff cannot make you feel more welcome. Everywhere you go its "Jambo" this and "Jambo!" that, they are so friendly, however, if you disagree with the service somewhere (as a few did in our party), the management are less than helpful - they don't seem to like complainers! We had a run in with the manager as they tried to make us pay for breakfast on our first day of arrival - the receptionist told us we could go through and eat, not least because when we arrived NONE of our rooms were ready. Everyone that had arived on the coach (at approx 11am that morning) were unable to get into their rooms and so being hot and bothered, not to mention knackered, you just want to get to your room, strip off and get in the pool (or at least we did!). You couldn't do that, the rooms weren't ready and so everyone went to eat. They then said that despite the fact that we were leaving at 3am for the return flight home, and therefore couldn't have breakfast on leaving, we still had to pay for breakfast on arrival day. Not on. And we told them so. Then they took to trying to fire the poor guy on recetion for telling us to go through! They do not treat their staff very well, particularly as we think the poor guy was made to pay for the breakfasts out of his own pocket. They earn approx £1 a day so it'll take him a year! Really harsh. Also there were no sheets on our bed when we got to our room. We had to call down 4 times (over a 5 hour period) for them to come and make the beds! Same applied when our safety deposit box wouldn't work.

The food was not good. The meats were sometimes indistinguishable from each other and there wasn't a lot of choice. Breakfast was the best meal as being a cheese fiend myself, it was the only time they served it! No cheese after dinner! Weird.

Overall the holiday was great. We loved the pool, gardens, beach (beach boys were a little annoying though) and weather. We didn't love the food, the rooms (smelly sheets!) and having to sign for every drink you have (HIGHLY irritating, after one day, trust me, particularly when you're waiting 15 mins at the bar after receiving your drinks, just to sign the bloody thing! the staff have no urgency about them, bless them, they know one speed and thats slow!).

But they are so friendly! You kind of forgive their lethargy as they're so damn nice!

Overall - cracking holiday!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — Not great on cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
988 reviews
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,501 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing