We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“value for money”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

we were a group of 25 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The food,service,rooms,restaurants,ambience etc - all excellent.They really pampered us.It is indeed value for money.Would like to say thanks to Mr.Mahmud,Mr.Kamal the chef and Mr.Julius the waiter-infact all the waiters for their hospitality.May god bless you all and definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulrahim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    455
    140
    50
    35
See reviews for
378
566
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were in Kenya on a 9-days safari and came to the Southern Palm Beach for a few relaxing days on the beach. Diani Beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, however the paradise is spoiled by very pushy locals that don´t understand the word "no" and didn´t leave us alone even for a few minutes.
The hotel itself has very nice pools and quite a decent restaurant. The rooms unfortunately are crying for renovation! There was almost no water coming from the showers, it was blocked with dirt and scale. They have put a few air fresheners in the rooms and wardrobes which gave a disgusting chemical smell. The bedding was also smelling badly. But the worse happened when we came back from dinner and saw a huge 20 cm long centipede climbing on the wall right above our kids bed, even-though we kept all the windows closed. We couldn´t sleep the whole night and decided to leave the next morning. The hotel staff was so nice, friendly and welcoming that we almost felt sorry that we have to leave, however they didn´t deduct even the dinners costs... We have found a very nice place just a few kilometers away. I only recommend the hotel if you don´t mind huge insects, a bit rundown rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our staying at the hotel in June 14.
Amazing beach, relaxing pool, quality food, good rooms and perfect atmosphere . Would like to thank you all staff and especially animators !
Hope to come back ..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danblago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Danblago,

Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review of Southern Palms Beach Resort!

It's always a pleasure to hear from guests that enjoyed their stay, even better to hear that they plan to return! Our team was delighted to hear they made your days’ worth the fond memories of Southern Palms. We’re looking forward already to welcoming you back!

Thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went to Kenya in May for our honeymoon (sorry for late review only just got round to it) and it was amazing!! We booked online with e-shores and they booked our safari with Somak. We spent 10 nights in Kenya. 3 nights at the hotel, 4 nights safari then back to the hotel for another 3 nights. The hotel was amazing. The food was delicious with lots of choice and flavour. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Rooms were clean and bed comfy. The staff were amazing. They could not do any more for you. So polite and friendly, all really chatty and they made you feel welcome. There was security all round the hotel that made you feel safe. The beach was lovely with white sand. Beach sellers were not as bad as i thought and they did not come up to you on the sunbed only if you went down to the water and even then this was controlled by the hotel security staff. The weather in May (wet season) It rained then the sun came out. It mainly rained in the morning and then sunshine for a good few hours. The locals like to haggle in the souvenir shops/markets generally you end up paying half of what they wanted you to pay. Entertainment at night was a bit hit and miss but you have to love the staff for trying :-) The pool was really large and clean. On arrival at the hotel they welcomed you with coconut drink and a cool towel. What more can i say....Kenya was fabulous. I have also written a separate review on the safari we stayed at the Satao Camp Tsavo East which was brilliant!!

Room Tip: Night time entertainment finished at 11pm so all rooms good. However we stayed on the high floor. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MaddyCraig,

Thank you for your kind review on your fabulous holiday at Southern Palms Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay with us and appreciate your remarks on the wonderful welcome from the reception, Food and Beverage team on the delicious food with great selection and flavor. The lovely beach, nice clean rooms and not forgetting the always friendly staff which we believe all totaled up to a memorable honeymoon for you.

We will pass your comments also to our security team who ensured you felt safe throughout your entire stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Palms in the near future.

Thank you once again and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Southern palm beach is really beautiful place to be in. The white sandy beach and the clear blue sky, it id breathtaking and beautiful scenery as well. The staff there are very friendly and very cooperative with the guests. Are always ready to help when asked for assistance by the guest.

The rooms are well maintained and clean and the conducive place to relax and unwind when you are tried and want to relax without any distractions. The pools are hug and well maintained as well.

Room Tip: Travelers who wish to travel to the hotel, they should request a room which over looks the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwangi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Jambo Mwangi!,

Thank you for taking time to post your wonderful review of Southern Palms Beach Resort!!

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful holiday in our beautiful hotel with “peace and tranquil" We agree our pools are huge, indeed we are famous for having the largest in East Africa and are proud of our friendly staff at your service whom you highly recommend.

We gladly look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our first time in Africa and what a warm welcome my family received from this hotel from animation team to waiters to room maids , lovely selection of food every night something for everyone,entertainment at night was a bit hit or miss African dancing etc, but will defo return thank you

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room interconnecting and had monkeys o. Our balcony in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamb01998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Southern Palms Beach Resort and your promise to return back!!

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and honoured that you chose to stay with us this being your first trip to Africa. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding Food & Beverage on lovely selection of food daily, animation and housekeeping team. The team will be delighted to hear that they had such a positive impact on your vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Palms in the near future.

Thank you once again and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were there for ten days in February. What a nice holiday! The service was very good. The accommodation also. The food and entertainment in restaurant were excellent. A variety of animation programs and games. We met the staff who introduced us and told about their works. It was so pleasant on that party. Up to me, the only one disadvantage of the hotel is the fact that there aren't enough places on the beach for everyone guest. Except that all was good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaEmilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Irena,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Southern Palms Beach Resort.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post your remarks.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
955 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,453 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing