We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I spent here 10 nights and it was great holiday. Staffs were so friendly and helpful.
And the beach is the best what I´ve ever seen - whit sand, nice sea and beautiful palms

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    458
    144
    50
    35
See reviews for
383
570
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

THe Southern Palms is an ideal introduction to Kenya. Its a four start, but not in European style. The staff are friendly, the pools are massive and great for swimmers, the entertainment both around the pool during the day with areobics and beach walks and dancing and swahili lessons were the best you could get. The gym was excellent, better than some hotels I've been to in the UK. The beach outside is lovley white sand and there is lots of walking on bare sands. The hawkers tend to back off after a while. But the housekeeping standad is varied, the cleaning is superb but if you have a problem - eg our phone and kettle broke, thn dont expect it to be fixed with just one visit to reception! It appears the staff are good but the management co-ordination is not joined up. Still, this is Kenya and anyone who doesnt feel charmed by the staff and the location doesnt really get it. I would recommend this hotel for everyone. Go and support the kenyan economy and the friendly people here by visiting the Southern Palms!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Hotel grounds were very well maintained. Our room was very well appointed and kept very clean. One of the light bulbs stopped working and was replaced the same day which surprised me! Plenty of chair beds, but unfortunately a number of them did have "towels" put on to reserve. We then had to play the same game, which we abhor. The only fault I have with the hotel, was the food in the main restaurant, we thought it was DIRE. There was plenty of it, but poorly cooked. I don't eat meat and was really looking forward to the fish, but after 2 meals of it, I stuck to salads and pasta and fruit,as it was disgusting. Couldn't fault the staff, thought they were all excellent. Would I recommend this hotel YES if the food was better! Entertainment was the best they could offer every evening, and all music stopped at 11.00 p.m. and it was lovely and quiet and restful and no problem sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My room was terrific. Clean and well air conditioned.
The beach was lovely and safe. Although some people objected to the beach venders I found them very friendly and as I wanted to know more about their way of life rather than sun bath, I had a really amazing time and learnt a lot about the lovely people of Mombasa. I was never troubled by them as a friendly smile and a firm 'no thank you' sufficed to them leaving you alone.
The resort was a comfortable size and you were not far from any facility. It catered for all on an international theme and the only thing that disappointed me was there was no traditional Kenyan food served in the main restrurant. However, this was soon solved by eating every night in the Manyetta rest. which served beautiful meat and fish dishes combined served direct to your table from the charcoal grill on swords and giant skewers. The waiters here were brilliant and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
I was a lone traveler and these lovely people made my stay truely fantastic and I will be going back in 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leya12002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Hotel was quite good, the food from the buffets mostly not on the right temperature. Nice environment, but disturbed by the on-going techno beats starting at 10 am until 00 pm (!)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guyrope
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Hotel very large, staff courteous and helpful, two very large pools attractively sculptured with plenty of space for the many sunloungers available. A good sized area of beach shelters and loungers where the local 'hawkers' are kept at bay by the hotel staff, (however you are lucky if you can enter the sea, and get back again without being 'badgered' to buy or 'promise to buy' something).

There are three bar areas including one 'swim-up bar' but the staff are always nearby to bring drinks or snacks to your lounger. The gym is adequately equipped and daily activities by the 'motivation team' allowed you to join in aerobics, volleyball (both land or aqua) dancing etc.

The bedrooms are a little tired and dated but perfectly acceptable. Because of recurring problems with the A/C we were upgraded to a sea view room for the last 4 nights, this was slightly larger, had the addition of a bath and very nice view from balcony.

The main restaurant provides two large but comfortable dining areas (either inside or out) with a wide variety of food, varied slightly from day to day. We were half board and found that the huge selection for breakfast could comfortably see you through the day without the need for lunch.

There are three other optional restaurants (suggest you book these in advance at intervals throughout your stay) all of which make the dining experience far more intimate and personal. The Grill (by the pool) where they served various nicely BBQ'd food, the Italian (on the roof above the pizzeria) or the Lebanese (which was smaller but at a £22.00/head supplement) where there was a choice of three Mezze menus and a 'local' belly dancer entertains you.

Each week they offer a 'Beach Restaurant' meal where they decorate the beach shelters nicely and serve a 5 course meal with a whole lobster as main course. This is a great experience but comes at an additional cost of £30.00/head (3500Ksh). You are however, granted a 'lunch in-lieu' if you book this or the Lebanese restaurant.

As we were HB we obviously paid extra for drinks and lunch (just twice), this can mount up considerably, especially if you like a bottle of wine with your evening meal (as we do), there is a fair Sauvignon Blanc which was 1600Ksh (£14.00). The total for ours extras mounted up to £500.00 (despite being away from the hotel on safari for three nights) but £100.00 of this was for the Lebanese restaurant and a beach meal upgrade.

We had one evening excursion after recommendation by a regular German guest, Ali Barbours is high class restaurant about a 10min taxi ride away, if you book through reception they send their car to collect you and return you later. This was a fabulous experience, you dine in an underground cave open to the sky above, the ambience is superb with live piano music, excellent service and wonderful food. Well worth the £120.00 bill (inc. 2 bottles of wine).

The earlier mentioned problem with the A/C was annoying as it took several abortive attempts by 'engineering' to fix it, one late night room swap (before early start for day trip next day) and finally having to pack and move rooms. The General Manager was away and the 'Duty Manager' seemed powerless to make decisions, so we had to wait till the GM returned to negotiate a deal. He first offered his std. 'Lobster meal' as gesture, after a bit of haggling we eventually got the Lebanese meal and a bottle of wine knocked off the bill which we felt was reasonable.

We enjoyed the holiday very much, overall we were happy with Southern Palms but would not have wanted to pay much more than the £629.00/head late deal we got. As you are discouraged from venturing out alone much, we really needed the Safari and Dowe trips to prevent us from going a bit 'stir crazy'.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We visited Southern Palms half board in April/May this year and had a wonderful time. Our room faced the pool and had a very comfortable large four poster bed as well as a sofa. The room (and the whole hotel) was always kept very clean by the staff and they were very helpful in coming back later if was inconvenient.
Pools were lovely although we didn't really venture to the ones nearer reception as they tended to be full of children especially over the first May weekend when it was a Kenyan bank holiday. The beach was also nice, although the beach boys were a bit of a pain but they were happy to leave you alone if you politely asked them to. Although with Kenya being a developing country it is something you have to expect so I don't believe people should complain. If you do decide to buy some souvenirs from them though make sure to haggle and/or give them socks/pens as they are in real need of these things. Souvenirs in Mombasa are all the same anyway (wooden carving anyone?!) so it's not a bad idea.
I ran the length of the beach several times and it was very safe, there are security everywhere from the different hotels who will look out for you. We also used the hotel gym and tennis courts a several times (think we were pretty much the only ones!!) and they were fine, enough equipment to have a decent workout.
We found the food very good and varied, although there were some things that were always the same (the indian and salad buffet) there were different themed nights every night and one night the whole buffet was taken outside into the gardens beside the pool- quite romantic!
Tried all the other restaurants (BBQ, Italian and Lebanese) and all were great especially the Lebanese because we got the whole restaurant and brilliant waiter (Samuel) to ourselves.
I recommend checking out the internet shop as they have loads of DVDs you can borrow including loads we had never heard of; the internet is a good speed and ok priced also if you need to use it.
We weren't too enamoured with the entertainment but they just give you what they think tourists want to see, i.e. different types of tribal dancers who i think they have on rotation. We usually didn't stay for it but didn't find the noise a problem even though we were directly across from it. If you close your balcony doors you can't hear a thing! Also unless you want monkeys in your room it's a good idea to do this anyway.
We left the hotel at 4am for our flight back and the hotel kindly put on some breakfast for us, just toast, cereal, juice and hot drinks but at that time in the morning it was very unexpected.
We didn't have any problems whatsoever with the staff or facilities here and all in all had a brilliant trip, it's a bit further out than most hotels but totally worth it i think.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
977 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing