We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Palms Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

We have just returned from the resort after two weeks half board holiday booked through Thomas Cook. The staff are brilliant and most helpful. The accommodation is good but could do with some refreshing. The swimming pool is excellent and so is the food in the main and the Italian restaurants. The Manyata Grill is supposed to serve authentic Masai grilled food, regretfully this is not so as it is tailored for the western tourist tastes. The Lebanese restaurant is nowhere anything like lebanese cuisine, It offers only two set menus (A and B - costing KSH 2500 andKHS 2000 respectively) which are not value for oney. The hotel would better by providing more varied selection and discontinue withe "Plans A & B"!
Our special thanks go to Elias, Lucy, Francis and Victor (main restaurant), Joy (reservations) Julius (Front desk) and nncy (shop) - all exceptional helpful individuals. We look forwrd to ur return next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisetravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    453
    139
    49
    35
See reviews for
374
565
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

From arrival to leaving, the welcome and service is heartfelt and amazing. The Staff at Southern Palms are hard working/helpful and wonderful people. No! it is not an 18 to 30 Club (thank god). The 'cultural' entertainment is what Kenya is about, and while relaxing with a drink ...talk to the staff, I have never experienced anywhere like it, to speaking no kiswahili on arrival to being able to speak to.. and understand basic swahili to staff and locals, try it it is a beautiful language. Find it very hard to believe some of the negative comments... get a grip ... a long journey ... a very very foreign hot climate.. change of food and water plus malaria tablets etc. ... possibility of dickie tummy .. take something with you incase!!! The food in the Hotel is good and plenty of it, but usually gets blamed when someone is ill.... dare I say.. probably due to dehydration and too much sun, be sensible and you will have a holiday to remember, each time you go!!.
The Animation Team are a good bunch, working extemely hard to get people involved in the daily avtivities, even if just to have a chat and laugh with guests, never rude always pleasant. The waiters wonderful, nothing is too much touble, sometimes in Kenyan time but hey welcome to Kenya!!!
The Management do all they can to cater for everyone and have we never experienced any attitude at any request made, just prefessionalism. It is the only place I have stayed where the Management check CONFIRMATION of flights before sending you on your way, if there are delays they inform each guest and you keep your room until they receive confirmation, in most cases giving you extra hours in bed and having a good breakfast before departing. Cannot knock this place, it is pure heaven!!!
A final though.. Slavery was abolished many moons ago, some guests needs to remember that and treat these wonderful people with the respect they deserve.
mpata wakati mwingine
Brenda and Twega

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeRafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

We had an excellent time at the southern palms, the staff can't do enough to make your stay the best. The pools are stunning together with a beautiful beach, there are traders on the beach but the hotel security keep them for giving you any hassle. The monkeys arrive in the grounds about 4pm everyday looking for food, its illegal to feed them but they are very innovative in finding lots of interesting items.

The buffet restaurant was probably our favourite especially the freshly cooked naan bread it is to die for.

We went on safari with Wildlife Kenya Safaris (reviewed on tripadvisor or google it for their website) on the 2 day red elephant safari in Tsavo East. Antony the owner organised everything brilliantly and his office is near the supermarket just down the road from the hotel. His guides are excellent and Martin (the guide) made sure we saw lots of animals incl. lions, cheetahs, elephants and lots more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_JanieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

this was our 3rd visit to southern palms, the downside was the bus trip to the hotel we went with thomson and expected air conditioned transport but got a old tatty bus with no air con it was boiling hot , we were not disapionted when we got to the hotel, they gave us a good room as it was our 3rd visit., the staff at the hotel are outstanding will do anything for you, especially lugwe, lennox, paul ,peter. nelly , and the poolmen, beach lads are a nightmare we tried to avoid them they wont take no for a answer went to a local school it was very touching all the kids singing to us, we gave them books pens and sweets you would think you gave them the world all big smiles on there faces.
started using the local buses cost 20p instead of £10.00 for a taxi, it is also cheap to buy a safri phone card cost pennies to phone uk
cant wait to return to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at southern palms for first 2 weeks of october and what bliss. We flew from gatwick with thomson airways and had no problems. Arrived in mombassa on time and got to say the journey from the airport to diani beach in our opinion was heartbreaking, so be prepared.

On arrival at the hotel we were given a refreshing towel and drink then swiftly shown to our room. We were allocated room 210 which was lovely and met our room boy Stanley and have to say if you have him as your room boy you will be lucky. He is so lovely and just show him respect and have a chat he enjoys that.

The pool was really nice and quite spacious and cleaned on a daily basis by the hard working pool boys, a special mention to Ali, Hassan and Evans we really enjoyed our chats and it was a pleasure to meet you all.

There were a few restaurants to eat at and the food is ok but not brilliant. The service of the staff is excellent with a special mention again for Judy, Hilary, Lugwe, Bimba, Steven, Nicholas and President Obama.

The animation team have to be mentioned, they are a group of youngsters that try their best to keep you entertained and offer a range of things to do from water aerobics, water polo/volleyball, beach walk/volleyball, bingo, quiz and in the evening after the shows they try to get you up to dance to not very good music, but they try their best. Special mention to Juma hope the mp3 player is going good.

When we go on our holidays we normally go to the beach, we only went once to this beach because of the beach boys. The beach itself is lovely, but the boys are quite persistent trying to sell different things. We think since coming home that maybe we weren't quite strong enough to tell them firmly no but not be nasty to them and then we could have enjoyed the beach, oh never mind when we return we will.

After a few days being on our holiday we went on a 3 day 2 night safari with JT SAFARIS. Have to say this was the best part of our holiday. We went to Tsavo East/West and stayed at Ashnil Aruba Lodge and Kilaguni Lodge, both were fantastic with lovely food and people and a fantastic setting. Our driver was Samuel he was lovely, very friendly and tried his best to find every animal we wanted to see. As for Julius he rang us whilst on safari and we met him a few days after our safari to pay him and what a really nice guy, cant reccomend him strongly enough.

When you go to Kenya on your holidays just remember how poor these people are and if you can take pens, sweets for the children and any old clothes/shoes for the staff, they will be so grateful. Just a few more people we would like to mention that we met, Pauline and Peter from Swansea see you soon, Gordon, Fiona and Cameron from Dundee enjoyed our chats and have a great xmas in Tenerife and last but not least Andrea and Gerald we had a blast and hope the express has gone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andebWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Having just returned from a 2wk holiday with my wife l thought it prudent to make my thoughts and recommendations public on this site.
Firstly the bad news, do not where best possible travel with Thomson. From the time that you book in to the time that you land they are on a money grabbing operation. No tolerance with excess luggage, being charged £15 per kilo,poor service on arrival at the check-in. Old planes being catered for by Servisair. Uninterested cabin crew, more interested in there own tales of over work and in flight bickering. No free drinks on the flight apart from tea/coffee and water. Food was awful no choice given take it or leave it(which many did) wait until you see the boxed snack(pice of dry cake and a luke warm panni). Never ever flown on a long haul whereby you get no free drinks(can of coke £1.50) disgraceful.
Anyway enough of that doom and gloom. The hotel is pure class, from the time that you arrive in the amazing reception to the arrival at your given room(we stayed in 315 overlooking the palm covered gardens and pool area with the indian ocean to our right from the 2nd floor balcony) beautiful setting. The staff are a joy and will look after your every need. Give them the odd tip as they work for peanuts and a 100kenyan shillings is about 80p. Change your english sterling in a commission free bank in one of the local bureaus(127ks to the £) any taxi driver at the hotel will know where to go.
Food choice was extremely good and veried with something for all tastes. Entertainment is ok with a weekly programme. The acrobats on a Monday night are very good.
Beach Boys selling craft products and trips are a pain, but be firm but curtious and they will get to know you and just have a chat, the boys love english football, which is always a good talking point. Try and leave the waiters/waitresse's some items of clothing footwear that you don't want to bring home, they have nothing and will really appreciate it.
A must is a Safari, we went with WILDLIFE SAFARI(see seperate review on their site) they catered for everything and supplied a great guide called Maxwell, without whom it would not have been so enjoyable. Would recommend totally, just visit their web site and speak with anthony about your particular package, he will advise and put it together at a very competative price.
Special mention must go to Ellias,Mirim and Merci in the main dining room. Thank you all for making our holiday so enjoyable and my wifes Swahli conversations going, thanks also for the kenyan food for my wife, she loved the nugali.
The waiters/waitresse's are to many to mention, but a big thanks go to Judy,lennox,eve,m.j and my special friend Willip who I will be keeping in touch with. Thank you all, not forgetting Jimmy the beach bed boy, great lad look after him. You truely made our holiday special, in a wonerful hotel located in a sensational location and in an amazing country with wonderful people. Don't forget to visit a orphanage you owe it to your sole, just look at the little kids face when you give them some sweets, even the strongest willed person will shed a tear and bring everything into perspective.
GREAT HOLIDAY GREAT HOTEL ENJOY YOUR STAY.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are wonderful - but your dream
> holiday comes at a price. The hotel charges more for a bottle of local beer,
> KSH 250, than it pays most of its staff, KSH200, PER DAY. This is roughly
> equivalent to £1.50 - which seems pretty obscene to me. They also charge
> KSH25 per minute (so 10 minutes is a day's salary) to access the internet
> (KSH 3 per minute in the local internet cafe) and yet their software is
> pirated and the business centre computers are riddled with viruses. So
> someone is making a lot of money but you can be sure it's not the staff - so
> PLEASE, tip, tip, tip as much as you can AND OR complain to the management
> /travel company (but without getting staff in trouble). Also, despite the
> prison-like big gates to the hotel and the aura of "don't go outside without
> a taxi as you might get hassled" please do leave the hotel grounds and
> explore Diani by bus or on foot. Yes you may get hassled but a firm and
> polite no thank you and please could you leave me alone today will usually
> do the trick and your time in Kenya will be much richer for it. There is a
> supermarket 10 minutes walk from the hotel, towards the Barclays ATM, where
> the water and beer is a fraction of the cost of that sold at the hotel and
> do try out the matatus (local buses) - KSH 30 instead of the taxi KSH300-400
> for the same distance to the bigger shopping centres down the road or the
> nearest ATM. The locals are for the most part lovely - if you engage with
> rather than ignore them - even the beach boys can be handled once you make
> it clear than you don't want to buy anything and would like to be left
> alone. Otherwise you can have great fun haggling with them - just remember
> to cut their first price by at least 2/3s to begin the bartering! They will
> respect you for it.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lankaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing