We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Having just returned from our second stay at Southern Palms I thought best to relay our thoughts. The resort was very much the same as when we stayed 4 years ago except a few added extras that help to add to the overall pleasure of the stay. Small things such as the TV/DVD player in room, fridge and mosquito nets around the bed.
A majority of staff simply can’t do enough for you, in particular Drinks waiter Lugwe and Borito bar (for lunch) and grill (in the evening) waiter Noor are both fantastic. Please remember to tip for the good service as they really appreciate it and rely upon it. Both guest relations staff Beatrice and Joy are both wonderful. Really happy to assist with anything you need. I requested some rose petals and a bunch of roses for an anniversary surprise for my wife and they duly arranged for next to no cost at all. (42 roses in a bunch!)
The animation team do a great job and we found the beach walk they did at 10.30am each morning really good to get some sun, explore out the resort without hassle from the beach boys and simply to see the beautiful stretch of beach wind round Diani.
In short, food is plentiful and of good quality. We found the Manyata grill to be fantastic with a really unique way of serving the food on giant skewers and swords and the Italian food was simply brilliant also with live background music and eating above the Borito bar under the stars. (The wife found the setting rather romantic). Take normal precautions to avoid upset stomachs. We went half board and cannot see how we would have been better off going AI. We spent half of what AI would have cost with Thomas Cook.
If you plan to do any shopping, Try Moiz boutique just 10 mins walk towards the hospital. No hassle, the cheapest prices and unique items we did not see anywhere else, prices on everything and the price you see is the price you pay.
We did a safari with WT safari and check our review on this site.
Thank you to all at Southern Palms for making our holiday special once more. 10/10

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIwasThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

really good 4 stars hotel - beautifully located in the nice garden where you can eat dinner by the candle and light of the moon
great food, big choice always an indian corner :)
wonderful beach with really white sand and blue ocean
once you go there you have to take your time and go for the safari - don't choose one on the beach or from your travel agency, go with JT SAFARIS, find their website in the internet
whatever you need will be delivered by the honest and professional Julius
the standard of service is amazing - wonderful lodges, private safaris - whatever you want you can find it there
PAULINA

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by Southern Palms as a resort hotel is not our normal choice of accommodation both us prefer bijoux hotels/beach cabins.

Generally the service was excellent with plenty of staff around and a real interest in making the holiday an enjoyable one. The one exception was bar service were the service was mixed. The beach bars (2) were happier dealing with waiters, so getting a quick drink was sometimes frustrating as bar staff were easily distracted mid-order.

Food was standard hot buffet and generally there was good choice although vegetarians are mainly limited to as curries. Staffing levels were high and meant there were always people around to deal with additional requests. Water with meals costs extra if you were on half board and it wasn't cheap.

The hotel had a large pool and organised regular activities during the day which were very popular water volley ball and water aerobics in particular.

One special mention which taller guests should be aware of is the size of beds. Although the hotel blurb talked of 5ft (152 cms) wide beds they are only 6ft (183 cms) long and are four posters. This is much shorter than the standard Queen size (152 x 203 cm). At 6ft 5in we had discussed the issue of flights and booked extra leg room but there was no warning in the brochure about the beds. We were then told there was just one larger 2m long bed. They negotiated a swap involving dismantling the beds and re-assembly. The senior manager acted highly professionally and even notified the tour operator in case the problem couldn't be resolved and we did need to move hotels.

I was fortunate and we didn't need to move. Until the hotel does invest in larger beds then relying on just 1 bed is insufficient given the size of the hotel (298 beds) and I would advise tall people to choose another hotel.

Putting the problem of the bed aside would we go back to this hotel?

Definitely no, we chose the hotel as we wanted somewhere close to a good diving site (Wasini Marine Park) and tend to book beach hut style accommodation nearby. In Kenya this type of accommodation is very expensive. Southern Palms was excellent value and the service was surprisingly good but it is not for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAde50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Me and my family, had a great time at southern palms. The staff were helpful, so r the animation team, as they did fun stuff, like aquafit, water volleyball, football onthe beach, etc...
The music also gets annoying, as they repeat the songs like Melonie C, i never new who she was, but when i came bk from kenya i new all the words to the songs, URGH!
The food was the downer, except from deserts, as i am a desert fan, i love my deserts.
Good for first time family holiday to kenya and would recommend safari and snokelling and camel riding. The rooms were nice, but i would certainly recommend the corner rooms, as they r slightly bigger and have a bath!
Theres monkeys but thank gosh, not alot of them, but if you see one, walk away cos they are vicious. There r cats living inthe hotel grounds, they are lovely, so dont be suprised if they are on your balcony, they will only bother you if u give them food. The cats like ham btw! lol.
The beach is good and the guys selling stuff arnt a big probem, just say no and walk away, they r friendly but dont stop and talk to them.
I would recommend NOT to go out side of the hotel at night, its your risk!
And i would like to say hello to Dave and Jackie on behalf of me, natalie, hazel and pauline!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie-jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at the Southern Palms Beach hotel in Diani, Mombasa. Great hotel in a great location. We opted for the half-board. We bought lunch at the hotel snack bar and also soft drinks. If you drink alcohol then the full-board option would probably be better, but we don't so it was absolutely fine. Plenty of choice for veggies, and the food was all good. By the way, we bought water from the hut across the road from the hotel at a fifth of the price of the hotel. The hotel service was outstanding, everyone was keen to ensure we had a great holiday. Everyone we met was friendly (even the 'beach boys' selling their wares on the beach! Do be aware that whilst they don't come up to the sunloungers, they do approach you if you're further down towards the water, and if you're having a leisurely stroll along the beach, you'll always have company. That said, they're only trying to make a living and they're friendly with it.)
The hotel generally was great including the gardens. The bathroom was a little tired, but very clean. There was water volleyball, aerobics, table tennis, tennis, etc. and even a pretty well equipped gym. There was evening entertainment while having dinner, and also afterwards til about 11pm. A big plus was the two swimming pools, one of which was big enough to do lengths uninterrupted.

Only downside I'd say is the cost of the internet, five times more expensive than the local cybercafe...but I guess you pay for the convenience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuantumMetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We really enjoyed out holiday, especially as my 3 teenage children were able to partake in the activities (mainly pool related) that were run by the animation team. The evening entertainment was also pretty good although a bit repetitive afte 1 week (no bingo or karaoke etc = thank goodness). We found all of the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly (although I did tend to tip everybody so maybe that helped !!!).
Rooms: basic rooms that are a little tired (as mentioned numerous times on this site). Bathroom is very poor with shower, WC and wash basin.
Food: we though the food was generally very good. 3 choices of restaurant - best to try all 3 and decide which you prefer. The buffet in the main restaurant was best for us - veggie curry was always excellent. Breakfast was also excellent - large choice etc.
Pools : fantastic - bst I've ever seen - massive and quiet.
All Inclusive : we didn't do it and saved a fortune. It was £150 a day for the 5 of us and I only spent about £60 on food drinks etc. per day. I used the "shack" just outside the main entrance of hotel for water and some soft drinks - these were much cheaper than hotel. We also used the pool and hotel bars as kids liked idea of swimming up for drinks. soda's were 110 shillings and beer was 250 (just to gove you an idea).
Supermarket etc: drinks from shack were 50 shillings for soda and 130 shillings for 5L of water. The supermarket is about 200m left as you exit hotel main entrance - I used this for a feww bottles of beer which cost 125 shillings.
Massages : hotel offers these for 3000 shilling although if you go along the beach (left or right) you can get them for 800 shilling - my wife tells me they were just as good. I used to go left out of hotel and used Evelyn.
Snorkelling : we booked Pilli Pippa direct and had a great day - and much cheaper than using Thompson.
Safari : we used F King for a 3 day safari and had a great time - would definitely recommend. Be aware of East Tsavo main entrance. A guy working there chucked 3 hats at the kids (me foolishly thinking this was included in entrance fee) only to find him asking for 1000 shillings each - which I paid !!!!!!!!!
Overall, this was a fantastic holiday and enjoyed by all of the family. If however, you are looking for proper 4/5* luxury (especially rooms) then you should look elsewhere - but it will cost you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, the first room we stayed in was nice but after we came back from safari we were placed in an even nicer room. Very clean, chocolates on the pillows every night, and we made friends with a bush baby who visited our balcony nearly every night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was nice, I am a vegetarian so it can be difficult sometimes to find things to eat but they has a large selection of vegetarian food, although if you are not so keen on spicy food you might struggle.
The swimming pools are lovely but you have to be quick to get a sunbed as only one side of the pool gets the sun for most of the day.
We received a complimentary a la carte meal as part of our honeymoon package and the staff gave us a lovely cake afterwards to celebrate with.
i would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
3.6 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
496 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £66 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing