We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Leisure Lodge and found it to be of a high standard.

In particular the staff were incredibly polite and reposive. I am incredibly hard to please with regard to food but the quality, variety and freshness of the food was consistently high. The one negative was that they did not sell ice-cream at the beach or at the poolside and it took some time for the staff to deal with the request.

Overall a very pleasant and well-appointed.hotel. I would have no hesitation of recommending it if a quiet relaxed hoel is sought but if you are looking for a rowdy, party hotel, you should look elsewhere.



a ground-llooor Bustani club room which was decorated and maitained to a high standard

Room Tip: Bustani club rooms lead directly on to the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    67
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
38
61
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

had a fun time with my friends.... would recommend going snorkeling. so much fun swimming with the fish. They really help out if you can swim and are with you the whole time. The best bit is that te hotel is very close to the beach.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've been here during New Year 2013 time. It was a novelty for us to pass into new year on beach, at 25 Celsius! A memorable experience, and the staff worked hard to meet the guest's expectations. At least they tried! Let me tell you the pros and cons of my sejour: check in lasted 45-60 minutes. The room, a standard one, was quite old, it looks like 15 years ago, but clean. I undestood that the premier one is newer and better. I havent seen. It was strange for me but nice and perfect normal there, to see the lizard on the wall in your room!
The resor has a extremely big garden, full of plants and animals like monkeys, lizards, hedgehogs, s.o..I saw a limited no of moschitos but still there are few, take your repellant with you.
Despite we've been 3 persons, in 75% of the cases the table was prepared for 2 people :). it looked almost always a surprise for the staff when I was asking for the 3rd place at the table. except the last day :); but the reaction was always prompt. The food was very good, always and especially for the New year party; a small hint here, they alternated buffet style with a mixed style buffet + a la carte, not alwas clear comunicated. tea was good but the coffe was bellow my expectation.
The beach is amazing; white and fine sand with crabs and a lot of other creatures! During the mornings there were the low water period we walked in the ocean and seen a lot of marine life forms. The access on the beach during the night is limited; there are acesss gates which are locked around 22:00.The staff at the pools or at the beach was friendly and helpfull.
Overall, a positive experience. Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask oassis or premier rooms. I haven't seen them but understood are better, refurbished and wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cata_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Even if thea beach is beautiful, the hotel is old and no so clean. For everyday task, the staff is ok, but for big tasks, like New Year Eve, they are not too many to accomplish the tasks. They tried to provide better holidays for giving us complete Q & A with the champagne as we want, but it was not successful enough as it looked on the table :))

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

A memorable 2012-2013 cross over at this hotel, not easy to forget for one I got engaged at the Leisure lodge beach, but also because of the fantastic service from staff , all the way from the top CEO, Mutua to each level of staff. Check in was very friendly with Peninah at the front desk very helpful.

The room allocated was not in good condition, with some paint flaking off and no bath tub. We complained and were immediately moved to a much better room on the same bahari superior wing but with a better room and both ocean and pool view. The hotel still needs to work on refurbishing all their rooms ( the effort is ongoing I was made to understand). they also need to work on newer towels while at it.

The low efforts on the room is almost fully made up for by the great and friendly service of the staff, right from the waiters, cleaners, gardners to the person allocating beach beds, by name Said. The food is good with a great effort to create variety, as well as change the dinner/lunch venues. The hotel goes to great efforts to create recreational activities for both adults and children all day long, for those who would rather chill out at the beach, beds are right on the beach giving you front row views of the sea, and no beach boys to disturb. Perfect.

The beach at South Coast and in particular the Leisure Lodge stretch is worth a mention. It is one of the best in Kenya, pristine. I would highly Reccomended this hotel.

Room Tip: If looking for sea view, book Bahari premium, and insist on sea facing. I understand they are recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I was here with my family during Christmas 2012. It was also the hotel's 40th anniversary (1972-2012). The place is huge! The service was great and the staff is friendly.. The managers are very friendly. The food was good. Loads of activities to do like aqua aerobics and golf. The room I stayed in had good air conditioning. The beach was a 2 min walk from my room which was at the Bustani side. There weren't many complaints from my family except maintenance issues. The air conditioners and fridges in some of the rooms weren't working and are a bit too old. Nevertheless, it is a great place to spend time with your family.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

This place - Leisure Lodge Hotel - is MASSIVE!
I felt like I was constantly negotiating a massive maze....this is despite the well-marked pathways with very clear signage.
My friends and I visited early December 2012 and the place was rather empty of guests....maybe because we kept to one side of the hotel? We did at least three pools and of course the evening beach walks were just great..definitely a cleaner beach-line than the north coast.
The food was ok, just your typical hotel buffet servings all the way from breakfast to dinner.
The downside: The shower curtains in our rooms were old and dirty. Could the hotel management consider having sliding glass cubicles or sanitize the shower curtains please??
The monkeys were a TOTAL nuisance, we could not have our afternoon tea in peace and in fact they (Monkeys) grabbed (violently) our biscuits and cakes!
One of my friends said she found hair stuck on her pillowcase case yak!
The towels were supposed to be white but they are turning brown!
We got the newer rooms and yet they were not very well cleaned, saw lots of dust on almost all surfaces, even in the bathroom.
Some of the waiters at the poolside looked oppressed (maybe unwell), otherwise why a smug look all the time?
And oh, I almost forgot that there was a huge lizard-like animal near the breakfast place at Bustani, very scary.
The place is too pricey and one could get much better for much cheaper in a place like Watamu.
All in all we enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Insist on the newer refurbished rooms. I heard from friends that the older rooms were not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Address: Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leisure Lodge Beach,Golf and Conference Resort, situated directly at the beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!The Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa at an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km. Moi International airport,Mombasa Island is about 42 km away from the hotel. However,the now busy Ukunda Airstrip,highly operational and versatile with majority of the local airlines flying between Diani and Nairobi is approximate 10 minutes drive from the Hotel.In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing