We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the worst Hotel we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely the worst Hotel we have stayed in”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This was our 4th visit to Diani Beach and this was the poorest of Hotels we have ever stayed in. The maintenance of the Hotel is lacking, the rooms are old and poorly equipped. ( We had to change the TV and fridge since both were not working ) The choice at buffet is very limited. The Hotel specifically caters for the German tourist, and the way they like it and if you are not german, you can not even read the info regarding excursions. To have our table designated to us, reminds me of boarding school, even your beach chairs have a number, never experienced anything like this. The staff is the only thing that made our stay pleasant, as usual the Kenyan staff was friendly and helpful. If you decide to go to Diani, which is an absolutely beautiful beach, stay at Diani Reef or Leopard beach, which both offer a lot better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    68
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
39
61
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Be careful when booking at the Leisure Lodge Resort, the hotel management tends to downgrade Bustani bookings into “Superior Room”, so experienced very recently. The rooms allocated were in the old part of the hotel complex, one room experienced problems with the air conditioner, the other was not prepared to receive any quests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_9999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We wanted to have a dinner for our wedding anniversary at Leisure lodge during a theme dinner which was set in the garden. It was a regretful bad idea which did spoiled our evening.
Arrrived at the restaurant we were refused a table as we did not match with their standard. My wife was wearing very elegant clothes and jewellery , myself a casual shirt with smart bermudas over the knees. We were then told to wait as the manager should be called.....and we wait there for 15 minutes in front of everyone at the restaurant entrance everybody watching at us like catched thieves.
This is how Leisure lodge treat their guests.
Being refused a table and be left there without care made the worst restaurant experience of my life.
We were then send back out of the hotel and went somewhere else more welcoming for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageurautourdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebgm, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Dear neighbouring hotel / chef,
appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at the Leisure Hotel in the club section. The rooms there are larger than the ones at the hotel, and the rooms/bunglows are located around two big pools - whereas the hotel section offers sea-side view. Leisure Lodge is characterized by very friendly staff and a great setting at the Indian Ocean in a big park with old big trees - among them huge Boabab trees - and palms.
The food is nice, even though not the very best at the South Coast, the service in the restaurants and in the rooms was very good and attentive - especially noticeable when one of us didn't feel well for a couple of days.
Both food and drings were rather inexpensive for a 4-5 star place. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandwilhelm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This is a very large large establishment with one hotel part and one club part. When we stayed here the club part was practically empty. The hotel part (where we stayed and spent the vast majority of our time, eventhough we were allowed to enter the club part) consists of a main building with lobby, restaurant, shops, bars, casino, "disco" etc and 6 2-storeys wings for hotel rooms facing either the upper pool area or the beach (i think almost all rooms have some sea glimpse). The rooms are fairly spatious and have AC and good beds, the bath rooms however are not recently renovated and their standard differed between our rooms and our friends rooms. The garden is beautiful and calm, there are sun beds both in the garden and on the beach. The staff was very friendly and let us e.g. check out late and stored some of our luggage during our safari, everything at no extra cost. We had booked half board which consisted of breakfast, afternoon tea (including cakes and sandwiches) and dinner. You do not need moch more food than that, I normally had only soup for lunch at the beach bar. The dinner was very good with either a 6-7 course set menu or a buffet with a specific theme (such as barbeque or chinese). There are a lot of activities such as beach volleyboll, try golf, village tour, swahili, try scuba evening show etc, most of them at no cost (however some tipping is sometimes expected). The concept is that you shall spend all your time (and money) within the hotel, but you can walk out on the road (after a guard has opened the gate) and go to a mini market 200 m to the right or to a bank, shopping center and supermarket 1 km to the left. Notable is that the price we paid was roughly 50 % lower than the hotel list price (we booked through a local travel agent, Kuoni) and i think this hotel is very price worthy e.g in comparison with the more expensive neighbour Leopard Beach (which we visited for a lunch one day). To conclude our review: We are very satisfied with our stay at Leisure Lodge and may return if we go to Kenya again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leif_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Leisure Lodge is a really nice place to stay. The grounds are spacious, the beach is lovely, and the staff are excellent. Meals are excellent too - far better than you would get in many western hotels.

My only complaint would be the noise that comes from the hotel's evening entertainment programme (loud music mainly), which can be disturbing if you are trying to get some sleep... but this is the same problem in most hotels on the coast.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank solaris_smoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Splendid Good service, natural environment, Built in waterfalls and Caves, Friendly personalized service

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DJCollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Address: Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leisure Lodge Beach,Golf and Conference Resort, situated directly at the beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!The Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa at an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km. Moi International airport,Mombasa Island is about 42 km away from the hotel. However,the now busy Ukunda Airstrip,highly operational and versatile with majority of the local airlines flying between Diani and Nairobi is approximate 10 minutes drive from the Hotel.In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing