We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value , great location and brilliant staff”
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Went in the 'big' rainy season - mixed weather but still enjoyable -the good days were still hot. Rooms tired but clean. Could not spek too highly of the staff who made the holiday a memorable one for us. Food , whilst not that exciting, was fine - always had fresh fruit soups and salads on the menu and you could always fill- up at the bar with junk ( pizza , burgers , chips etc). Drinks were fine and always available. Boys on the beach wre a pain - not really what you go on holiday for - it is a fab beach and it would have been good to have been able to walk along at will without being approached ( although usually politely). Go on the village and orphanage trips and see how they live - dont take sweets for the kids ( in my opinion ) better a few small balls, skipping ropes , clothes ( they are dressed in rags) cheap tee shirts , short , pants would be better - if you take pens / pencils then thats great but they dont have anything to write on - when we went they kids got their mouths stuffed full of lollipops and hands full of pencils ( really bizzare). I dint realise that Kenya is so poor - no real sign of any affluence really. We asked Monarch if they would waive the excess weight charge for the stuff we took for the Orphanage - they refused - miserable b*******s. Whilst we are on - Monarch - you have to pay for all your drinks- just like Ryanair really - food was rubbish , better off taking your own sandwichs - little leg room and banal films.Back to Diani - Did'nt have many mosquitoes so not a problem ( two bites between us) although we did use repelent - the net in the room was good . Air con noisey. We took Dixycyclone (£9.10 from Boots ) - and had no problems with sickness - took them before we went to bed at night on advice on rep- good advice - quite a few people we met took malarone and felt sick. We didnt bother with the yellow fever jabs ( no case in Kenya for 12 years I read). Good entertainment each night. The monkeys were entertaining - they like cake - good sport watching the strategies employed by the security staff versus the monkeys - call it a draw! The hotel has a tennis court - ok , crazy golf , table tennis and the animation team work very hard to keep you amused. Wife enjoyed the daily massage ( only £5 of which the girls actually get £1.50). Dont bother getting any currency - pay your entrance tax in £ ( £20 currently ) and change at the airport or hotel - about 111 shillings when we wre there - we got dollars and shillings at home - waste of time as the exchange rate here was worse. All in all a good break - touched by the kindness of the staff and the poverty of the general surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB_thepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

We syayed at Diani Sea Lodge as a last minute booking with no thought of ever going to Kenya. We fell in love with the Diani Beach it is an absolute paradise, the hotel, food and certainly the staff were all faultless. We met amny friends had an amazing three day safari booked much cheaper with the locals when we there. I would recommend this resort to anyone especially couples you will be so well looked and there is nothing that tops getting engaged at a moonlit dinner table for two in the sunset in front of the Indian Ocean with champagne your waiter and chef all arranged by the hotel, hence we have booked to return in August this year !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferBillingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a week long stay at this wonderful hotel. It was complete paradise from start to finish and way better than I expected especially due to some reviews I had read on here. All I can say is that anyone who gave this hotel a bad rating has got stupidly high expectations what is essenitally a third world country. The lodges and the grounds were exceptional. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. When we arrived, we were given a complimentary cocktail and shown to our room. The room is basic with simply a bed (with a mossie net) and a small desk, mirror and hairdryer. The bathroom is also basic but fantastic facilities for a poor place. There is no TV in the room, this certainly didn't bother us - we didn't go to Africa to watch TV! However, we did hear some people complaining that there was no TV in the room! There is, however, a TV room so if you really miss TV then you can go in there but personally, I think that you are missing out on so much by doing that!
The monkeys are everywhere! My partner and I enjoyed this and never got bored of walking out of our lodge and seeing monkeys hang out on the terrace! However, be warned that if you have food then they wont leave you alone! They will even go through your bag. I left my drink on the side for 30 secs and came back to a monkey drinking it!
The food was brilliant with plenty of selection and you cannot fault the staff whatsoever. They are friendly and polite and will always ensure you are ok and happy.
The evening entertainment was brilliant giving you no reason to wish to leave the hotel at night (this is definately not recommended! not even walking a long the beach) the entertainment included a visit and dance from the Massai tribe, Karibu tribe, a stunt show, a live band, animation team and lots more. Certainly not the kind of entertainment I was expecting.
The beach was wonderful!! Absolutely amazing and the location of this hotel is right on the beach. The only thing that lets it down slightly is the sheer hassle you get when you step on the beach. Straight away you will have 4-5 people trying to sell you some sort of trip/fruit/skirt etc! We found this a bit annoying after a while so stayed on the grass loungers where the security of the hotel do not allow the people on the beach to come on the grounds. This was definately a godsend as you could avoid them altogether and still sit there with a wonderful beach view!
If you do choose to buy anything from Margaret who has a little 'shop' on the beach, please be warned she will probably ask for it back at the end of your holiday along with anything else you wish to leave behind.... for free! But although it sounds like a bit of a cheek, these people have nothing so you cannot blame them for trying as they think you are completely rich!
You can book a glass bottom boat trip at the hotel where you go snorkelling - this was fantastic!! If you get a chance then definately do it but ensure you don't get ripped off when booking it. We realised we paid 1000 shillings more than other people on the trip and when we asked the guy we booked it through, he just said he does not make a lot of money so wanted more commission - this did annoy me slightly but we let it slide given that its the equivalent of about 10 pound more! Could be worse....
If you're not daring enough to do a proper safari then you can arrange day trips to elephant parks and jungles. We booked a few through our rep who visited our hotel most days.
Overall, if you have booked this hotel then you will have a brilliant time! I would definately go back :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jojo3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed at Diani Sea Lodge for 4 days over the Easter of 2010.
I found everything tolerable especially since we were on a budget spending with some friends.
What I particularly liked is their all inclusive bar which, although the all inclusive drinks are leaning a little bit on the cheaper local brands, the offer is always welcome. I actually caught some foreigners who could spend whole days there benefiting from the freebies!!!
The swimming pool and the environs are superb.
The food however is terrible to say the least!! You cant call it a buffet then just have an array of 2 choices for petes sake. Dinner was particularly a sorrowful affair for me and most of the time I had to take a bit of everything to fill the plate since I am a heavy eater.
The rooms are tolerable considering you dont even get to spend any time there, unless you are allergic to sand and water and the free bar and yes, quite some exciting entertainment by various local groups after dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Reading other reviews, beginning to wonder if we went to same hotel!
We checked in at 13.15, checked out at 16.00!
We've been to Kenya before, so know what to expect from a 3-star hotel, and this falls well short of the standard we expect. The room we were shown to was dark, dismal and smelt. Person in reception very offhand when we complained (our invoice said we had paid for a superior room - if that was superior i'd hate to see basic) and told us to see our Rep. So we did!
Whilst waiting we went to restaurant for lunch, which should have been still available, but very little there and looked very poor standard. Public areas dark and cramped, pool area cramped and tatty. Sorry. We did get a deal from our travel agent, but did not pay much less than the brochure price. We happily paid extra to re-locate to the sister hotel, Diani Sea Resort, just up the road which was superb.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank angelfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The position of the Diani sea Lodge is stunning on the edge of the Indian ocean. The staff were brilliant the facilities quite adequate.
The Food!Breakfast was fine as they cooked eggs how ever you wished , the bacon and susages were good. The fresh fruit delicious. The fruit juice probably made out of powder and the pancakes were like lead. Toast ok.
Lunch and dinner were in the main inedible and like bad school food. We had two meals the were OK. Some fried fish that for once was not dried out and a sauce on the spagetti bolognaise that was quite tasty.
We went out to dine twice, once to the Ali babas in a cave which was magical , the let down was a huge lobster that was very tough, it was replaced with a delicious crab. so would reccommend. Also the Forty thieves on the beach was a dinning experience.
The safari to tsavo east was booked at the hotel and was first class. A private trip to the Shimba hills with Mr Moses the taxi man ,mobile0724663047,who will fall over backwards to help was also great.
Incidently the food at the Aruba Lodge was very good while on safari.
Kenya was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peko4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

we have just returned today from kenya 16.02.10 we have visited kenya beach and safari many times before but this is the first time at this hotel and Diani beach we could not fault any of the 2 week stay the beach and sea is fab and we swam every day,the hotel room is basic but had fantastic sea veiws and you only sleep in it so what. Meals were good my husbands a fussy eater and there was always something he could have at all meal times, the staff are all friendly and could not be more helpfull we tend to not visit the same hotel twice but we would this one and are talking of taking the grandchildren along to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babooandnanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,047 reviews
3.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £10 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing