We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway.”
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is the second trip to Kenya so must be good.
The people are friendly and welcoming, the food fresh and tasty and the beach is amazing what more can one ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekypo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

i was wondering if anyone will be staying at the Diani Sea Lodge Kenya. can let me know..we met a lady around there and we have stuff to send back for her...however we would like to send a video camera in advance so she can make a video and send back...i am collecting stuff from work for the family but i need a clip to show the guys at work..where the collection will be going....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantsGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

just back from a two week holiday in kenya. we stayed in the diani sea lodge. it was a holiday of a lifetime. the hotel was very clean, the food was good and the staff were friendly nothing was to much trouble for them. the monkeys in the garden and sometimes on our balcony give us lots of entertainment .while there we went on a 3 day safari tasvo east & west with fkingssafaris.com (see seperate review) a brilliant experience.would stay at this hotel the next time we go on holiday to kenya.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom-sue-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Jambo we had an amazing time at the diani sea lodge the hotel was not overcrowded as we went in low season but still had nice weather. We upgraded room as we got a good deal on the hol and was def worth it better air con,shower bigger rooms also get a tv and fridge which is restocked about £10 a night. The food was ok always something to eat and we always ate lunch at the snack bar as food is cooked to order. The beach boys were not that bad we just said no thanks dont say maybe later if you dont mean it. The entertainment was ok seems as this is africa and if your like us you make your own entertainment anyway. Walked on the beach to forty thieves good atmosphere and ate at ali barbours amazing cave restaurant with amazing food paid £57 for bottle of wine and three course meal for 2. Gave the kids pens and paper from poundland this made my day and theirs. You must book a safari with JT safaris [---] the highlight of our trip email him before you go and you can ring him when you arrive. he or a driver picks you up at the gate of hotel and takes you to his office, there is someone pretending to be him just outside the hotel gates dont be fooled his office is near the sentido resort it's a orange hut. Went to massai mara so much to see with animals walking past our luxury tent amazing 5* food and service saw 4 out of 5 the leopard couldnt be spotted. Take some warm clothes for the early morning and evening game drives. 2 nights 3 days at kichwa tembo about £535 each def worth the money for a once in a lifetime experience and a bargain as first choice wanted $1250 each to do the same trip. We paid a deposit and the rest when we got back so you cant get fairer then that. if your thinking of going then go or you will be missing out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2lovetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here for two weeks in june met some lovely people, the staff there were great always friendly and polite, our room was kept clean the food was ok although the portions are a bit on the small side but you can ask for more.
The monkeys were fun to watch while around the site but the beach sellers were a bit of a pain although we did get a good deal from Bob who worked for "WT Safaris" who was on the beach, he took us to his office which is just across the road from the hotel to pay a deposit. We did a 2 night safari Tsavo East and Amboseli we saw three of the big five and much more, our guide was great his name was Salim. If you plan on staying within the complex for your whole holiday you would probably get bored so you do need to be a bit brave and go out. The animation team work very hard to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkytot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Just returned from a 7 day stay in the Diani Sea Lodge hotel :@(... What a fantastic holiday, the staff are the most helpful and polite people I have ever met and they done everything to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is all inclusive and the food is a good standard. The rooms are basic but very clean and there is everything that you need. The grounds and beach were exceptional and it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed.
We met the ‘odd person’ who gave this hotel a bad rating and where sometimes quite rude to the staff (who always dealt with the issues in the nicest of manners), I suggest that next year they book a 5 * in sunny Spain as their expectations where very high for a 3* in Africa...
I look forward to my next visit to Diani Sea Lodge...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayreviewer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

people booking this hotel should remember that it is 3 star. The rooms are pretty basic, We had booked a superior room, which was not what i would have expected from a superior room, it had no tv or fridge! just a bed, wardrobes,and a tired looking bathroom (no bath). we upgraded to a room which had a fridge and tv, much nicer view and in better condition, this was done without fuss and we were happy with our room. a note for those upgrading...because we had upgraded we were able to have our fridge restocked with all inclusive soft drinks and beer on a daily basis, free of charge - however no- one told us this until we had been there for 3 days! we also discovered that if you bought a bottle of water from the hotel, you could get them to refill it with mineral water free of charge..again, we only found this out 3 bottles and 300 shillings later!
Food - plenty of it, a bit repetative if you are staying for a while, but something for everyone...you would have to be a completley fussy person not to find anything you can eat...the staff will try to accomodate any dietry needs you may have..we saw the chef come out and discuss the menu with a group of indian tourists every day, because they had particular dietry needs! not bad for a 3 star hotel! the soups were fantastic!
you can always get freshly made pizza, carbonara, toasted sarnies at the pool bar, and in the afternoon there is also coffee and cake..so you definately wont starve!
staff - probably the nicest and most friendly buch of people ive met on my travels! the animation team are great fun and not pushy! ( i dont normally join in with that sort of thing) they were just a really nice bunch of people.
Beach - beautiful white sand and blue sea - nice and warm! only downside is the beach sellers..they swarm you as soon as you hit the beach trying to sell you everything from safaris to beads and fitted shirts! it can be very irritating, but you have to remember that this is a 3rd world country and they are just trying to make a living! dont be rude, just be consistent and make no promises! they never forget! dont let this aspect ruin your enjoyment of the beach..if they really bug you ask hotel security to keep them away from you!
safari - the reps in the hotel charge a small fortune for this - we found the same deal from a beach boy called Ali - who gave us exactly the same trip, exactly the same 4 star lodge (lion hill) for £140.00. about 10 couples booked through him and we all had a fantastic and successful safari. definately a must do!
shops - there are shops on site that are reasonable - you can always haggle! however, things like pringles and suntan lotion will cost you £4.00 and £25.00 respectively if you buyu them from the shops in the hotel! i suggest you take a walk of taxi ride to the shopping centre about a 20 min walk and get what you need from the supermarket there..much cheaper! there is also a fab little ice cream shop too which i thoroughly recommend at 80p a large scoop! yum!
Monkeys - they are all over the resort and are funny to watch - it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel! we loved them - they would nick your stuff tho if you were silly enough to leave it lying around untethered! all part of the charm of the place!
overall - we had a fantastic holiday and i would go back to the hotel and resort in a heartbeat...loved it! you just have to remember that it is a 3rd world country and there is a lot of poverty! but dont let that put you off going, your doing your bit by visiting and spending your money! we loved it and would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandahMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,048 reviews
3.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £10 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing