We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beach resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papillon Lagoon Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beach resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

a really niice resort looking out on to a sandy beach. really excellent pool with a pool side bar. freedrinks with your stay and buffets three times a day. rooms are large but with no TV. srevice is Ok but a bit slow. has a gym. also has an action team to help the fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    211
    60
    18
    14
See reviews for
131
307
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We decided on a short break away, away from Nairobi, friends of us from Johannesburg, stayed here and recommended the hotel. It is an "all-inclusive" resort, ideal for family holidays, since you know what you are in for. The room we had (rm256) was sea facing, was extremely spacious, clean and had everything one need. The pool area was fantastic, with its in pool bar. The food, different every day was of good quality. The service, as everywhere in Kenya was good and friendly, always a smile on their face. The only negative were the beds, very hard, but some people like it. We will go back again.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms on the 2nd floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had 17 nights (22/09/12 to 9/10/12) at Papillion Lagoon Kenya after a 5day safari. We have visited Kenya before so knew what to expect from the local culture. Papillion was a fantastic holiday hotel. We had read reviews before leaving for our holiday and felt a bit apprehensive about these negative reports, but I can honestly say the holiday hotel was everything we wanted and much more. We did have an ocean view which I could highly recommend. Peoples whose reviews had" moaned and complained" regarding the food was not accurate. Yes we did have bacon, sausages, eggs, cereal, pancakes, fresh fruits, croissants, toast muffins every morning. Lunch times soup, choice of meats, salads, pasta, toasted sandwiches vegetarian options fresh fruits and pastries etc and Dinner soup, roasts, two other meat dishes vegetarian choice pastries, fresh fruit and jellies. And all this is what people are complaining about!!! WHAT DO ..............PEOPLE WANT? Just to add to my own personal review such friendly staff and management. Personal George hotel room manger was fantastic and also George the animation leader and his team were friendly and "fun”. All waiters were friendly and alternative. (I will admit our ages are 61) Once again a fantastic holiday.From a couple in Norwich,Norfolk England

Room Tip: Try to spend a little extra and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bonita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed at Papillon for 3 days prior to going on safari and then returned for our final days. The hotel has the most beautiful settings and is right on Diani beach which has the most amazing white sand! The hotel overall was clean and well looked after. The staff are all friendly right from the reception staff through to the men who went round ensuring the paths were clear. The animation team are a great bunch of guys who were very good with your young son ensuring that he could join in with activities where possible.
The food was far more than we ever expected, with lots of variety and choice and always served with a smile and this was mirrored whilst we were on safari too!
There is lots to see and do and the taxi men, booked through reception are very informative. Twice we went to the local supermarket and they are happy to wait to bring you back and the fare is very cheap.
We went on a dhow safari book through Philli Pippa and this was a truely amazing experience. The food served for lunch on Wasini Island along with the hospitality of the ladies serving us was outstanding.
We were fine with it and it was made clear right from booking our holiday but some others weren't to happy with having to buy bottled water. The tap water is not suitable to drink and to know the water that we were drinking was safe we felt it was a small price to pay.
The only drawback was the beachboys! They are friendly enough but if you venture onto the beach with a bag of any description they will hound you which can be annoying so be aware. If you go down soley in swimming gear and head straight for the water they will tend to leave you alone which is a shame when you could quite easily while the hours away sitting on the beach and would like to take photos at your own leisure but this was a small price to pay for an trip of a lifetime.
We would throughly recommend this hotel and will definately return again, soon hopefully!

Room Tip: Non beach front rooms dont have any tea/coffe making facilities so if you like an early morning coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swindon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I spent a few nights here on my own, recovering from a long trip. Overall I had a great time and can thoroughly recommend it.

Pros
* great value for money. You can eat and drink till you drop without worrying about the bill. The food isn't five star, but I loved it. Lots of roasts, soups, pastas etc, with the occasional themed meal.
* the staff seemed pretty friendly, greeting you with a 'jambu!', having a chat if you want, or leaving you alone if you'd prefer
* I was concerned that, given it's an all-inclusive resort, it might have had a booze-hound vibe. But really the vibe is more family-oriented, with the occasional young couple. All very chilled.


Cons
* the place is perhaps a bit old, but still clean and tidy
* the mosquitoes are pretty bad in that whole area so I had a couple of near-sleepless nights; the mosquito nets didn't seem to be 100% effective
* internet is only available on two shared computers and seems pretty expensive. If you need to do some work (as I did), you're better off going to the shops and buying a 'SafariCom' USB Modem, which will set you back maybe $20 including more internet than you'll probably need.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-dog9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at the Papillon Lagoon Reef in September, either side of a safari, and can only rate it as one of the best 3 star hotels we have ever visited. Set in beautiful grounds adjacent to the idyllic sands of Diani Beach, south of Mombasa. The hotel is clean and well tended by its numerous staff, all of whom were friendly and extremely courteous.

The food was plentiful, well cooked and lots of choice even for vegetarians. The after dinner entertainment was of a high standard, interesting and varied and all on “all inclusive” basis. During the day around the pool area the “animation team” used to arrange various activities such as football, volleyball, badminton, boules and aqua aerobics. Their aim was to make sure people were enjoying themselves but they were always polite and happy to leave you in peace if you wished.

The buildings were very well maintained. The only drawback we found was that it did not lend itself to the needs of the disabled. Both I and my partner are registered disabled but are thankfully able to walk. Built on a picturesque hillside access to the rooms, swimming pool, restaurants and various facilities is invariably via stairs/steps and many of these throughout the grounds are of crazy paving and without handrails. If one of us had been wheelchair reliant it would have been impossible.

But, that aside, it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and one which we would gladly recommend. We are very keen to revisit ourselves, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobandCarol45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

stayed for 3days following a 7day safari. A great end to a great trip, the staff were wonderful. On our
arrival we were not overly enthhused with the room, there was a hole in the fly screen i reported it and it was changed within a matter of 1hour, the shower was slow but then we realised the water pressure was not good all over so accepted it. The staff were brilliant, unfortunately the owner was there at every meantime and she was a tyrant, rude to the staff in public every one was on edge when she was around which affected the service,at one point she said to me these people have no commen sence, this was when she was removing was the was cushion from my chair as she thought i had wet cloths due to the rain. She made meal time uncomfortable if she left it to her capable staff it would have run smother.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank octob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
4.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#14 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Lagoon Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Lagoon Reef

Property: Papillon Lagoon Reef
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Lagoon Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Papillon Lagoon Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing