We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, friendly service and welcoming smiles!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2009

After a great safari we stayed for 8 days at this all inclusive resort. All the staff were very friendly, the food was varied and catered for both meat eaters and vegies. The hotel is close enough to the reef that you can swim there on low tide. Great water sports and an excellent dive centre. We had an ocean view room that was always spotless.

Down side? The monkeys; we took a water pistol which kept the blighters out of our beach bags.

We would happily book again... a great place to unwind and soak up the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123hoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2009

we stayed at papillion lagoon reef for 14 days, the moment we got there it took my breath away. we had a beach front which was exactly that. the scenery was amasing, the staff was exceptional!!! they couldnt do enough for you.we went on a 4 day safari after being at the hotel for just over a day, they gave us breakfast before leaveing at 5am.Our rooms were well looked after while away so no worries there. we would like to say a big thanks to dickson the waiter,benjamin the manager, fred an excellent bar man,ally who cleaned our rooms and did such a good job,the pool boys who made sure we had our sun beds every day.we had cocanuts straight from the tree,hows that freshness the list is endless. try it you wont be dissapointed.the beach was so white it hurt my eyes, and the sea so turqouise.that hotel and jt safaris you cant go wrong.only critasisam would be update your bathrooms... food was brilliant all of us put on too much weight!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggymanorfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

The staff at Papillon are among the best, most friendly & efficient we have encountered.
Our thanks to all. My wife & I booked through the Holiday Collection Group, after a bit of a row over £300 difference between what was advertised on the web page to the final cost, we got the package we wanted.

We got a taxi from the front of the airport at 3000 Ks about £26 each way. This enabled us to exit the airport straight on the road & directly to our hotel, the tour Thomas Cook transfer bus arrived at out hotel nearly 2 hours later.
We had reserved a cottage, room which was very spacious a bathroom & second toilet, very clean and a very large comfy king size & 2 single beds. These rooms are at the front of the hotel & don’t have a sea view, but are in a nice quiet part of the hotel.

The food at papillon is essentially traditional English, breakfast had fruit, cereals, pastries & a full cooked bacon & eggs etc, served at the open air poolside restaurant.
(Watch out for the monkey’s, they’re a real pest, stealing food from the tables & from your bags on the sun beds. At one breakfast I was blissfully tucking into a lovely omelette when I experienced golden rain !!!)
Lunch was also at poolside with a nice selection of dishes from local fish, soups, pasta & a special of the day all lovely.
Dinner is in the main restaurant & was delicious, lots of choice & a wide rage on offer each day. Check out the fantastic school puddings.

There are 2 bars a swim up poolside bar open all day & the seafront terrace bar open from 18:00 absolutely perfect for your sundowners. Entertainers are on each night at the terrace bar different acts each night.
The grounds are beautiful with a stunning view from the top terrace towards the ocean. The pool is excellent.

Fiona & I wanted a holiday that provided diving , safari & relaxing beach, this provided all 3 perfectly.
Don’t book the safari at the hotel, it’s much better value & choice if you go down to Diani shopping centre & shop around with the local operators. You can get the safari you want in the lodges you want & personal guide & bus.

We used Kenyan Adventures & Beyond Safaris (KABS). Saving more than £60 on the hotel reps tour & getting the itinerary WE wanted & not what the rep wanted to sell us!
KABS provided a fantastic service in a brand new van & a Masai tour guide who quietly put us in all the right places to see ALL the exiting animals & birds seemingly before all the other vans. It also seamed we got to the lodges 1st & got the best rooms.

Diving was good we used Diani Marine a good operation with 3 nice boats, all new kit & good instructors. Hello Bahati. The reef’s had healthy hard corals & teamed with marine life. No big stuff but turtles and interesting macro stuff. We experienced poor viz at 6-8mtrs. Take a 5mm as it’s quire chilly at 26 degrees & a strong serge. There’s also a wreck at 25mts that’s OK. Please watch the “ON COSTS” as they charged 5% for credit cards & beer is quite costly. We negotiated an extra day’s diving 2 tanks each with a 5 day package. If you take your own kit you get a 10% discount. Equipment hire may be quite high I think.

All in all a truly memorable holiday you won’t be disappointed. 9/10

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandFionaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed for 6 days following a virgin holidays mara to mombassa safari. By the time we arrived we were ready for a rest. We had a beach front apartment. From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff who looked after us were excellent. The food was really good with a nice variety everyday. The location was superb with both sun and shade. The beach and sea was beautiful and warm. The beach boys were not a problem to us, being firm and polite with them costs nothing. Bought a few items and went for a sail on one of the traditional dhows working of the beach. They soon remember you and stop hasseling you. The hotel owners were on site and would stop and have a chat. The monkeys liked the fruit juice and would pinch your cup if you put it down. They didn't mind the vodka mixed with the juice either. We did the glass bottom boat and snorkel trip out to the reef which was excellent, but bring your own mask as the ones provided do leak.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redders05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed here for 10 nights after a safari, booked with WT safaris Diani beach, excellent!!! We could not fault this hotel at all. Rooms spotless, lovely pool, fabulous food, what more can I say! Beautiful beach & snorkelling. (booked with captain Mike on the beachfront)
Evening meals outside on the terrrace were lovely. The bush babies actualy came out of the trees, and fed from your hand. Yes the beach boys were always there, but not too bad. Enjoyed a nice camel ride. Everything was perfect. We would definately return to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toscaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We travelled as a group of 2 couples to Kenya on 7th Sept 2009.
This hotel was perfect for us. We had Beachfront Rooms which were extremely large, they had a four poster bed with mosquito nets, sofa table and two chairs, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making equipment. There was also a table and chairs on the balcony.
The bathrooms are well equipped with both a bath and very large shower.
The view from these rooms is absolutely fantastic.
We found the food in the hotel to be of a very high standard. There is possibly not as large a choice as in some bigger all inclusive hotels, but each day the menu was varied and excellent quality and the food never seemed to be left standing around.
The staff are so friendly and polite - nothing is too much trouble for anyone.
During our stay we had a 2 day safari which we booked before we went to Kenya through D.M. Tours who are based in the shopping plaza at Diani Beach. Our trip with them was first rate, we had an open topped Land Cruiser for the 4 of us, our driver Peter was great and found us some fantastic sights. We stayed over night at Ngutuni Lodge which has it's own waterhole so you get to see plenty of animals as they come down to drink.
All in all I cannot rate this holiday highly enough - we would definately go back. If there had to be one fault I would say it is the beach boys, but just be firm and polite and they get the message.
Go and give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed 5 nights at a dodgy time of year for weather. We arraived late in the evening but were treated very well from the moment we arrived in the expansive resort. The lodges are well spaced and even if the place was full you don't feel like it is. It is a bit of a trek from Mombasa but not much worse than any of the other hotels. Amenities are limited (2 pool tables, 2 TT tables, tennis & 1 swimming pool) but they are all well cared for. I suppose the biggest thing was the evening entertainment was poor overall, circus act was excellent but this was the exception. We did not go for this as an essential part of our package but i would have been disappointed if i had. The beach is nice, literally on the doorstep. Normal winges about the beach boys but that is a fact of life across any of the hotels. They are friendly, just don't expect a quiet walk with your loved on the beach, it will be interuptted every 3 minutes ! Full mix of nationalites, 50% Brit, 50% German/Austrian/Italian. Overall, good fun for 5 nights and excellent location for snorkeling & Ali Barbours. Would recemmend it if the price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
502 reviews
2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,023 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Lagoon Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Lagoon Reef

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £90 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Lagoon Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papillon Lagoon Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing