We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonrisa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Iwonda is a wonderful hostess and she runs a beautiful boutique hotel with its own private beach front. The villas are well-appointed and very comfortable. Staff are very attentive and friendly. The food is excellent! I wish I could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa, Polska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Absolutely prime beach hotel, luxury boutique hotel with great service, excellent food and 5 stars atmosphere. The hotel is run by the friendly Polish girl Iwona who takes excellent care about all guests. Everything looks excellent and is designed in very good style. There is a nice pool, well equipped bar, lovely beach with white sand. Location at Diani beach super. Food was always fresh with a lots of fruits. Really amazing prime beach hotel !! I really enjoyed !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkadiusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the Sonrisa Hotel, this place should definitely be called the heaven on earth, we loved it! If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful place with wonderful, helpful, friendly service and views straight from Hollywood movies - you can be sure that this is the perfect place :) If you are not fans of salty water from the ocean, you can use a clean swimming pool, situated on a cliff overlooking the ocean and the fabulous sandy beach, which is located a few meters away. This place will suprise you with fresh, delicious food, lots of fruits, seafood, juices, and best breakfast I've ever had. We're sure we will visit this magical place again next year :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga_Edka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Amongst the best boutique hotels in Kenya!! Everything about this hotel was great, the rooms were awesome, the food amazing, the private beach breathtaking and the hospitality of the owner and staff fantastic!! Iwona went out of her way to make our Easter weekend perfect that was rounded off with a couples massage on the beach!! Will definitely be going back again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My sister, brother-in-law, my niece and I had the pleasure of staying at Sonrisa in March 2014 and I'm honestly not sure where to begin my praise for this gorgeous, secluded hotel. The rooms were of a very high standard, the staff/service received was exceptional and the location, well breath-taking would be an understatement. The owner's attention to detail whether this concerns the rooms, communal areas, the food, the service, was truly wonderful. The only 'negative' I would say some may point out was the half finished hotel situated to the left of Sonrisa (but when you have the amazingly beautiful Indian Ocean to look at, who on earth would think about staring at the surrounding buildings?).
I would not think twice about returning to Sonrisa – this epitomises what a tranquil beach holiday should be and I can’t wait to return. A heart-felt thank you to the owners and the staff for such a memorable time.

Room Tip: If you want to catch the amazing sunrises over the ocean, go for the sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really nice place, small luxury hotel, excellent food, great service, home atmosphere, remote and quiet area - really amazing !!! Great place to be discovered by sport fans (kitesurfing, diving etc.).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and nicely decorated with a mixture of contemporary and Aftican theme decor right on the fine sandy beach of Galu. Very friendly staff and the food is just sensational! Had a nice time during my visit and would definitely keep going back for more.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharifali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
431 reviews
8.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
995 reviews
2.2 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonrisa

Property: Hotel Sonrisa
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80-401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite You to Hotel Sonrisa, with only ten rooms. It is personal, private and has a lovely beautiful karma about it. Sonrisa is located directly on the stunning sandy white beach called Galu Kinondo (Diani Beach), the place which should satisfy even the most improper dreamers seeking for the archetype of tropical beach. Please come and relax. Let us spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing