We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diani Reef Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diani Reef Paradise”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The hotel was very clean, with a beautiful beach, nice pool and excellent ambience if you just want to get away. It is very kid friendly, with a schedule of daily activities that will keep the whole family involved e.g beach volleyball, water polo, billiards competition, tennis etc etc etc. Highlight of our stay has to be food, breakfast and dinner were excellent each of the 5 days. Staff are friendly and go above and beyond to ensure guests are well catered to, especially the front desk that was always accomodating. There are several restaurants in close proximity to the hotel, so advisable to eat out some to balance costs if your not on full board, also allows you to experience the culture. NIce hotel, look forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    200
    84
    43
    29
See reviews for
164
365
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My wife and I found the hotel very clean and efficient in every aspect of our visit. The staff are friendly and genuinely keen to help. The Entertainments team excelled with day time activities for everyone getting as many people as possible involved in the various beach and water games.The evening entertainment provided by the same team from 9.30 to 10.00 did not let us down. We also found the location perfect for our Safari with J T Safaris who we could not fault going that extra mile for everything we wanted. A holiday we would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone else with lots of experiences you will remember for ever. Thanks to everyone at the Hotel and Safari team for making our break so special.

Room Tip: On the first floor gives you a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2011

NIce hotel but in need of refurb. Very tired. Staff said that other hotels were closed for a few months a year for refurb but not this one. Staff make up for the rooms with their friendliness. Watch out for local reps telling you about VIP Lounge 25$ at airport on way home. Its a rip off just use the normal terminal which has air con. The lounge is tiny and is hotter than terminal. If you have children its ok but only one long way round to the beach and pool without stairs so difficult if you have a buggy. there is a kids club but again needs refurb, most toys broken. There are old pool tables, table tennis and games. Staff brilliant. Be prepared for small power cuts throughout the day. There is Wifi but in hot spots at Bar and Beach restaraunt. Otherwise its chargeable in room by broadband

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as they are damp from dated and leaky air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, Management at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your honest feedback about the resort.

Firstly we would like to apologize for the incomplete information passed to you by the staff. Please note that unlike other hotels we do not close down completely for any period however we do the refurbishments periodically without affecting the normal hotel operation to avoid any inconvenience to other guests.

While in light of the rooms on ground floor, they are the most preferred choice for families especially with children because they are easily accessible to the beach & swimming pool. And being very close to the beach, Humidity level and atmospheric temperature is too high which leads to condensation from airconditioning due to the different temperature inside the room and keeping it closed for a long time with Airconditioning on leads to dampness in the room unfortunately. However we are trying to curbe this issue by taking appropriate measures to control & avoid further dampness in rooms.

We thank you again for your constructive feedback and please be rest assured that we do take every feedback positively and act upon it to ensure you have a memorable stay with us at all times.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Hotel quite a drive from the airport but worth it!

The rooms are tired but perfectly adequate. We wanted a room as close to the beach as possible with a good sea view. We were shown a few and finally chose 1002. We had no Internet connection in the room for some unresolved problem which couldn't be fixed but although the hotel offered to move us we stayed due to the closeness to the sea. Wifi in the rest of the resort was fine though.

We are vegetarians and thought the French chef and his staff put on magnificent spreads every day for breakfast and dinner. We ate one night in the Sake restaurant and the food was amazing although portions too large!

The staff cannot be faulted and in particular Saumu, Susan, Naomi and Elizabeth helped with all our requests but all of the staff were brilliant.

Beach perfect, sun loungers fine and must have been expensive although some need fixing they were very sturdy and comfortable. We had no problems with the towels! 

The beach sellers walk up and down all day long and can be tiresome but amusing. We tried to buy a little something from several of them as they are very poor.

We did have an escort across the reef at low tide and made the mistake of not asking how much before we started and got stung for approx £17 for the two guides again not much to us but put dinner on the table or their kids! but ask first and don't let them walk with you if you do not want to give money!! 

We can recommend Chirat tours in the complex across the road from the hotel who we did a two day safari to Tatia Hills staying at Saltlick lodge. We saw loads of animals at very close range. We did book a trip to Wassini Island with them but due to the adverse bad weather we had it had to be canceled. They were very prompt at refunding the deposit.

We got some lovely items in the shop at the end of the arcade called Lepalm. The lady in there is very grateful and happy to receive your books when you have finished with them and I make a plea to all you Kindle readers to take at least one hard copy book to pass on as I am sure it will be read many times!

We had tea at Roi's over the road and would have eaten there as the menu looked lovely but we had paid for meals at the hotel.

We did walk to the bigger shopping centre 1km away but were accompanied by an angry young man who wouldn't go away so we were forced to take a taxi back to the hotel. It is a shame they do this as it does not help them!

We took pens, pencils and sweets for the children and also some tee shirts which were gratefully received by the chap we gave them to along the beach front.

The only sour note which put a dampener on the holiday was that my husband's sunglasses went missing from his dive bag that he took on a dive trip with him. We had hoped they would reappear but they didn't. We reported to the hotel and dive centre who contacted the police.

We can highly recommend the resort.  It is very beautiful inside, the staff are wonderful, the food was excellent and very plentiful, the beach is white and clean, the garden staff are always working to keep it looking lovely and the security staff are always there even when you wander onto the public part of the beach to make sure the beach boys don't take liberties.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

my wife and i have just returned from the diani reef resort and spa we picked the hotel because it was 5 star and not all inclusive. after a long journey as cosmos does not fly from Manchester we arrived at the hotel and have to say the hotel and grounds are fantastic you cant fault the rooms the staff were really nice.We were half board the breakfast was ok,but the meal at night which was buffet was very poor we complained twice the meal times were 7 to 1030 and if you went to eat after 8 the food already cooked was only luke warm.we both had tummy upsets and we put it down to the food there were two other resturants which you were given a discount but they were not fantastic there is a great chinese and indian opposite the hotel the food is ten times better and they serve it hot other guests said the same thing about the food being luke warm I have had better food at a 3 star all inclusive an that is what i will do next time I love Kenya and want to go back.Martin Gilbert Southport Merseyside

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillygilbert1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, Management at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to give us your honest feedback on the hotel and your stay with us.

We are sorry for not meeting your expectation in terms of food, however we beg to state that as you may see from most of the reviews we always have had excellent feedback for food in terms of quality, spread and experience at all our venues.

As you would have seen that we do have many items at Live cooking stations to ensure that that we offer the food at the right quality and temperature, while the pre-cooked food are continuously heated with fuel gel under it to maintain the right temperature & at the same time avoid getting burnt smell.

Change of weather , water and possibly some ingredients / spice in food could play a role in stomach upsets for some people, as we did not have any complaint from other 180 plus guests staying with us of upset stomach due to our food, who dined at the same restaurant. For your reference, our food is stored and prepared under strict supervision and hygiene conditions with standard checks to pre-empt any contamination or spoilage. Your health and safety are extremely important to us and we value your feedback.

The management shall however also write to you in person in this regards.

Thank you again for your feedback & please do let us know of your travel plans in future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Diani Reef Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

firstly what i think is the biggest plus point for the Diani Reef is the beautiful beach. The hotel (i understand unlike many others) has its own private beach and it is gorgeous with beautiful white sand backed with palm trees and the sea is very nice too. the sea is protected by a coral reef but u do really need sea shoes due to the coral and sea urchins. when the tide is out you can walk up to the coral reef and see marine life in the rock pools etc. the beach boys will try to take you on a tour (for a price) which at first i thought what a gimmick but it was actually very interesting as they were able to spot and identify a lot of the sea life including a very poisonous stone fish that i would not have wanted to find on our own.

The beach boys can only approach you on your way down to the sea and they do not come up to the private part where the beds are nor will the hassle you when you are in the sea. they are friendly and not aggressive at all and easy to get rid of with a firm no thank you or a small purchase. their markets are actually very good and sell good wood carvings and canvass paintings. in any event the security at the hotel are fantastic and patrol up and down the beach and certainly tell the beach boys off if they are hassling people. so do not let this put you off.
as with many of the other reviews it is fair to say that the hotel does need a touch up here and there but our room (a junior suite upgrade) was very nice.
the staff really are very friendly and the food is good too. there is good entertainment at night and the zebra nice is very nice for a drink or two before dinner!!!
on the whole i would sincerely recommend this hotel and would almost certainly go back. Kenya itself has so much to offer and is a beautiful but very poor country. we combined our stay at the diani reef with a stay at the mara bushtops for a 3 day safari and this was totally amazing!!!!

Room Tip: do keep your balcony doors shut because of the monkeys who are very entertaining!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natc082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Hotel staff excellent, nothing too much. Food very good. However wine is expensive, the pool bar cocktails are disappointing and one half of the hotel is closed off completely (a little bit spooky to be honest) but understand has been waiting re-furbishment for a couple of years - maybe to do with the economy, It is quite a drive from the airport but for a four star hotel ok. We always prefer a 5 star but non available in the area. Also we was on top floor but lift not working during our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure the lift is working if you have a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on the staff and food & honest feedback on the hotel facilities overall.

Our beverage & Wine prices are not expensive considering the cost of procurement of certain brands which may be distinct from other hotels nearby, while we offer “Happy Hours” between 6-8 pm every evening at Zebra Bar wherein a 25% discount is offered on Menu price for all drinks. We certainly shall look into your concern on the Cocktails at Pool Bar and imrpove where necessary so as to enhance the guest experience.

The far end of the resort is closed for refurbishment as it awaits certain obligatory approvals from the local administrative authorities. However since the inception, it was never a part of the inventory & hotel facilities mentioned on the hotel website or any other Operator you had booked. Also, there are notice boards at relevant areas to restrict guest access to that extreme end of the resort beyond Spa Pool.
While you would appreciate that Silent pool (Spa Pool) adds to guest advantage to relax in a soothing and calm atmosphere & spend time with no activity in or around the pool.

In light of your concern on Elevator, the resort has 2 guest elevators at both ends for ease of access to beach level as well as other floors, while the Service (Capsule) elevator is restricted from guest use, Notice for which has been displayed on the lift as well to avoid any confusion.

We thank you again for your constructive feedback and please be rest assured that we do take every feedback positively and act upon it to ensure you have a memorable stay with us at all times.

Thank you.

Kind Regards

Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,330 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing