We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A great resort. Just don't leave your outside door open or the monkeys will visit! We heard that the spa was not good value for money. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable time. The meal on the beach was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fitzfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Fitzfm,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great experience and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on Great Resort, You had enjoyable time & Great meal on the beach are well appreciated. We have also noted your comment you heard that our spa is not good value for money which will be put into consideration though we would have wished you tried the same but may be next time.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Been there, couple of years back..but the memories are still fresh because of the excellent customer service provided by the hotel staff. They have a great range of the restaurants and the coffee shop serves excellent buffet from around the world. Another great aspect of the hotel is their spa..one of the best spa visited. The recreation facilities provided for adults and kids makes it an ideal place to visit with family.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach and specially the once at the first floor. Also the first floor rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shema1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sheebamallhotra,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a memmorable one while you found our hotel beautiful and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Excellent customer service, Great range of resturants, Excellent buffet offering & Best Spa are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 days. The Hotel and rooms were fantastic. The Resort has a beautiful Swimming pool and is Green. Enjoyed the beach .
Food was good but expensive.
Service was very good especially the customer support person.

Room Tip: Try the Beach facing rooms, has a good view. Also try the rooms on the higher floors so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyrilGubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear CyrilGubbi,

It is great to know that your stay with us was good and you found our Resort to be GOOD and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on Fantastic Hotel / Rooms, Good beach to be enjoyed, Good food & Very Good service are well appreciated. We have also noted your comment on food being expensive which will be put into consideration.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Sometime in April, we set off to this hotel to celebrate our honeymoon. We checked in and rested a while in the room, the upset started when we decided to take a stroll around the hotel trying figure out what the hotel had to offer. So, as we were walking around the hotel gardens and taking photos due to excitement, a security guard approached us and demanded to know who we were and why we were there! I have never been asked such a question by securities at a hotel before. So, right there, we demanded to know why was this guard asking us such questions and ordered to go ask his manager about us. Realising that we were not budging on the matter, he then stated that a white man who was a guest, sent him to confirm if we were not trespassing at the hotel.How insane! I realised that we were the only couple of colour in the vicinity. I believe that there are other ways to deal with guests who have a challenge seeing ppl of colour around them without having to offend guests!
We also noticed that the stafff at the pool bar and beach side would greet, give attention to the white guests and not bother to even greet us. All I can say is that, this hotel is beautiful but there are still very clear elements of racism and sadly even the black staff towards black guests. As a nonKenyan, I look forward to visiting this country and spend time at the beach but I dread the experience as I have to shout n scream before good service is offered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear ThuleN,

Thanks for taking your time to give a belated review on our resort/property . The entire team had taken the raised issues into consideration since we had your sentiments recorded through our own internal guest feedback mechanism and action was taken immediately, with the results being seen from the other various reviews thereafter. However, we are also glad to note that you found the hotel beautiful and also from our records that you enjoyed both the dinner in our Sake Restaurant (Asian) and the Honeymoon Dinner for 2 by the beach. We will be happy to have you staying with us during your next visit, this particular experience not withstanding and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. Great for the kids had a wonderful time. Great food hospitality. Rooms are fantastic would ask for C20 anytime again.
The rooms set up is really well geared to families. The girls loved the Kids club. Kudos to the management team keep up he good work.

Room Tip: Cottage 20 private and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Chris d,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a fantastic one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the kids enjoying the kids club, great food & fantastic rooms are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew were in for something special - and we were not disappointed,
The hotel, staff, food and setting could not have been better. Everyone was very friendly and most helpful. The view from my window was out of this world - looking out to the wonderful beach which was kept clean and there were always loungers and towels.

After being on a four day safari it was just what we needed luxury and pamering.

The Manager was always about asking if everything was o.k which was good customer relations.

Room Tip: Choose second floor for best views - cannot say room number I was sworn to secrecy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear lesley k,

It is great to know that your stay with us was something special and a wonderful one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Excellent hotel, staff, food & setting, Room with excellent beach view, Clean beach with loungers & towels, Feeling of Luxury & pampering are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After a stressful couple of months in Nairobi needed a break down on the coast and was looking at different options. Diani Reef offered a great package included with a return flight to Nairobi. It turned out to be a great trip. Everything went smoothly with airport pickup. Great service throughout our stay. Adjoining rooms for our group. Rooms were clean and modern. Had a problem with the air conditioning and this was promptly fixed. A great selection of delicious foods at every meal. A really beautiful hotel, with a lot of extras like a pool hall and a modern work out room. Will definitely visit the Diani Reef again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isaac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Isaac J,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great trip from a much needed vacation and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the smooth airport pick up, Great service, Great selection & delicious food & beautiful hotel with extra facilities are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
619 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £72 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing