We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Beautiful location and very relaxing. It was very quiet when we visited - perhaps too quiet in the bar at night! - but that made it all the more relaxing. Our only complaint was the limited number of sun loungers on the beach and too many people 'reserving' them by leaving clothes/bags etc. even though they were nowhere to be seen for hours! I suggest the hotel either provides more or introduces a policy to stop people doing this. Apart from that, the room was excellent, service good by Kenyan standards and food choice also good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2014

Dear Pete H
We are glad to know that you had a relaxing stay us and we appreciate your comments on excellent rooms, good service and food choices.
We are in the process of acquiring more sun lounges and also wish to inform you that our policy is No reservation of Sun loungers any time as experience has shown us that this is creating enormous frictions between different guests.
Thank you for your feed back and we wish to welcome you and your family back in to the Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Good food, simple comfortable room, kept immaculate by the cleaners.
Everything worked with no shortage of teas and coffee.
The pool was amazing again kept in top condition, clean with no ear infections etc.
Generally the staff could not do enough to please, our 2 year old Granddaughter was made to feel at home everywhere including the Dinning Room (messing the table up was not a problem). If you cannot find something to eat here that you will like then you would not be satisfied anywhere!
The Diving was great with first class guide. Blue Seas, at Southern Palms, - NOT 'Dive the Crab', Some dives challenging but most enjoyable, if you enjoy drift and micro, coral, this is the place with Rays and larger species including turtle you will not be disappointed. The boat and equipment are all as new, I took only mask and snorkel, fins are slip on so do take socks to avoid blisters, recommended by Cecsi (spelt wrong I am sure) the main guide and leader - it works!!!
The Beach is great - work your way round the Beach sellers, recommend the Camels well worth 1000 Kenya Shillings nearly an hour along the beach, amazing!,
Will be returning without a doubt!!



Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This February was our 5th & final stay. The distressing decline remarked in our review of 2 years ago has continued.
1. The absence of beach beds is now critical: I had to creep to the beach in the early dawn, at 06.00 to secure 2 beds, by placing shoes, books etc. I was not the first! By 07.15 all beds were taken. An attempt had been made to rectify the problem by buying a number of the cheapest, rigid plastic loungers: these remained unoccupied, thanks to their discomfort. (The newly appointed G.M who arrived 3 days before we left, had removed them all within 24 hours!)
2. The quality & choice of food had worsened. Dinner, in particular, used to be a meal to anticipate keenly. Now, it was more a case of "will we find a reasonable meal, without having to settle for pasta?" Breakfasts remain good, but a reduced bread selection & no smoked fishes nor ham. Fortunately there were 3 good Indian chefs, so our liking for Indian cooking saved the day.
3. 2 years ago we had problems with the air-con. Same thing this year - low output for 12 of the 14 days. Complaints unheeded."Problem with the water tower!"
4. General cleanliness & maintenance of gardens, terraces, corridors & staircases was poor, although our room was well cleaned.
5. On the plus side, the staff were as courteous, friendly & attentive as ever: we were welcomed back by many of them, as friends, & looked after at every turn. Thank goodness, it compensated for the overall decline.
6. A really sloppy dress-code or, rather, lack of it at meal-times seemed to stem from the noticeable shift to a clientele from Russia, Poland & the Balkan states. Apparently the previous G.M had actively pursued those cheaper, markets instead of addressing & resolving the problems at the hotel. It is axiomatic that the pursuit of cheaper markets is a downwards spiral - & it shows!!

Apart from cost-cutting by reducing staff, non-replacement of broken loungers, etc. & a marked decline in quality of the food, the overall impression was of a lack of "hands-on" supervision & management: for 11 days we hardly saw a managerial type - this changed when the new, German, G.M. took over . Suddenly managers appeared from the woodwork & all was activity.
The new G.M. told us that he had been G.M before, in 2006, & had been rehired by the Indian owners to "sort the place out". We wished him luck, but feel it's too late

Room Tip: As high as possible: Room 5008 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2014

Dear Hugh H,
Thank you for the review on your stay.
We are so much concerned and are moving with speed to ensure improvement on our quality of services.
It is great to see that you noticed efforts being done, for instant the Sun lounges which we are working on to ensure they are available to every guest.
We wish to assure you that the management is committed to ensure that every effort is put to achieve guest satisfaction.
Our courteous and friendly staff will always be here to welcome you if you decided in the hopefully not so distant future to give the resort another chance.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Not stayed here before but had heard it was one of the nicer hotels on the South Coast.

The rooms need a make over desperately, very old and out dated especially the bathrooms which had no hot water a lot of the time. Room keys also had to be constantly re-activated which involved a long walk to reception for this.

No safe or mosquito nets in the room and had to ask for these. Air conditioning was not working properly. The phone in the room wasn't working and the electric sockets were mostly faulty.

Towels both room and pool very thin and old. Bedding in the room smelt unwashed!

Lunch food orders took around 45 minutes but the food was of good quality. Buffet very tasty with a good variety.

The best thing about this resort is it's staff, very helpful and willing to go out of their way for any small request - thank you to them for this.

Over all, the hotels needs a face lift and updating!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kizal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

To grow tired of the Diani Reef Beach Resort is to grow tired of life. We stayed there once again for two weeks between 4th and 18th February, 2014. The great aspects of it are a) the wonderful grounds and beach front b) the eager to please, friendly service always with a smile c) the excellent cuisine, particularly the abundance of tropical fruit at breakfast d) Big choice of hot buffet dinner which is often arranged "Al Fresco" in different aspect of the grounds and pool areas at night under the palms and moonlight - just exotic e) a beach location which is unbeatable, clean and wide with pure white sand lined with tall swaying palm trees trees, turquoise sea that presents no shock value when you dive in f) Rooms with good facilities, mainly partial ocean view (always request this at least).

The not so good is that it has become a little tired, needs a bit of TLC, basically some redecoration and updating with some attention to renovating garden walk ways and bridges. However they have just appointed a new Manger, Detlef Meisslein, who ran the hotel 9 years ago when he created its award winning standards. This guy is sharp and hot on getting it right. Within a two days of his arrival there was a noticeable improvement in standards.

The acid test is "Would we go back next year" - with no hesitation "Definitely YES!!!!"

Room Tip: Always chose "partial sea view" which all have good aspect or full sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here in November for 3 days. I enjoyed the service alot, the staff all knew my name! I felt very welcome. I also had a relaxing time at the spa with a very professional staff team. I will be going back there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I would like to share my experience I had together with my wife at Diani Reef. We booked this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and it was All and even more than we imagined. Despite some negative comments I encountered on tripadvisor we had not one single complaint.
The food was made on a daily base with so love and much care.
All spaces/restaurants/rooms very clean.
Staff very friendly and helpful without having a second agenda or wanting to take advantage.
The room (for its standard) very spacious and nice with great vieuw.
The gardens clean and well maintained.
Big surprise when we received a big cake in our room for our anniversary with compliments from the management.
For the rest I wanted to tell you a comment David the chef made: when we thanked him for the food he said that we decided to come to Diani reef and want to enjoy the place without wanting to be busy cooking therefore he sees it his obligation to cook for us so we can do what we came
for and that is relaxing.

This comment fits exactly the philosophy I see which is applied in this resort.

Thank you again for these 4 wonderful days. WE WILL COME BACK!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
4.1 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
613 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £93 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing