We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is amazing,staff could not do enough to help you rooms were spotless, pool was perfect .Weather perfect we went in May and worried about monsoon,we did have one and it was a refief from the heat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The booking had been done for a conference/seminar for 5 days / I would like to highlight the following about my stay there.

1. The welcome was good, the lady at the reception was quite welcoming and the escort to the room was good .
2. Any issues I had were sorted quickly and in good time
3. The room was very clean and the cleaning guys did a good job
4. Breakfast was the only meal I was entitled to . It was good though it could do with more variety
5. The gym was well manned and was quite an experience

The only demerit about my experience was the tendency of staff ( especially during breakfast ) to .ignore locals . I practically , had to 'beg' for service every breakfast time which was not appealing

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a clear view of the beach
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuchiriNai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing time, the staff were fantastic, loved the food, the rooms were awesome,. The staff paid attention to detail. Loved the cocktails, and the friendliness of the staff. The price is great for the servicea offered. I llook forward to going back there again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have visited your hotel twice now .. the second time because a friend insisted that we give you a second try but just like the first time i was highly disappointed.
The rooms and facilities are sub standard, the buffet is rather too boring and repetitive, on the 3rd day we actually went elsewhere to eat after seeing what was on your buffet - same menu we'd had the night before. Being a chef myself that was disappointing.
The staff treatment was apauling .. they caucasians first and better treatment and we had to find a waiter for ourselves each time and they didn't seem to have proper training, were not courteous and never once apologetic for their disrespect, rudeness or for keeping us waiting.
Definitely not giving it a 4th try nor recommending it! I recommend you give your competitors in Watamu a visit and see how they run their hotels.

Room Tip: I would say don't visit ... rather go to Watamu, you'll be spoilt rotten. Best hotels, frien...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mdalasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Lovely experience, the hotel was of high standard and the beach was clean. The food was excellent and the service amazing. Bathrooms need a refurbishment but not too bad. The water sport section was abit overpriced for Kenya and was not manned so it took ages to find out the rates.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 83Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRBRS, Management at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear 83Daniel,
We appreciate your feedback on the Lovely experience you had in our Resort and the comment on the excellent food and service offered.
We are working on scheduled light refurbishments on our Bathrooms and rooms in general.
We have taken note of your comment on our Water sports Centre and we will action on it.
We will be delighted to welcome you back in the Resort for another memorable experience and like to thank you for sharing your experience.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here early March 2014. First off, when we first arrived the treatment could be better. We were kept waiting with our bags, after a long drive, as the sole receptionist tended to other guests.
When we finally got our room, the AC was in a horrible state and the room had a damp odour. Clearly it had not been aired in a while, and the AC was not working well. When we complained, the receptionist sent over a can of air freshner! who does that?? we finally got another room, but it was marginally better. There is a limited selection of TV channels, which are mainly in German. The rooms are old and have not been updated for years. Towels are old. This was especially disappointing as we came from a place in Watamu where we were spoiled by the staff.
At the dining, the kitchen staff (namely the cooks) are rude, and showed a clear preference to the Caucasians. The buffet has lots to eat, but is repetitive. After 2 days it got boring.
We were on our honeymoon, something which the booking agent relayed to the hotel management before our arrival. This only got through to them on our last night, when they wanted to fill the tub with roses, and gave us a cake that was just filled with cream.
Only positive thing is the gym is quite well equipped. All their pools have salty water, so you will be disappointed if you wanted something different from the sea water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2014

Dear Nathan W
First of all we like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments and hope you accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. Let us assure you that we will look into each and every point you mentioned and take appropriate action.
We are putting every effort to make sure our esteemed guests have the best services.
Allow us to serve you another time and experience the difference.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Beautiful location and very relaxing. It was very quiet when we visited - perhaps too quiet in the bar at night! - but that made it all the more relaxing. Our only complaint was the limited number of sun loungers on the beach and too many people 'reserving' them by leaving clothes/bags etc. even though they were nowhere to be seen for hours! I suggest the hotel either provides more or introduces a policy to stop people doing this. Apart from that, the room was excellent, service good by Kenyan standards and food choice also good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 March 2014

Dear Pete H
We are glad to know that you had a relaxing stay us and we appreciate your comments on excellent rooms, good service and food choices.
We are in the process of acquiring more sun lounges and also wish to inform you that our policy is No reservation of Sun loungers any time as experience has shown us that this is creating enormous frictions between different guests.
Thank you for your feed back and we wish to welcome you and your family back in to the Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,342 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
4.1 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
610 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £99 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing