We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected luxury and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We booked a junior suite over the internet, but you are cheaper off booking the hotel with one of the tour operators. The welcome at the hotel after our safari organised with JT SAFARIS (to be recommended) was exemplary: towel to refresh, cocktail, personal introduction by the Indian General Manager and personal assistants. The junior suite we had the first night had a garden view and only a very indirect ocean view, but we mentioned this to the staff and the second day we could rebook to a centrally located junior suite (room 5009). The room is very big, nicely done and the presentation of the beds was nice to see. The staff is really absolutely very helpful and trying to make your stay as nice as possible. We truly enjoyed our week there: the food is absolutely top, with the Indian chef cook and the rest of his team; prices of the drinks are acceptable (except for the wine that is overly expensive). The beds do not have mosquito nets, buts this is not necessary as the windows have good protection and the hotel sprays most evenings at 6 pm against mosquitos in the whole area outside. The beach is lovely. We truly liked it and seriously consider to go back. In the Spa, we took a sauna (not cheap) and my wife had also a treatment. The 10+ animation team has a simple programme, which is good enough for us and does not harass you to participate. In the evening, we enjoyed after dinner mostly the casino, where the minimum bet is 25KSH (25 eurocent), so a lot of fun for a minimal expenditure! After having read all the bad things about the beach boys, I must say that they do not harrass you. If you want to do business, please do; if not, that is fine as well. All in all, the hotel presented a luxury we did not expect to get in Afrika and we are happy to have been their guests for a most enjoyeable week.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

We spent one week at Diani in May and i must say its worth the price! the atmosphere is just amazing, the service is very good trained and concerned about the guests, not forgettting the Buffet which was always very deliciuos. Its a very qiuet place to spend a relaxation holiday and i would recomend it for people who dont want to move around while on holiday.
I would also recomend the taxi driver Janet who is very nice and very flexible. We will definately consider staying at diani next time we are in Kenya.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty36_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in a junior suite. Hospitality was amazing and food catered for all tastes.
From Ukunda airport the journey time to the hotel is about 10minutes. Greeted by a flower bouquet and a scented room. Beddings and towels luxurious.

Enjoyed the holiday - careful of the monkeys . Also a bit noisy as swimming pool is located just next to the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunspotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Superb hospitality, genuine and attentive staff, and beautiful grounds made our stay here incredible and unforgettable. My husband and I recently celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here and everyone from the General Manager to our waitstaff made us feel like truly valued guests. We received a complimentary room upgrade upon mention of our celebration which was greatly appreciated. This is a wonderful place to relax and soak up some sun or participate in the scheduled group activities which were a lot of fun! The spa provides a vast array of services and believe me, you must take advantage of this luxury if you are staying here! This was our first trip to an all-inclusive resort as we have typically avoided them in the past in favor of boutique hotels, however, Diani Reef changed my beliefs and I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for great value, service, and a beautiful location right on Diani Beach. Asante to the management and staff of Diani Reef. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel was amazing from the time you enter and being showered with rose petals, being given a refeshing cool towel and a lovely fruity drink you feel like u have just stepped into a piece of heaven the staff were all fantastic and more than hapy to help at anytime!!! the food was good and had an assortment of food styles!! There Oriental restarunt was fab to and the cocktails at the zebra lounge were amazing! the rooms were spacious and clean the bed was super comfy.... We visited the spa and were treated like royalty! the only downfall is as soon as you leave the premisis you are surrounded by locals trying to barter with you! But the hotel has security on site 24/7 and there are so friendly and happy to help! the beach was beautiful and the pool was sooo refreshing! I wold definatly recommend this holiday for coulpes, familys and friends a good time all round!!! and if you go to kenya you must go on safari AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becci85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Positives:
Good manager and excellent gym instructor (sorted out my back problems)
Excellent Services
Good range of facilities
Food was excellent
Clean rooms and air conditioned rooms
High quality massage on the beach, 5min walk from hotel
Monkeys and Herons are a commonly seen in the hotel
Beach area get cleaned everyday - so no weeds
Pool gets cleaned with regular activitie
Games room and cinema room is a must

Negatives:
Beach boys really get you, but they leave you after few days

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thakrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The hotel staff always went out of the way to make us comfortable. This hotel is well located in Diani beach with an amazing beach and hardly any beach boys hassling you. The food served here is excellent and caters for both veg and non veg. The hotel manager (Aditya) was extremely friendly and helpful ensuring our needs were catered for through out the holiday. This hotel is a definite 5*. We have stayed in a number of hotels on Diani Beach, however this hotel stands out due to its decor, spa, service, food and beach location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TannaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
475 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,053 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing