We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterlovers Beach Resort(Diani Beach)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinondo Kwetu(Diani Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
402
218
88
45
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
218
88
45
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfins restaurantbeach boysthe general managerour honeymoonbreakfast and dinnerbeach restauranthalf boardquiet poolanimation teamfresh towelssea facingprivate beachkids clubbeach bedsindian oceanwhite sandtwo weeks
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

On the plus side the staff are very good and the general manager does keep a personal eye on everything. The food was very good with a lot of choice tho we did had stomach upsets so stuck to cooked food after that. New Year dinner and entertainment on the beach was excellent with very good fireworks. The room was adequate but not enough drawers for clothes. On the other hand drinks are very expensive and they ran out of some wines. There are not enough sun beds or parasols especially on the beach. The linens and towels are a bit tired and the soft furnishings are a bit stained. The bathroom is very tired looking especially around the door. We were going to eat in the other restaurants but when we saw the price it wasn't worth it. Having part of the hotel shut down and derelict doesn't look good either.It isn't a 5star hotel maybe 4 but hearing comments from guests in other hotels it is one of the better ones in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarG1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We found this hotel very comfortable, clean with excellent service.
The staff were very friendly, attentive and professional.
Considering the management is relatively new, they achieved a lot so far and I am sure that they will do very well in their new venture.
We especially appreciated the fact that manager of the hotel, very much had a hands on approach and was always there and approachable.
Ajit and Malti Patel

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajitpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Have been meaning to write a review about this resort for a while and have just got round to .The staff make this hotel a great holiday being so friendly and accomodating .I also cant fault the general manager whose hands on approach to customer service was faultless. Unfortunately the resort lets itself down by catering more for "rich locals" rather than the intenational clientele that makes up the bulk of their custom. It was quiet an interesting and unexepected lesson in Kenya's culture.

Windsurfing equipment was poor - beach was great - beachboys a nuisance but bearable -

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed at the Diani Reef Beach Resort and Spa in December for two weeks and i have to say that the hotel was fantastic and is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We have never encountered such wonderful people as those in this resort, every member of staff were friendly and helpful. I would like to give a special mention the General Manager Aditya who went beyond his call of duty to make us feel welcome. He really looked after us especially when we were stranded there for an extra three days due to the snow in the UK, he went out of his way to really look after us. The food was absolutely amazing with so much variety and a palate to suit every taste. A special mention to the head chef Kislay who gave us that personal service and made food as per our requests.

The facilities and location of this hotel is excellent. The beach was beautiful and clean and the beach boys did not hassle you much. The spa was good - i had a massage and facial done and by far it was one of the best massages i have ever had done. The animation team were brilliant providing various activities such as water aerobics, water volleyball/polo and beach volleyball during the day and performing shows during the night entertainment. The Kids club was good with a variety of activities for the children but best of all my children (aged 4 and 6) made so many friends that they would willingly go to the kids club 2-3 hours day giving us a chance to relax and enjoy the fantastic weather.

We did a two day one night safari to Tsavo East which we booked with Julius Safari, which was an amazing experience. We saw a lot of animals and our driver Paul was very knowledgeable so we learnt a lot from him. The kids really enjoyed the safari.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday and i would absolutely recommend Diani Reef Beach Resort hotel as the best place to stay in Mombasa. It is an all rounded hotel with good location, great beach, execellent staff, excellent food and the best hospitality.

Mital and Rushna. UK

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed at the above over the festive period, we were made very welcome by the excellent staff at this hotel. Great location, good food, good facilities, accommodation good, overall the hotel was very good, best in the area by far. We had the usual beach traders. but not as bad as either side of our resort, as there were good friendly security guards, to cur tel the pestering.
The hotel manager and his team pulled out all the stops to make Christmas and new year a memorable one.
Traveled from Gatwick to Mombasa via Monarch Airlines, 4 out of 10 say no more! But were very helpful at Gatwick Airport due to delays with weather conditions, put up in a hotel and well fed, 10/10!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews