We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

had a fantastic, relaxing experience here. cottage was roomy and private. had lots of room on porch and always had free beach cabanas right in front of my cottage. service was fantastic and food was good. after i caught fish in the ocean, the chef cooked them for me free of charge.
the peddlers on the beach were a bit pushy, but the ocean more than made up for this.
overall an excellent, relaxing experience here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countziggenpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have spent 1 week at the hotel. Atmosphere was really nice and you felt very private hence the hotel part is quite small and not so many cottages. We liked the beach, was nice to just relax at the beach or pool. They have wifi at the pool, so you can easily be on the iPad or phone. Cute cheeky monkeys around. Our room (300 smth) was ok. Specious and with nice bed and seating area. Bathroom was also ok. This is just a bit different than European standards though. Different but not worse. Breakfasts were great, dinners ( a la carte) were just ok. It is a bit far to some shops so u need to take a cab (350 kes) as we couldn't see any tuk tuks. It is quite a ride from Mombasa but the beach is worth it. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is friendly, and the food is amazing! I went on a solo trip here and felt very safe, comfortable and welcomed. The restaurant staff were particularly friendly. My beach cottage (#35 - Pumzika) was only a few feet from the beach and it was gorgeous! I loved having my own private paradise including personal chairs on the lawn, and appreciated the extra security on the beach. I went SCUBA Diving with Dive the Crab and while visibility wasn't great, the staff was very friendly and knowledgable. I would definitely make a return visit to The Sands. It's great for relaxing and resting and rejuvenating. I also recommend getting a massage - the outdoor setting is very peaceful and the staff quite good. Loved the Swedish Massage and the Indian Scalp Massage.

Room Tip: If it's only 1 or 2 of you, get a beach cottage. They are private and right on the beach. Feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunandFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I loved the Sands at Nomad. Beautiful beach. Good food. Relaxed environment. Also get a massage! It was an amazing holiday. Just for relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

fantastic place on the beach. Have a lunch there and you will feel like in paradise!
Food is good as service. Rooms are beautiful especially that one with private swimming pool. Ask for rooms beach front,the best. You will have problem to go back home after that. They organize a local show also. Fish food is delicious. Pizza it's very good even because the owner is italian. Try this place and let me know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife have been heer for 10 Danys, and enjoyed all the of this luxuary and charming boutique hotel.
Rooms: we first hooked a standard seaview room, but decided to Pay for an upgrade to an oceanview suite (with private jacuzzi) room 19, which really was amazing. I highly recommend to book this kind of room or a beach cottage, just to experience the extra touch.
Staff: excellent service and very friendly.
Pool: small but idyllic. Poolbar open 24h.
Spa: massages are just perfect, and only for 25 € / hour!
Restaurant and beachbar at the beach. A fantastic spot.
Quality of food is top level, and there is enough variation to eat diiferent meals for a month. Everything day à la carte and theme buffets.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have visited The Sands at Nomad several times. And it's absolutely our spot! And we've always thought that everything was great: Service is top notch, food, ambiance and setting is perfect and the rooms great!
And then. Then we decided to get married there, and got blown away!
We came to Claudia & Richard with basically nothing but this: Flowers: Birds of Paradise. Theme: Fun.
And we ended up with the most amazingly beautiful, classy, fun, powerful and fantastic wedding. Claudia has an eye for details that any wedding-planner in Hollywood would die for. And planning a wedding with her and Richard was both fun, inspiring and made sure that neither bride or groom ever had any wedding-jitters. We knew that everything was taken care of - and would be absolutely perfect.
Together we figured out tons of great details, like acrobats & camels, food, gospel choir, surprice cakes and so much more.
But nothing could prepare us for just how perfect everything was. Claudia is noting less than a star! We we're WAUW'ed by everything - and so was our guests who had flown in from all over the world.
Not only had Claudia & Richard managed to surpass all our expectations, they had also managed to put in little extra surprises for us. They pulled this wedding off - in style!
And all the staff was 100% behind us and our day too. They were counting down, working their behinds off and did a heck of a job!
So. The Sands at Nomad is great for a holiday! And if you're looking for your beach-wedding-location. Stop looking. You will never find a better place and there are only one Claudia. And she's all you really need!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vibe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
563 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £130 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing