We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Loved the hotel. this is our third visit and their consistency is commendable.the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.The beach is awesome and the atmosphere is so peaceful. The food is great too... we had a wonderful time and look forward to going there again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    85
    15
    9
    10
See reviews for
77
224
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Gorgeous landscape, impeccable service, fantastic food, and spacious rooms. The hotel is right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. I felt like I was in an oasis it was so quiet and relaxing. The staff was incredibly helpful and made our stay even very enjoyable through their kindness and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuohy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel,amazing beach and gardens, very good restaurant - great food and not expensive at all- and also very nice staff. It´s quiet and exclusive,perfect to relax and enjoy the sun and the Inidian Ocean. Very different to the other resorts around in Diani Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have spent one week at the hotel.The breakfast buffet is traditional, but other than that, the food is really good. The rooms are nice and clean but small at the main building. If you booked a cottage at the beach - you made the best choice.The staff is very service minded. The beach ist great but it is a public beach and the the peddlers are really pushy, so you often decide to spend the day at the pool.

Room Tip: If you booked a cottage at the beach - you made the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having stayed here a couple of times, we found ourselves going back again in March 2012. The breakfast buffet is very traditional, but other than that, the food is really good. Try the sushi!

The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is very service minded. The pool area and the restaurant areas are just great and overall the whole place has a very nice beach feel and ambience to it. Compared to some of the other hotels on Diani Beach you get your moneys worth here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

had a fantastic, relaxing experience here. cottage was roomy and private. had lots of room on porch and always had free beach cabanas right in front of my cottage. service was fantastic and food was good. after i caught fish in the ocean, the chef cooked them for me free of charge.
the peddlers on the beach were a bit pushy, but the ocean more than made up for this.
overall an excellent, relaxing experience here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countziggenpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have spent 1 week at the hotel. Atmosphere was really nice and you felt very private hence the hotel part is quite small and not so many cottages. We liked the beach, was nice to just relax at the beach or pool. They have wifi at the pool, so you can easily be on the iPad or phone. Cute cheeky monkeys around. Our room (300 smth) was ok. Specious and with nice bed and seating area. Bathroom was also ok. This is just a bit different than European standards though. Different but not worse. Breakfasts were great, dinners ( a la carte) were just ok. It is a bit far to some shops so u need to take a cab (350 kes) as we couldn't see any tuk tuks. It is quite a ride from Mombasa but the beach is worth it. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
4.3 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
200 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Property: The Sands at Nomad
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing