We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Resort - No Character”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at a few places in Diani and the Sands was pretty average.
Staff were ok, but the vibe not great. If you like your bigger type resorts then this is the place but if you are looking for a more boutique place, then suggest lookign elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris2010hendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

The main pros about this hotel are:

1) It is very relaxing/quiet and a lovely place to unwind. We spent 5 nights at Swahili Beach hotel, followed by 5 nights at Sands at Nomad. Sands at Nomad was a complete contrast as the hotel is more boutiquey with fewer guests (and less hawkers on the beach), and therefore feels more intimate/relaxing. There is a greater sense of privacy as the bungalows on the beach each have their own sunbeds and private area.

2) The beautiful stretch of beach it is in front of - the beach along Diani is variable and this is the best stretch with super fine, unspoilt, soft sand and clear, green water. We were excited about how beautiful the beach was every day that we stayed there! The wind conditions whilst we were there looked good for windsurfing and kitesurfing.

We stayed in the main building at the front of the property (rooms with forest view). I would describe the rooms here as fairly basic (probably of 3 star quality), with good beds and good showers. There are not so many facilities - there is a spa, the gym has v few pieces of equipment and is outdoors, so guests were generally sunbathing/reading/resting.

The hotel owns the forest area around it, which adds to the beautiful surroundings. It also has a good restaurant on the beach. The breakfast buffet is served here, and you can get lunch and dinner from here too. There aren't many other food places within walking distance so we mainly ate our lunches here and had a few dinners here too. I thought the food was good quality - there is japanese sushi (including vegetarian sushi which was delicious), a wood fire oven serving pizzas, and very good pasta dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashni86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent two nights here, 18-20/01/2013. We booked a cottage on the beach, location fantastic.the cottages are the best place in the resort. Booking a cheaper forest view room we would not have enjoyed the pleasant view and "noise" of the Indian Ocean from the room. We had two dinner à la carte: food very good, maybe a bit expensive. As it was off season, I suppose, there were also many trainees as waiters: maybe too much invasive, often asking whether everything was good or trying to take plates away while they were still full of food. They'll learn how to be good waiter. However, everything here is fantastic and relaxing. Beautiful place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Diabolik1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

While i do not stay at tbe hotel,as I have my own place i do like to take the family to the beach bar and know that all will be well nevcer a disappointment.But that is to be expected romthe same owner as Leonardos.Attention to detail in furniture etc is fine a man who is very obviously in love with wood as a material.
The staff always in clean uniforms and good with children.
The food is what a lot of people call good and it is for Kenya ,however If compered to what you would get from a hotel in Europe of the same quality it is still 10 years behind but then 99% of Kenya food outlets have not cjhanged in the last 10 years and I feel this may cost them in the future.Yes the prices are "for Kenya" at the higher end but again for a European less than a high stret cafe .If you want a quiet relaxing afternoon in a family friendly (no drunks) atmosphere then this is the place to go and do so while the kids play on a perfect beach in clear sight.Hopefully a restauranrt in DIANI will start to offer some high end cuisine soon especially as the raw materials would make this easily affordable.
Finally the only thing I not so much disliked but found a bit of a mish mash was the Christmas bazaar where all the staff were wearing SANT CLAUS hats in a 35c heat wave
Plus points for the owner who eco credentials in helping to maintain some of the last remaining natural woodland on Diani commendable

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREVxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My partner and I just spent a super nice weekend at the Sands at Nomad. We arrived to the hotel without any previous booking and in the first night we stayed usual Sea Breeze hotel room. In the next day we changed the room to sea view room, which was just AMAZING! it was directly on the beach and had even a jacuzzi on the balcony with view to the sea. We were welcomed with a plate full of fresh fruits and a with the friendliest smiles. In addition to wonderful location and very professional and friendly staff it was also surprising how privet we felt there while there were actually quite a number of other guests.
It truly was very nice and relaxing experience even though it was just for the weekend. I am definitely planning to stay there again when i take my holidays on Diani. My family is coming to visit me in Africa in the beginning of 2013 and to give them the best holidays when visiting Diani i am planning to book them at the Sands at Nomad as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Loved the hotel. this is our third visit and their consistency is commendable.the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.The beach is awesome and the atmosphere is so peaceful. The food is great too... we had a wonderful time and look forward to going there again next year :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Gorgeous landscape, impeccable service, fantastic food, and spacious rooms. The hotel is right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. I felt like I was in an oasis it was so quiet and relaxing. The staff was incredibly helpful and made our stay even very enjoyable through their kindness and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuohy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,575 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £120 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing