We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Paradise”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in Paradise”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sands at Nomad a couple of weeks ago. The great thing about this place is the feeling that you're in your own private beach. It's the best.

The ocean views are absolutely phenomenal; walking into the hotel and the architecture isn't imposing as it almost feels carved out of the natural environment.

We had booked the Sea breeze but management gave us an amazing Ocean breeze upgrade, Asante Sana... :-) The management and staff was very accommodating; from booking arrangements with Rosaria to Ken thanks for charging my cellphone :-).

The food was phenomenal, we had so many choices I didn't know where to start. PS: the bar and restaurant is open 24/7 so we ate at our leisure.

Bottom line if you're looking to relax at the coast, you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. Thank you guys for making our stay feel like paradise.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    83
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
75
222
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband and 2 sons 16 and 22 have just returned from the most lovely stay at Nomads on Diani Beach. We had a beautiful beach cottage with the loveliest views over the Indian Ocean. The boys went kitesurfing and I lay under a palm tree . I especially enjoyed 4pm when a nice cup of tea and cakes was served by the pool. In the evenings we enjoyed the buffets and pizzas and delicious ice creams. It just seems to be very well managed and a genuine desire from the staff and management for guests to really relax and enjoy themselves. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a very special and relaxing holiday.
Thank you to the staff and management.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireenwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I spent a few days here after working as a volunteer and was really looking forward to a bit of luxury after being in pretty basic conditions. The staff were lovely, and the atmosphere of the place is nice, but I really felt it was grossly overpriced for what it is. For the amount you pay, even when discounted, I would expect to have complimentary bottled water and personal tea and coffee making facilities at least. The lack of a bath was also a disappointment, though perhaps more understandable.
So, nice enough, but not worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diverdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jard, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed at the Sands at Nomad at the end of April, just before the hotel closed for the low season. Because of that, we got an excellent rate directly from the hotel so we decided to splurge and take a beach side cottage. The hotel is really beautiful with friendly staff and great service. The location is also stunning. Breakfast was an amazing spread. And the spa there is lovely, with properly trained masseurs.
The cottage itself was very spectacular from the outside. Inside, the bedroom was lovely but the bathroom was a bit dated and mouldy. Also, there were a lot of insects in the room and many of them managed to get under the mosquito netting so at times we felt like we were sharing the bed with a whole population of little creatures! Also on the negative side, we didn't like the dinner/lunch food we ordered. Nothing we had there was particularly tasty. That might be better when there are more guests and the evening buffet is on. Otherwise, I'd recommend going out for dinner each night if you can. Aside from that, loved it and would go back in a flash!
As an aside, April is an excellent time to go if you want a beach free of beach boys. We went swimming and walking every day with very little hassle.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The bedrooms were dire - we had a "luxury two bed suite" - nothing luxury about it. So small you could barely walk around the beds. Bugs crawling about everwhere in the room. Scratched dirty glass in the windows. Insects in the bath and sink. Air conditioning either hanging off the wall or not working properly. Restaurant toilets too filthy and disgusting to use. All the decor very tatty and old. Boundary fences broken and smashed down.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oscarandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We booked directly with Sands having looked at their website as we were looking for a boutique hotel and it was just like their website, no different, the views, rooms and Susan handled all my enquires, she was very professional all through. Richard and Claudia are perfect hosts, we felt we knew them personally and a hearty thanks to Claudia for all the nightclubs hospitality which we enjoyed. Richard (and his little son) was wonderful in fishing sea urchins especially for my partner who still can't stop mentioning this to his friends. The beach cottage was perfect, the dining, the warm sea and clean sand made the holiday really good. Security is perfect all around the beach and the dining area is clean, excellent food and every evening drinks were made to our taste especially the 'magaritas'. Our evenings were made more special with meeting and hearing great stories by Kurt (who owns the Yacht) - a very likeable guy with a great personality. The staff were all good and Kennedy including our driver Salmon who accompanied us to Mombasa. We met some wonderful people there, also on holiday, Astrid, who we shall remain friends with. We now have the blues and want to see everyone again and sit by the bar and swim in that sea. Most enjoyable and special trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picasso100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My stay at Hotel Nomad at the Sands at Diani Beach was honestly and simply the best time in my life!
It´s an amazing place, so friendly people, exellent food, fantastic beach, sand and water; i never felt a single second uncomfortable, because i was there on my one. Everybody made me feel heartly welcome there! The rooms are simply wonderfull, all clean and made of wood and with special design. It´s an really relaxing and quiet place there, though you can have the best holiday there ever!
Also you can book another trips from the hotel to go to safari and so one. I did (at my second week there) an amazing 2 day airsafaritrip from there to masai mara- likewise a wonderfull time!
So i can heartly advice this Hotel- and for sure, i will come back!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank a_mikesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Property: The Sands at Nomad
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing