We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“still exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

it was such a pleasure staying at the sands at nomads again.

i was thrilled to see the service levels were excellent, the gardens still so wonderfully kept - the rooms had a few more extra's than my last visit and still spotless and so comfortable...the pool clean and inviting...superb clean beach!

i really felt it was a like a 'home away from home'

i salute the management for keeping up the standards!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    79
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
71
218
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Sands at nomad is about 1,5 to 2 hours away from Mombasa Airport (depending on the traffic).
KARIBU! Warmly welcomed, with cocktail and flowers, in the room were a plate of fresh tropical fruits and fresh flowers.
We also got for free 2x 30 minutes back massage the day after arrival.
We booked a simply double room in the forrest (number 9). Typical african style made with massive wood. Big enough for two people spending the whole day outside.
Bathroom with shower (without curtains...) provided with shampoo and shower gel, towel a little bit old but clean, hair dryer.
Air conditioning was too noisy so that we had to choose between noise or hot temperature.
There was a safe, incense, minibar, TV, telephone, mosquito net and candle in case of blackout (happened twice, but quickly repaired).
Very nice beach, but could be better if only algae were amassed.
White sand. Nice, clean, transparent, hot ocean water.
The ocean is only few steps from the hotel, but to reach it you have to spend time with the beach boys.
The first day you are really bombarded. Everybody want to sell something. And every time you cross the beach to go in or out of the water you have to spend some time with them.
If you buy something maybe you have eventually your peace and relax...
We booked half board, breakfast and dinner.
The restaurant is on the beach with separated zone for smokers and no smoking.
There is buffet or menu à la carte. Both are in price included. Otherwise we found the prices a bit high.
The food was good. Every night a different selection from different countries.
There is a little swimming pool, a massage center, gratis internet corner, gratis tea/coffee with cakes in the afternoon.
Bar and reception are 24 hours open. If you leave in the night you get early breakfast without additional costs.
We booked a two days safari at the Tsavo East NP with Raha Tours & Travels (a beach boy sold us the trip). We stayed at Voi Wildlife Lodge and everything was OK.
Also the hotel organizes trips but too expensive.
The staff, restaurant, reception, guards, EVERYBODY IS VERY FRIENDLY.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NadPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Alles war einfach PERFEKT, von A bis Z !!!
Already the ARRIVAL and check-in at the NOMAD is an event ! They welcome you with the flowers, with the coctails, with the smile on their faces, they are friendly and assist you in anything you need from the very beginning. Your STAY in this hotel is like a perfect dream, fairy-like experience.
Every single day brings you the feeling to be in a paradise and the only sad thing is that ... someday you will be leaving.
Still, there is always the positive thing - you may always come back here.
WE WIL CERTAINLY COME BACK TO NOMAD as soon as possible !

Perfect service everywhere - at the reception, in the restaurant, in the therapy center (best regards to Pamela there !), on the beach, in the room (room-service possible at any time)
Richard - General Manager and Claudia - his wife make you feel like at home and their professional way and engagement is simply amazing.

The rooms are big, beautifully furnished, clean and professionally taken care of (we were living in a Cottage No. 30). You have the TV-set (satelite TV), mini-bar, air-condition and all these things at your disposal, even internet, tefephone, etc.
Bed-clothes changed every second day, towels - everyday.
The room is cleaned every morning.
Make sure to take some old T-shirts, clothing and the things like that with you to Kenia - they might be of use for the local personnel and some other people you meet there - they will be delighted to get some souvenirs from you. Prepare some Kenian Schillings (100 banknotes at the best) for the tips and skip on US Dollar or EURO, as these are not of a big use for the gardners, weiters and some other personnel. You may use the Barclay's Bank around to collect Kenian Schillings. Do not take too many things (clothing, cosmetics, etc.) with you to Diani Beach. You may get these things locally, even in a perfect boutique at NOMAD or in a Shopping Center nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannauWojtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel describes itself as boutique - but it misses the mark on several counts. Bedrooms OK, but beds uncomforatable, bathroom OK, but when you shower, the floor swims in water, which doesn't dry for hours. Restaurant OK, but really mixed up menu, so much on it, including daily buffet, that you get the feeling nothing can be that fresh - simpler would be be better

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna via USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed three nights in a beach cottage and were very disappointed that we choose to stay at this resort. The resort itself is old and is need of a major renovation. The bedding, sheets, and towels are dingy and old. There is poor lighting throughout the cottage, and the shower is nothing more than a stall. While the food is satisfactory, the restaurant and the furnishings are dirty. In addition, cats and a dog roam freely throughout while patrons are eating. On the positive side, the local staff are extremely nice and they try their best to make everyone feel welcome. Also, the spa services were above average.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExpatinVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We only had 4 days here after safari, but they were gorgeous!!
Our room was with one double, one twin, bathroom and a sitting room with a terrace over looking the beach KOMBA. Very comfortable beds, mosquito nets and loads of towels. We did have an attack of cockroaches that left us nervous but staff came and dealt with them and left us with cans of spray in case they returned!!
The food was fantastic, with some amazing buffets (seafood was such good value) breakfast was cooked in front of you at your order. The hotel's ice cream counter was very well stocked with good quality ice cream. The two bars were well equipped to give you any cocktail, but this was at hotel prices. The beach was the widest, longest and whitest i had seen. Beach boys were around but the hotel's friendly security kept an eye out and approached them the minute you gave them a sign. We found the locals very friends and not solely interested in your money but in where you were from and what you thought of their country.
The craftsmen on the beach were also very fair and did not let us down.
I wish we could have stayed for longer - next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Reviews from Tripadvisor lead me inquire about a stay with Sands at the Nomad. The reservation manager promptly replied to my inquiry. I asked a lot of question as this was the first (but not last) visit to Sands at the Nomad and Kenya. All of my questions were promptly and delightfully answered regarding the rooms, the food, the location, along with recommendations about a safari.

Upon my arrival in Mombasa, the driver was waiting with a friendly smile and sign from the resort. upon my arrival at the hotel a short while later, 3 more friendly smiles welcomed me with Jambo Jambo. (hello, hello).... my arrival to the hotel was approximately 2am yet the staff was happy and welcoming. The porter showed me to my room with a smile and informed me of the time for breakfast and the location of the restaurant. once to the room, a quick tour was given showing me location of the lights, drinking water and rest of my very spacious and comfortable accommodations.

the next morning i woke to the beautiful view (5 meters away) of the ocean and 10km of perfect beach. the sand is soft and the ocean is warm and clean.. after a short walk down the beach i headed for the restaurant.

the hostess and staff all greeted me with a smile.. they prepared my order with pleasure along with a sincere smile. the restaurant menu is "westernized" yet offers flavors of a local taste.. The selection of food and beverages for breakfast are sure to please any appetite.. The view of the ocean from the open air restaurant is endless and breath taking. the wait staff is friendly and sincere. lunch and dinner are plentiful and excellent in quality. the sushi selection is good and the fish is always fresh. the wine list is extensive and well rounded. the food will not disappoint.

a short walk of the property introduced me to a majority of the staff who all welcomed me with a smile and "jambo jambo".... at first you ask yourself if everyone is "really" this friendly.. after two weeks of relaxation, excellent food and service, you realized, yes, they are as happy and friendly as the rest of the world should be.

my days continued with nothing less than perfection and warm smiles greeting me with every jambo jambo.

the resort size is perfect, the staff which caters to your every need is perfect and the happiness and friendliness of everyone you encounter is a reminder of how people should treat each other..

a return to Sands at the Nomad has already been booked for near future.

without a question or doubt, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationnextbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Property: The Sands at Nomad
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing