We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from 2 weeks in Kenya for our honeymoon. Apart from 2 nights away on safari we spent the rest of the time here. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and in a stunning location. We were blown away. The staff are very friendly, making you feel welcome everyday. The food was amazing, no need to spend money in the al la carte restaurants as the buffets were huge with lots of variety and great quality. The monkeys that live in the hotel grounds provided plenty of entertainment too! We attempted archery when when we weren't sunbathing, swimming or sitting in the lovely pool bar! The beach is beautiful but be warned about the 'beach boys', they are manipulative when it comes to getting you to buy tat from them! Luckily they dont come onto hotel grounds but you have to be strong if you want a walk on the beach! If the hotel could do something about them and slightly improve the quality of the local spirits (international not all inclusive) then this would be absolute paradise!

Room Tip: The hotel is split into 3 sections. The main area is the 'baobab' the more activity led area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We ended a very hectic safari with a few days here. The rooms were comfortable. The buffet was reasonably varied, with the staff really making an effort on the themed nights.
The pools were great - clean, warm and well maintained.
The all inclusive drinks were OK, but nothing spectacular.Felt safe here despite problems in Mombasa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Baobab for a week with a friend. The hotel/resort was everything we had expected and hoped for. We had a lovely time. Ive never done an all inclusive before and i found the food to be very good so would definitely recommend this hotel.
Not everything was positive about our holiday unfortunately. It all depends on what you want from a holiday. The beach is beautiful but unless you want to be hassled by the beach sellers then it is best to avoid or wait for high tide and go straight into the water that way. As 2 female travellers we found it hard to be left alone. The staff are very friendly but sometimes it is nice to be left alone. Other than that it really was a fantastic holiday and i would recommend and probably would return.
Be aware that it is nearly a 2 hour journey from the airport so makes a very long journey but we were welcomed with a drink with was very welcomed. It is a fairly large resort but well laid out so that everything is easily accessible.
If you get the chance to do a mini safari i would recommend the Saltlick lodge. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife, our tow teenage children and I Stayed at the Baobab for three weeks with a seven days safari in between this August-September. Much of it has been said about this hotel which is absolutely true but I must appreciate the vast and great gardens filled with tropical trees and "wildlife". We enjoyed early morning and evening walks around this hotel and there was plenty to see. The vervet monkeys, Columbus monkeys, baboons, many birds and plenty of lovely butterflies. In one of the mornings while strolling we also we saw a dick dick!

The beach is great and stretches for several hundred meters, service from the staff is excellent and the rooms are pretty clean and neat, spacious and with fantastic views to the ocean ahead (maridadi wing). We also loved the Tapatapa bar with it's stunning views of the indian ocean coupled with the very cool breeze.

There were plenty of activities for the young boys which included a very modern gym, a tennis court, beach volleyball, boccia ball and table tennis. We had plenty of entertainment from the animation team every evening and made use of the gym and the spa just to burn the extra calories that we might have gained as the food menu was too good to resist, freshly cooked and in a proper way.

Other than the monkeys and baboons, the only other bother were the beach boys. They were quite a pain in the first week but once they go used to us and realized that we had no business for them they left us alone. The beach boys are quite persistent but overly harmless as they are only up to selling their wares.

We had the Safari prearranged through Plan Safari Ltd which I will review in seperately. Went for 7 days to Tsavo, Amoboseli, Lake Naivasha and Maasai mara by road with a flight back from the Maasai mara to our hotel Baobab, this was a very relaxed itinerary with a lot of animals and magnifiecient sceneries to see. In Brief I can say that the safari was very satisfactory, professionally handled, great choice of accommodation, nice guide and lastly a very comfortable air conditioned safari jeep. Would personally recommend this great company if you are looking for a private and stress free safari. Planning and booking can never be that easy, thanks to peter, Agnes and the guide Tim.

Will definitely go back to the Baobab beach resort and can recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable stay at Diani Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool have and the indian ocean offer very fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiabao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Had a two week holiday in Kenya returning this week, my husband and I stayed at the Baobab Resort either side of our 3 night safari and there is nothing we could complain about. The welcome when we arrived was great, flannels and cold drinks, very much appreciated after the long journey. We stayed in a standard room in the Maridadi part of the resort, our first room was room 508 and it was lovely, everything we needed, very large bed, nice clean bathroom, didn't need any more. When we returned from safari we were in room 558 which was directly above, again the room was very clean, had a nice little balcony which attracts some visitors, we found the monkeys very entertaining. We spent most of our time while at the resort in the Maridadi area, it was quite, very relaxed and the staff were very friendly, especially Mohammed and Happy. The restaurant was lovely, overlooking the beach, and althought the selection of food wasn't as big as the main restaurant there was plently to choose from and it was all really, very nice, we usually had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Maridadi restaurant and never had any complaints. We ate at the a la carte twice and the prices are very good, you receive a 20% discount, the food was outstanding and the service was second to none, after the first night we had to go back. The Maridiadi area has 3 pools which cascade down in to the next and at the bottom there is a swim up bar, waht more could you ask for! it was beautiful. We didnt spend a lot of time by the tapa tapa bar and pool or the kole kole area (which does have a lovely infinity pool overlooking the beach) beacuse they were a bit more hectic and loud and we just wanted some peace and quite, they have quite a lot of activities going on at the tapa tapa and kole kole which wasn't for us. The resort on a whole was beautiful, very well looked after and everyone you pass is very friendly, alwasy saying jambo (hello) and there is security patrolling 24 hours a day which is good. I seen a lot of reviews before we left saying to upgrade tour room if you can, our room was lovely and as we didnt sepd too much time in there we didnt see the point of upgrading. There are a lot of monkeys around and they can be mischievous, they seem to like oragne fanta and if you leave a glass somewhere they will have it, and they will try and get in your rooms, so keep the doors closed. There are a lot of beach boys as soon as you step down on the beach but we found ignoring them does the trick, all the entrances to the resort are covered by security gaurds so they dont ever come up on the resort but they do spoil going on the beach a little. We really can't say anything bad about the place, we loved being there and it really was the best holiday we have ever been on. We did a 3 night safari, which i will review seperatley, with Pollmans and our guide Hassan was fantastic, really knew his stuff, we were lucky enough to see everything apart from a Rhino and spent 3 nights, 4 days driving round tsavo east and west, it w]really was the best experience ever!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in the Maradadi wing in one of the bungalows (top floor) Aug/Sept 2012 . A nice room, but the hotel staff are so very friendly and helpfull (unlike the monkeys). If you like animals then this is the place to go and obviously Safari. We went to Tsavo East, West and Taita Hills. This was our second trip to Kenya and we really enjoyed it. Oh and the food was good too. We enjoyed Mama Mia and Lion King from the Entertainments team. They put on a professional show unlike most hotel entertainment - well worth watching.

Room Tip: Kole Kole - noisy with Italians Maradadi - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sick_fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I have just rtd from The Baobab Resort and both agree it is probably the best holiday we have had. Considering we have stayed at some of the best rated hotels in Mexico, Cuba and across the Carribean this is well earned. We stayed at Kole Kole wing and the rooms are splendid. Cleaned twice a day, water replenished and all amenities working as they should, nobody should have cause to complain, if you do then only book at R Bransons private island!! (Although a mini bar would have been nice). The toliets are the cleanest we have seen anywhere in the world (this includes those at the airport) and even the pool area washrooms are cleaned twice hourly. No matter what your individual taste is, you are catered for impecably. The menu changes daily. Soup, pasta, meat, fish and vegetarian dishes are all cooked to the highest standard with a smile and a Kenyan welcome. The staff are some of the best we have encountered, from gardeners to the Maitre D's. Special praise goes to waiter Alex N (who appreciates any new English phrase), the very gorgeous Mary J (who will soon be snapped up by a rich man) and Eric the barman (who if owned a bar in England, we would travel miles just to see his smile). Please shake the hands of these people when you see them as they will make your stay memorable.

Now for the safari!!!!!!!
BOOK WITH JULIUS AT JT SAFARI'S if you want the best experience you can imagine! Everything about this company is quality. The price, the service, the smile from Julius and our driver, Abu, was the Kenyan 'Attenborough'. If we in England could provide a service like JT our economy would not be a problem!. The welcome from Abu was great, like an old friend, and this is obvious when you arrive at the lodges as all the staff know of JT and respect JT also (you will get the best tables at meal times). Abu knew all the other drivers and also helped the other drivers when he had spotted the animals (he found us everything, we even parked under a Leopard eating his lunch in a tree!!!). Extra praise for the Kilaguni lodge that would knock spots off most top hotels in the UK. Thanks to JT for putting us at ease about everything and making us feel so relaxed that we enjoyed our Safari more than we ever imagined.

Whatever impressions, or reservations you have about Kenya, anything negative will be forgotten as soon as you arrive at The Baobab (if not when you land) purely due to the sheer delight and enthusiasm you are shown by everybody (especially Alex N, Mary J and Eric (Big Eric, as he gets fatter by the day!)).

Finally, a very big congratulations to newly weds Ryan and Kayley Freeman (apologies for spelling), who made our 10th Wedding Anniversary even more enjoyable- Stu & Max. xxxxx

Room Tip: Kole Kole are quiet, mainly Italian guests. Baobab are smaller rooms, smaller pool, longer wait at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumax_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
563 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £124 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing