We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, fantastic, superb !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, fantastic, superb !!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

All positive reviews about this hotel turned out to be 100% true. Hotel is located in a tropical garden on a wee cliff, overlooking Indian Ocean - the views are just amazing! Rooms are spacious, lovely decorated even the basic ones - no to mention that we got a free upgrade to Kole Kole wing after returning from our safari. There are 3 restaurants (plus 2 a la carte restaurants) and 3 bars to choose from - food is varied and delicious. Staff is super friendly - nothing is a problem for them. Everyone greets you with a big smile and a obligatory "Jambo" even at 6am. There are lots of acitivities to choose from - tennis, archery, volleyball, water polo, aqua aerobics, darts, table tennis, windsurfing, snorkeling etc. Even the evening entertaniment was not too bad and I'm usually not a huge fan of such things. The highlights: infinity pool, cheeky monkeys stealing food (they really don't bother people, you just have to be careful and not leave your food laying around) and friendliness of the staff. And last but not least safari organised by Pollmans, but that requires a separate review. This was by far the best holiday of my life & Baobab Resort ot only met but also exceeded my expectations. I would love to come back one day...

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit more money go for the Kole Kole wing. Rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    370
    97
    27
    15
See reviews for
369
770
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just returned after two weeks of stress wondering if I will be able to get a sunbed around the pool.We traveled with Thomson flying premium class (total waste of money) paid for the most expensive room (superior Meridadi) lovely room with great veiw of the early morning bribes to the pool attendants for extra towels and sunbed reservations.One night we witnessed 19 towels on sunbeds at 7 pm ready for the morning,this was reported to reception and our Thomson rep they were removed to be replaced with magazines.Couples were slipping the pool attendents a few Ksh to get two extra towels so they could reserve a couple of beds by the pool and a couple of beds down by the beach, where they would spend most of the day returning for the last hour by the pool.This was reported to the managment not only by myself but two other couples, nothing done or any feed back.This is the 4th time I have been to Diani beach, all differant hotels but this is the first time I have been all inclusive.The bar staff expect tips every round and I still felt like a second class citizen asking for a drink of watered down beer served in a half pint mug containing half of it froth.I don't think they got the all inclusive bit right, in Mexico,Jamacia 5 star hotels for the same price all inclusive means international brands mini bar all free served in decent size glasses with a smile.I will definitely go half board again if I return to Kenya.The food quality leaves a lot to be desired, but that is the same right across Kenya.As for Thomsons this is definitely the last time we will travel with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Baobab is paradise, from arrival after a long journey we arrived weary but were welcomed with songs and dancing and a cocktail from the staff. Smooth check in and lovely rooms. My sister was married here during our first week and the staff were so lovely and accommodating, the restaurant was even opened just for us to eat after the service. Nothing is too much trouble for staff here, we went on beach walks, played games in the bar and loved the Jambo Jambo welcome song which they sung every morning. Baboons a bit of a pain but the hotel was built on their home. Kenya is beautiful and its such a same that the pirates gave the country such bad press but we were never in any danger at all. The hotel is well equipped with three pools and a swim up bar. Food is amazing and so much choice all the time, all fresh and certain meals cooked whilst you wait. Fab views and set by the white beach, If you do go for a beach walk, just beware of the Beach Boys, they do tend to follow and accost you quite a bit which can be a little off putting but they are nice people who show an interest in you and where you have travelled from.

We tried the glass bottomed boat trip and the snorkelling which the hotel arranged from the water sports section. Cats round the bar which was nice and lots of places to relax and chill out.

Entertainment every night regardless of the weather and the staff worked tirelessly for us all holiday, we were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Baobab after a long flight and long transfer to the resort due to being caught up in the aftermath of the ferry accident.We was greeted with a much needed wet cloth and a drink, we was then alocated our room which was an upgrade to a superior room.The hotel is awesome and the staff were fantastic, always happy and cheerfull.After a couple of nights we had to check out of our room as we were going on a two day safari (this is our only complaint.because we booked the Safari through Thompson as part of the package deal we had to check out and loose our room, however if we had booked the Safari when we arrived through either Thompson or a local provider, then we would not have had to check out.Also we think we would have saved a few pounds along the way).

On returning to the hotel we was given a standard room (still nice) with a sea view.The food choice was excellent, with plenty of choice and three resteraunts to choose from, we tended to stay in the Kole Kole side of the hotel as the Mrs prefered the infinity pool and it was a bit livelier with aquafit, waterpolo and various other activities going on throughout the day. The entertainment team where the best we have ever seen both through the day and the nightime performances.

All in all a fantastic holiday, time now to save and go back soon.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank YorkshireCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and myself spent 2 weeks at the Baobab in November 2012 and my husband does say it is one of the best holidays he has ever had and we have travelled to some places. The only problem we found was that the staff were lovely and very friendly when we first arrived but towards the end of our stay some of the staff were becoming complacent. Also, it may have been a coincidence but on our last night we forgot to tip the room boy (after tipping waiters, bar staff, cleaners, morning room boy, luggage lads etc) and when we returned to our room that night there were no top ups of tea, coffee milk and the bed was not turned down but hey ho it did not spoil anything. Food was ok - nothing special. But what made our holiday extra special was the 2 night/3 day safari we did with Jt Safaris (Julius Nzumbi). If we had not had done the safari then although a nice hotel it would have just been an ok holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolina44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay at the Baobab Resort. Having had a long trip out to Kenya with some delays we were delighted to arrive at the hotel and were met by some great staff, a cool cloth and a much needed drink. Having been taken to our beautiful room (a superior Maridadi room) we quickly settled in.

The hotel grounds are stunning, staff fantastic who couldn't do enough for you - we did not meet any member of staff who was not friendly throughout our stay.

The hotel facilities are fantastic and the food much exceeded our expectations, the selection of drinks available for an all inclusive hotel is also great. Having been on all inclusive holidays before we have often found ourselves eating out of the hotel several times as we became a little sick of the repetitive food - this is not the case here, there was a different theme each evening and all food is prepared in front of you in the restaurants. We did visit Ali Barbours Cave restaurant (reviewed separately) one evening and also Forty Thieves beach bar which I would highly recommend. We actually found the sandard of food better in the beach bar than the restaurant.

We went on a two day safari to Tsavo East and West using KENYANADVENTURES AND BEYOND SAFARIS our guide kevin was suberp with good information about the animals which was fantastic but there is also a variety of wildlife around the hotel grounds including several monkeys which can provide hours of entertainment!

All areas of the hotel appeared well maintained and we would certainly recommend the hotel to others. We met some great people (both holiday makers and locals) who we will most definitely keep in touch with and hope

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wailer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My Wife and I stayed here between 5 Jan and 19 Jan 2013, This is our 3rd visit to Kenya but our first to Diani Beach area, well it was really worth the longer trip to the hotel via the ferry, although the transfer took some 90 mins it was a very enjoyable trip along the way going through local villiges etc The Baobab resort is the business and we really recommend this 3 in 1 resort. We stayed in the kole kole part of hotel which is the newer part of the resort and all have superior rooms and above.. Where ever you stay though I know that all the rooms are very good. Probably what made the hotel so good for us was the wonderful staff, whether it be the waiters, bar staff , chefs, accommodation staff or just the toilet cleaners, every single one of them were happy and smiling and always wanted to chat, the staff are a credit to the hotel and what really makes the place. The great thing about the Baobab is that you can use all the different restaurants and pool areas in each different part of the resort although they all have there own areas, we eat most of the time in the kole kole restaurant but towards the end of the holiday we ventured into the baobab restaurant which was much bigger and a bit more variety. Also you might see the resident bush babies who live in the rafters above the dining room. The evening entertainment was superb and the entertainment team did great shows and were all very professsional. ps: dont miss the lion king show !! The 5 pools in the resoert are fantastic, the infinity pool at the kole kole has to be the best, although they are all lovely to swim in and all very warm. The beach is so beautiful and great to have a stroll along albeit you will be pestered by the beach boys, what I would suggest is if you dont want to talk to them or buy anything dodgy then just have no eye contact and ignore them completly, they soon get the message, its not really that bad to be honest and you get used to it. Well as for the weather, what can i say, hot hot hot and even when there were clouds it was a welcome break, I suppose in January you dont expect to much bad weather as it is the dry season, it did try and rain a couple of times but hardly more than a light shower, it did rain and night but we didnt see that ha ha. As for the safari, well we have done two when we visited before and went to the masai mara on both occasions which was tremendous but does spoil you, on this occasion we thought we would do a shorter safari and decided for a 1 night / 2 day safari to Tsavo East and Saltlick Lodge in the Taita Hills, the journey to Tsavo was around 3 hours in our jeep and when we got there we were a little surprised as we went through the park, as it is one of the biggest game reserves in Africa we knew that the animals would be a bit more widespread than that of the much smaller masai mara, well we wernt surprised and a bit dissapointed to be totally honest, we did see a small mixture of animals in Tsavo but nothing to exciting, a lot of elephants mainly althought great to see them it got a little boring after a while, we saw a family of emus. a hippo in a lake and a few baboons, that was about it so after travelling for 3 hours we left the park at voi gate where we had lunch over looking the park which was awrsum. After that we travelled a further 2 hours to Saltlick Lodge in the Taito Hills reserve which was stunning, the lodge overlooks the saltlick and you can spend time watching various animals mainly elephants passing through. We had 3 games drives here but by far the best was the early morning drive when we came across a lion pride ( the only one on all our drives ) great to see, no cheetahs or giraffe seen, again the rest of the wildlife in the park was remote but I must add I believe it was due to a lot of unexpected rainfall which kept the animals away from water holes etc unusual for this time of year, a great experience though and we would recommend Wildlife Kenya Safaris who were spot on with all the booking and itinerary and supplied us with a spacious 4 by 4 land cruiser as requested, the driver called Mohammad was very knowledgable and made the safari that extra special for us, also a credit to him for keeping us safe on the long 6 hour journey via ferry. We travelled with Thomson Holidays and I must add that we found the service onboard the aircraft superb, the seat pitch was good and for a long haul flight I must say one of the most comfortable i have had in ecomony class. We also met some wonderful people while on holiday at the Baobab, three different couples from England who we meet each evening for a drink or two at the bar, we really miss them all now lol Well all great things come to an end and I am back home now slightly depressed after a wonderful holiday, it wont be long again before I am back in Kenya and most definatly the Baobab, the best in Mombasa !!!

Room Tip: Go for kole kole superior room, worth that little more expense and all situated with a great outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelhirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
402 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing