We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fine beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Londonderry, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fine beach resort”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After an eight-day long wildlife safari, arranged through Plan Safari Ltd - plansafari.com , we finally arrived at the Baobab beach resort. The resort is stunningly beautiful: nice pool, a full service spa, a magnificently scenic beach and well nurtured grounds. Best of all, for the 7 days I stayed, nothing seemed crowded. The beach was so serene - perfect for a short vacation focused around days of basking in the sun and reading. Additionally, the concierge and hotel staff were consistently friendly and helpful, our room was clean, and we had a perfectly picturesque view from the balcony out to the Indian ocean. The food was above average in quality, plenty and in variety served buffet style. The buffet is a pretty good deal so long as you bring a big appetite :). We were left yearning for a longer stay…
Highly recommended in all aspects…we’ll definitely check in there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    389
    104
    29
    16
See reviews for
387
787
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my second trip to the Baobab in 12 months - the staff, food, facilities and beach are first class. As an all inclusive deal there isn't much you dont get. The place is fairly isolated on Diani Beach but unless you are a dedicated night owl or clubber then that probably won't be a problem.
People use it as a staging post before or after a safari but for the second consecutive year my wife and I have spent 14 nights just chillin out around the five pools, gardens and on the white whispy sand beach. There are water sports and trips away from the hotel available but the natural shade of the trees and abundance of beach beds, why bother do anything other than remain horizontal, read, listen to music and recharge the batteries? The vervet monkeys make the 4pm afternoon tea around the pools a hoot. The rooms are air conditioned, have TVs that seem to show English Premiership football on a daily basis - 'live' on Saturdays and Sundays, have great walk in showers and comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and love to encourage the odd use of swahili words by the clients. We will go back again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have great views of the gardens and coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NICKfromCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the Baobab before & after our safari last week. It worked out cheaper to book the 2 day safari as an extra excursion from the UK, so we didn't have the fuss of having to check-out & then back in (if you book a multi-centre trip you will be asked to vacate your room and may end up in another room upon your return.)

The grounds are beautiful, there are a lot of monkeys and baboons, we weren't upset by them at all & found it so funny to watch them on our balcony peering into our room. They are very used to people & didn't mind us at all. We were in the Kole Kole area which has the infinity pool overlooking the sea, beautiful. I'm the sort of person who buries themselves in a book on holiday, I don't want to play beach volleyball etc, so the Entertainment Teams in resorts tend to bug me, but this team were great, they asked if we wanted to join in, but weren't too insistent. They also rotate which pool they play games in, so it's not the same people constantly getting turfed out of the water.

The food is fantastic, really very good. I've been to quite a few hotels like this & this is the best I've been to for food. The choice was brilliant & I never failed to find something I liked.

The only small negative I found was the reception staff. They slightly let the side down as all other staff I came across were really friendly & falling over themselves to be helpful, but we actually found reception staff quite rude. They gave us wrong information and everything seemed a little too much effort for them. This is the only small negative in an otherwise fabulous stay. I miss it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammylou100084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have just had a great holiday at the baobab, and would like to thank Justin the room cleaner for a great job, & also pool boys at the marididi, Rymond the barman sammy the cheff, Hahammed at the Baobab bar and all the staff at this hotel for a great job they do to make your holiday a great one .this is a great hotel so if you are thinking of going then just go and have a great time.the monkeys are a lot of fun to see, but please please don't feed them cakes as this will make them ill or kill them, so just injoy them. we also went on a safari we booked with Julius safaris I email him from the UK, he then sent his driver to meet us at the hotel and then taken
to his office you will pay just a deposit before you go or when you meet then the rest at the end of your safari , and what a great job they do a big thank you to Abdul the driver he stays with you all the time.So just email Julius at,www.Julius-safaris.com, we will book with Julius again. if you book your safari when you get to kenya, you wont have to give up your room. we will be going back to this hotel and Kenya so till then Jambo Jambo.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Baobab is a lovely Hotel along a beautiful beach, we also went on a great safari with jt safari, see seperate review. A good bit of advice would be to book your safari through julius and not through the travel agents this way you can taylor make you safari just for you and stay in the nice lodges of your choice, not just the ones that the agents choose for you with not great reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We ended our honeymoon here in April 2012 and it was quite a beautiful experience! Accomodation rates were quite reasonable. Staff was very friendly,like most in the coastal part of Kenya.The food was great and the beach was lovely.
The rooms are ok,not fancy but comfortable and we were lucky to have a great view of the beach. However ensure the balcony door is always locked because the monkeys are notorious!I think they can enter even when someone is in the room!Quite enchanting!
The grounds are expansive with a number of beautiful sitting areas.
They had an alcoholic drinks inclusive package which my husband quite enjoyed!
We will definately make this the place to stay whenever we are in Diani!

Room Tip: Specify if you want a room with a view of the beach.Not all of them are,notably the new ones which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NairobiMayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Its our first holidays in Africa,before we travel in Dominican Republic,Cuba,Mexico and I can tell that The Baobab Beach Resort is the best we ever been!Very friendly people,always say JAMBO,almost everyone smiling :)Hotel located in very nice place,on white white white sand beach.Food in hotel is the best I ever eat on me holidays.Very fresh an plenty to choose.Thank for Suleiman(Mr Flower),Doctor Victor,Dave and Sue,Bob and Annettte,Julius Nzumbi JT SAFARIS(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) who make our holidays more memorable!
We stay at Baobab 26.01.2013-09.02.2013
Go there and you will enjoy if you will not enjoy,than you will enjoy nowhere!

Room Tip: choose bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martynas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
155 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing