We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for one week, 31st December to 7th January 2014. Staff are extremely friendly, rooms very spacious & clean. Food excellent. We stayed in the Maridadi rooms and couldn't fault it. New Year's Eve was brilliant fireworks on the beach food was to die for and plenty of it.
We had no problems walking along the beach everyday, just politely say no thank you and keep walking, some times we had a conversation with the locals which was quite interesting. All in all a very good holiday & we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    372
    98
    27
    15
See reviews for
370
773
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from the Baobab I thought I'd like to say a few words. We flew on the new Thompson Dreamliner and it was as advertised more spacious,better air conditioning and great mood lighting,we arranged a taxi instead of going on the Thompson bus as we had heard it was a nightmare journey and at a cost of £12.00 each it was a good move we arrived ahead of the bus and were booked in and shown our rooms well before all the others arrived. We stayed in the Baobab section of the hotel the room was spacious and always very clean,fresh towels and bedding and water everyday. Tea and coffee facilities always topped up, hair dryers and english plugs(makes life easier). The only thing missing was an iron and ironing board but there is a very reasonable laundry service. The food was great ,lots of choice and you can chose to eat in any of the three restaurants ,make sure the men take long trousers to wear for dinner otherwise they will have to wear the communal sarong.The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough.The guys down on the beach are a bit of a pain but if you're firm with them they do go away,we took sun beds down on the beach and they never bothered us. We went on a two day safari with JT safaris after reading lots of very positive reports on tripadvisor we decided to go with him rather than the hotels rep ,we were so glad we did it was at least £70.00 cheaper than the hotel and we had the largest 4x4jeep just for the two of us.our driver Abu was absolutely amazing so knowledgeable and definitely made our trip .We bought malerone tablets before we went ,you get a private prescription from your GP then go on line and compare prices from all the chemists ,ours worked out at £53.00 each.We tended to tip as we went along 1000 shillings is £8.00,although they are very happy for dollars ,pounds or euros. The only thing I will have a moan about is the drinks the lager was watered down and the wine left a lot to be desired,we managed to get a half decent G&T.We had a 50 minute massage in the spa at the cost of £24.00 and it was very good .We used the gym which was very well equipped and air conditioned we had a block booking of seven days for about £10.00. We visited the Kebene orphanage it was very humbling ,they had 34 children ranging from the ages of 3 - 18,it was extremely well run and they are very well looked after,we took pens ,paper,toys,sweets and clothing ,I only wish we could have carried more. I hope you find this information useful and have as good a holiday as we did .

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Bertie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Facilities in rooms getting old and need to be replaced. Food good but needs to change - salads etc remain the same for a while without changes. Rooms not properly cleaned, had to change first room and it was not well cleaned.

Room Tip: Stay in Maridadi for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgebest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 31st Dec until 14th Jan 2014.

Our most negative experience was when we first checked in we were put in one of the standard Boabab rooms, which was very disappointing. More like a 3* room, the bedding smelt of damp and I'm not sure it had been changed prior to our arrival (which was pretty gross)! However, when we asked for new bedding it arrived very swiftly and reception were very apologetic.

We stayed at the hotel for two days before heading off on safari. The safari was booked through Thompson with 'Pollman's Safaris' as part of our holiday package. The safari experience was absolutely wonderful and we saw lots of animals but we did have to share our car/mini van with up to 5/6 other people. We were actually very lucky as in the end there were just 4 of us in our car most of the time, but with any more it would have been rather cramped and uncomfortable. On the last day we were driving for nearly 8 hours solid along very bumpy roads! If we ever get the chance to do another safari I'll probably look into private cars/tours instead.

When we arrived back at the hotel after our safari we were upgraded to one of the superior Boabab bungalows, which was much nicer (though still only a 4* room in my book, and we still had to ask for the bedding to be changed to get rid of the damp smell).

The transfer to/from the hotel takes around 2 hours (including a ferry crossing). The exact time depends on the amount of traffic waiting for the ferry.

The hotel grounds are vast and divided into three main sections - Kole Kole, Boabab, and Maridadi. There are three big pools and plenty of sunbeds so we never had to worry about getting up early to find a good spot.

We saw lots of animals in the hotel grounds, including a big baboon who came and sat near our sunbeds, 2/3 types of smaller monkey, a few big monitor lizards, some smaller lizards, lots of interesting birds, and we even spotted a snake watching us from the rockery. I loved watching the wildlife and we got lots of great photos.

We were very impressed with the food. For an all inclusive resort the food was very varied and freshly prepared with lots of choice every night. We both had stomach upsets on day 2, but I think that may have been more to do with the malaria tablets and some Imodium quickly sorted us out.

Diani Beach is absolutely stunning but sadly you can't really have a peaceful stroll on it as the second you step foot on the sand you are surrounded by beach boys (who can be very persistent). It sometimes worked just to politely tell them that we wanted to walk alone, but it did make us both feel very uncomfortable. It was a real shame, but we were happy enough to sit on beds within the hotel grounds and just look at the beach instead.

The staff were always very lovely and helpful.

I used tropical strength mossie spray every day and took a double bed mosquito net to sleep under and wasn't bitten once all holiday (which is incredible as I am usually very susceptible).

The weather was great - around 28/30 degrees and sunny every day with some cloud in the mornings.

Overall it was a great experience and I'd agree with the 4* rating.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank KateLG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent 6 unforgettable nights here with my friends...we didnt sleep much at night so missed at least 4 days of breakfast but the days we had the breakfast I liked it very much, though they ran out of waffles more than once...the other problem I had was the head receptionist treated us very badly, like we were a bunch of unruly kids ready to destroy their hotel...she threateningly gave us rules and regulations to comply to! Granted, we were in diani to party, enjoy the beach and have a great time..as a group of 19 year olds would...but we definitely do not need to be talked to like that...lastly, I did not like that some of the staff would rush us during our meals...but other than that, all staff was freindly and helpful, food was good, a great hotel overall! Couldnt have picked a better place to have made all those memories :)

Room Tip: If you dont like monkeys around your room, do not ask for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeLlamoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, England.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here in November and got married at the resort. Firstly the wedding was excellent, Renson the coordinator and all the staff made the day perfect and in that respect I couldn't find any faults. Our first few days we were in the standard Baobab room, which I must say were very average. They are small, cramped and the lighting isn't great (which didn't really suit the bride whilst getting ready for the wedding). After the wedding we were upgraded to Kole Kole which was a very nice gesture. The Kole Kole rooms are incredible, they are definiely 5 star in my opinion but the Baobab are more like a 3 star.
Animation team are the best I've seen, they work really hard to entertain you and are very talented. Food was very nice, but as with all All Inclusives can get repetitive but that's the downside of AI. Not a fan of returning to places as there are so many other places in the world but it is definiely a place others do return to year after year.
The one negative that I must mention is that the "repeat customers" often appear to receive a slightly better service than first time guests. This is evident at bars when waiting to be served - the regulars tend to be served much quicker....almost like their is a heirarchy. Other than that slight negative it's a fantastic resort which I would highly recommend - but if you are to visit I would certainly look at upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent the Christmas holidays at the baobab this was one of the best holidays spent in Kenya and we have had several holidays in various places .
The staff were very helpful and friendly,the Christmas Eve evening meal was a feast for the eyes and all staff worked so hard all day to make it so,again thank you all for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing