We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unwanted items for orphanage near baobab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“unwanted items for orphanage near baobab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

hope ta,regulars dont mind this polite request on here ,have also put it on forum,we are a british couple going to baobab april 12-19th approx,planning to visit local orhanage, 5 minute taxi journey from hotel,called kabunee (not sure of spelling),,loooks after about 40 children,any offers of help from any hotel guest uk,/rest of the world would be greatly appreciated,unwanted clothes,toiletries,pens, books,if you have any spare room in your luggage or stuff you dont want to take home,we will make ourselves known to reception and try and put a notice up,anyone want to visit with us,,no problem any questions feel free and thankyou.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hairybear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    372
    98
    27
    15
See reviews for
370
773
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was a great start t the holiday to fly conveniently from Gatwick on the 787. TUI were fantastically professional all the way through the booking and flight process.

The trip from the airport isnt far, but takes forever mainly due to an hour or so's wait for the Likoni ferry. Best just to relax and go with it. Of course this also means an early start from the hotel for the return trip.

But boy is it worth it. The view from our huge room in Kole Kole was amazing - across the infinity pool to the endless blue ocean. The room was not only large, but beautifully furnished, including a 4 poster bed and a large terrace - definitely 5 star stuff.

The welcome from the hotel staff illustrated how much they care about their guests having a great time. This theme continued from every member of staff for the whole week.

It's a beautiful hotel, very definitely in Africa, but also very comfortable. The views across the wide white beaches and reef are amazing day and night (we were lucky enough to have a full moon). There are monkeys and baboons on the grounds who are pretty harmless and quite funny.

It's great having a choice of 3 adjoining hotels each with their own pool and bar/restaurant. We ended up preferring our "home" Kole Kole hotel and pool both due to an amazingly located infinity pool and the fun Italian vibe.

For me, the only fly in the ointment is the food and drink. It's a purely personal thing, but I'm not a fan of buffets. Theres a a massive (too large) a choice in each restaurant, but in fact our highlight meal was in one of the 2 a la carte restaurants (not part of the all inclusive deal) where it was a relief to be served and to have an entire bottle of wine and properly sized glasses! It would be unfair really to criticise the 3 regular restaurants, as so much effort is put into them and the staff are utterly charming. We had to remind ourselves what fantastic value we were really getting.

Some people could be put off by the beach boys who attach themselves to you the second you hit the beach, but they are generally relaxed and fun, although they constantly complain about the unfairness of the Kenyan economy. It's worth it for the stunning white beach (dry the sand is as fine as icing sugar, wet it's like walking on marzipan!) and the warm ocean.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best you can, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapelCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow this hotel just gets better, we spent my 60th birthday here last year and re-booked within two weeks of returning home, it is five star all the way. First of all the flight was incredible, never thought we would be flying on the Dreamliner, excellent. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with many of the same friendly staff, everyone down to the gardeners always greet you with Jambo. After settling in to our Superior room we decided we would attend the welcome meeting, so glad we did as after the Rep had given us all the info about trips, hotel etc we were then invited into the gardens where drinks and snacks were set up and we were introduced to the new General Manager Sylvester, a very nice man. The following day we were invited to a returners evening, Cocktails and meal, very nice. This hotel is 5 star all the way, with three choices of restaurant and fresh food cooked as you wait. If as most people you are heading to Kenya for a Safari I highly recommend JT Safaris, see separate review, he has a new office opposite the Diana Shopping Centre and will send transport to take you to his office to discuss what safari you would like to choose offering lots of recommendations, we chose Goveners Camp in the Masai Mara, this was five star all the way, fantastic. I could talk about our holiday forever, why not give it a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We flew from Gatwick on the Dreamliner, the plane was lovely, airy and much more room than a normal plane. The transfer from Mombasa airport and Likoni ferry was a eye opener, it took about 2 hours. When we arrived we were greeted with a cold flannel and drink which was needed. Soon as I walked into the hotel I new I has made the right choice, it was beautiful, every member of staff saying Jambo. We were shown quickly to our room, we had a superior sea view in the Baobab section of the hotel. As the porter was putting the cases down we had a monkey looking through the patio doors. The room had every thing you needed, and was lovely and clean. Next morning we met with our wedding planner Renson Adoyo, I had sent him quiet a few Emails before our arrival. What a lovely man, made us feel so relaxed showed us the 3 locations where you can get married, showed us the restaurant looking over the sea, we chose colour of the flowers, cake, al a carte menu. when the day came for the wedding, Renson kept me so calm he had every thing organised, the masai mara tribe walked me from my room to where the ceremony was taking place, we had A photographer, dvd and in the evening had a guitarist. Every thing about the wedding was out of this world, thanks to Renson and to family and friends who came with us to make the day so special. All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean, We spent most of time round the Baobab pool and never had any trouble finding 8 sun beds together, and we didn't have to get up a silly time to reserve them. All staff from Waiters, Gardeners, Cleaners, reception, bar men and animation team, went out of their way to make sure you were happy. Food in the restaurant was the best all inclusive food I have had any where, the choice was huge and we all found some thing lovely to eat every day. One of our party is a vegetarian and very fussy and he was spoilt for choice with the selection of food. Drinks were very good I had a few glasses of white wine in the two weeks we were there, and the cocktails were good my favourite being pina colada. There are a lot of monkeys around and they made my holiday, I could of watched them all day. there were people shouting at them when the monkeys were no where near them, if you don't like animals don't go to Kenya, the hotel was built on their home so we are intruding where they live. The Kenyan people are the most friendly people I have every come across. I will definitely go back to the Baobab, I miss it so much. Jane and Andy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayneoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our 2 week honeymoon at the Baobab and I can honestly say its the best place I've ever been. The resort is very well designed with the guest in mind and all the staff are extremely friendly and work exceptionally hard to ensure you have a great time. All rooms are well set out with an African/modern theme and are cleaned daily to a very high standard. We also did a 3 night safari to tsavo national park which I can highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went to the Baobab resort for our honeymoon in February 2014. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We upgraded the room to the Deluxe twin room and it was fantastic, there was wine and fruit in the room for arrival (along with a monkey looking in the window at us!)

The food was lovely and there wasn't one occasion where we were struggling to find something that we liked.

Set right on the beach with lots of monkeys running around (who are very entertaining giving staff the run around!) the beach looks fantastic but you will defiantly get targeted by beach boys trying to sell all sorts which is a shame.

All staff were really friendly, polite and even the entertainment team didn't constantly mither you to get involved in all of the sports/activities going on during the day. Although if you wanted too there was plenty to do! Whilst talking about the staff, kenya often gets a bad name and people telling you to be careful etc, on our first day the staff came to find us around the pool to tell us that we had left the safe open!

We stayed for one week doing a 2 day safari in the middle, we booked the safari after the holiday so we didn't need to check out when going on safari. You can save one nights cost if you book the safari as part of the week however for one night personally we didn't think it was worth the bother of checking out etc.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the country and resort to anyone. We will do a separate review on the safari which really made the holiday and is a must do whilst your in Kenya!

Lee & Jodie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here in January with my mother and aunt to celebrate my aunts 70th birthday. I had contacted the hotel in advance to arrange something for her birthday, had a reply from Charles, but sadly nothing materlialized. Apart from that, the resort was great. We only had two full days there due to safari and other tours we booked, but those two days were wonderful. We spent most of our time at the beautiful infinity pool looking out over the ocean and could have stayed for weeks! The rooms we had prior to our safari were not amazing, but adequate, however when we returned we had been moved to another part of the hotel and the rooms were much better. We enjoyed the food and tried all the restaurants, which while similar, had different options every night. The fresh pasta station was a favourite. All in all we had a truly incredible time in Kenya and would return to the Baobab. My only concern was that I left my sweater in the restaurant at 10pm one night, when I asked at the desk at 5am the next morning, it had disappeared. I did ask at reception a couple more times during my stay, but alas, it was never to be seen again, the only negative part of the trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igloo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing